We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time of our lives” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ranch at Rock Creek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Ranch at Rock Creek to your Saves list
The Ranch at Rock Creek
5.0 of 5 Ranch   |   79 Carriage House Lane, Philipsburg, MT 59858   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brewster, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Time of our lives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My family just returned from the Ranch at Rock Creek where we stayed for 4 days and it was absolutely the best vacation we ever had! There is so much to do here and in 4 days we did so much and still didn't experience everything they have to offer. It was such a pleasure to know our kids were having the time of their lives and not once did they ever get bored. The staff is so friendly, accommodating and extremely helpful in every possible way. They all seem to enjoy their job which shows through in how they treat the guests - it was very refreshing. Thomas and Maya are the ranch managers who were always around and interacting with the guests and making sure we had everything we needed. The food is out of this world and the chef Josh takes such pride in his creations and spent time telling us about what he prepared and how. My kids tried and enjoyed foods they would have never tried at home. Todd took us horseback riding and was very attentive to how our horses and us as riders were doing. Max took us on a tour of the Ranch where we saw elk and bighorn sheep on top of some of the most amazing scenery. Max later took us to the pistol range were we did some target shooting with several different hand guns and Theo took us skeet shooting where our family had a little competitive shooting challenge going on with each other. It was very comforting the time Max and Theo both took to ensure everyone was always safe and that we all knew safety was the priority. Ben took us fly fishing which was a first for all of us; we all had a great time and caught several fish. In the evening after dinner and activities were done we headed to the saloon to play pool and bowl a few games with the kids. There was a nice campfire outside the saloon with all the makings for S'mores which is always a hit. We stayed in one of the tents which are so roomy and comfortable for the 4 of us - it was perfect... and the beds... so incredibly comfortable we all slept so well. Each morning we walked to the blue canteen where Kathleen was waiting to greet us with coffee and fresh baked pastries...yum! The ranch has so much to offer and we wanted to do so much that the days just flew by. The great thing about this vacation is you can create your own schedule to do the activities you want and if you want to just relax - there are plenty of places to do that too. We hate to leave anyone out so thank you also to Todd, Tracey, Maddie and Andrew for making our trip one we will never forget! We cannot wait to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
46
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Diamond Bar, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

One of the best places we have ever stayed. It's hard to find the right words to describe the beauty of such a magnificent place. Even reading all of the reviews, you will get only a hint of the wonder of it. It is a place that must be experienced to be appreciated. All of the staff are what makes it a MUST SEE. We will definitely be returning for future stays. Our only regret was in knowing that we had to leave.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bluebird Cabin which is right next to Rock Creek. It was so peaceful & relaxing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Ranch at Rock Creek is the perfect vacation spot for those looking to get away from everything while having endless activities and top-notch accommodations. We enjoyed hiking, fly fishing, sporting clays, horseback riding, mountain biking as well as lounging at the lodge. Everyday we looked forward to the excellent meals. The staff is friendly and welcoming and goes above and beyond to ensure you are doing as much or as little as you want. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The Ranch at Rock Creek is a spectacular property that has everything anybody could want/wish or dream about!!
We participated in all of the unusual activities for an Easterner, including skeet shooting, rifle range, archery range with standard target and also three dimensional targets of animals, horse-back riding and hiking and 4-wheel touring in the beautiful countryside of 6000 acres with scenery that you would dream about.
We also got the best massage I have ever had at the spa, also using the sauna/steam and jacuzzi. With a terrific bike for each guest, any down time allowed us to go for a site-seeing bike ride.
The food for every meal, including breakfast, lunch and dinner in the dining room was superb with an extensive menu variety and they would also prepare anything you wanted. We were also treated to a private dinner in one of the individual homes on the property and the catered food and service was THE best!!
Additionally, the homes/rooms and all facilities were of the highest quality (like Four Seasons/Ritz Carlton/Mandarin Oriental style and quality) and exceptionally decorated with all the accoutrements.
The staff was also trained at the same level of the mentioned hotels, ALWAYS offering and willing to help in any way with a pleasant and positive demeanor.
You will have a holiday there that will be a terrific lifetime memory as our family did, fully satisfying ALL ages from 68 to 48 to 14 to 13 and our friends had students aged 14 to 32 and they ALL had a GREAT time!!
Enjoy!!

Room Tip: All the rooms were superb!! It is a matter of selecting based on the size of your group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I just returned from a weekend trip to The Ranch at Rock Creek and it was absolutely indescribable. We participated in activities such as archery, fly fishing, horseback riding, and hiking and all of them were extremely unique. The guides who led these activities were kind, congenial, and very funny. The food and accommodations were superb, I even began to look forward to every meal because the food was so good. The scenery from the room was divine- being surrounded by beautiful green hills and mountain peaks is so peaceful. All in all, my stay was unforgettable and I'm looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This is a place of extreme magic, a must for anyone who wants luxury, peace and calm with the great outdoors and so many activities you can get lost in time. This is all coupled with amazing service, food and hospitality and a great team who make your stay memorable. An absolute must for anyone wanting to experience the true Montana. This ranch is something special and not to be missed. It is not like any other ranch I have visited and everyone is there to make it feel like your home for the week, nothing is too much trouble for the guys on site. I even caught a fish - never even thought I would fish!

Room Tip: I went for the Balcony room - springfield in the main lodge - just magic to wake up and sit on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

So it's a long way from the UK, but it's worth it! Idyllic location, stunning scenery, service second to none, great food, fabulous accommodation. I had no expectation at all - no real idea what I was letting myself in for, but am so glad I came. I have never had a holiday like it - so relaxing, yet so much to do. I really can't recommend the ranch highly enough for a place to recharge your batteries and reconnect with yourself. Enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ranch at Rock Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranch at Rock Creek

Address: 79 Carriage House Lane, Philipsburg, MT 59858
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ranch at Rock Creek 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In rugged Montana ranchland southeast of Missoula, lies The Ranch at Rock Creek-a guest ranch that brings together wide open spaces and upscale amenities like never before. Located on over 10 square miles of lush hay meadows and rolling foothills set off by distant snow-capped peaks, this stunning destination delivers a classic ranch experience in a setting far from the clamor of the big city. Families, couples and friends will discover that The Ranch at Rock Creek is a place that offers the feel of the 'true West' without sacrificing true comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ranch at Rock Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranch At Rock Creek Hotel Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ranch at Rock Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.