We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best home town hill around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Showdown Ski Area

Showdown Ski Area
Route 89 south, Neihart, MT
800-433-0022
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Neihart
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Montana's oldest ski resort is a favorite among downhill skiers, snowboarders or those just wanting to soak up some sun.
Great Falls, MT
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best home town hill around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Showdown has many, many runs for every skill level. They always seem to have decent snow and the people are some of the friendliest around. Bar is always packed so get in there early if there is music.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gainesboro, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rose's first ski trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a family owned and operated ski venue. The service was excellent, and my daughter's experience with her brother was as it should be, perfect. The bunny slope was big enough for her to learn on with enough room for a crash or two. After a few runs on the bunny slope, she mastered the lift and actually skied a few runs.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great family ski area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

my husband, 3 kids and I went last winter and had a blast! They were able to accommodate for all ages of kids. They have childcare set up for small children, and if the kids are young but still want to ski or snowboard they also can accommodate for that as well! Great place!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great local ski area... our favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I have been tele skiing for about 20 years and have done all of the ski areas in the PacNW, the Okanagan and Canadian Rockies. Showdown is my favorite for many reasons: I'm older and don't have to push the limit, very open consistent slopes so no fear of a snowboarder crashing into you, snow is champagne powder (when they get it) but can be bitterly cold, rarely any lift lines, locals are locals and don't need to pose.

The only drawback in my view is there is usually not enough snow at Christmastime. They are probably more accurate in their stated snow pack than other places, but make sure that their base is at least 24". We have skied several times when the base was 18" and it was definitely rock skiing.

No apre-ski or snow bunnies, but for ticket price who cares...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Reliable snow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Fun family hill. Nice lodge and bar. The terrain isn't as challenging as I'd like, but it's a great beginner to moderate skier hill.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Showdown Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Showdown Ski Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.