We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the deer and antelope play” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Bison Range

National Bison Range
Moiese, MT
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 attractions in Moiese
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, National Parks, Parks
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This region consists of 19,000 acres of natural grassland, which is home to about 500 American bison and other inhabitants such as birds, whitetail and mule deer, elk, and bighorn sheep.
POLSON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Where the deer and antelope play”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a wonderful wildlife excursion for the hearty or "not-so-much". If you like to hike there is a nice trail to the top of the range or if you'd rather just drive along and spot game, you will have a wonderful time. Take your time, drive slowly and keep yours open or you will miss the animals whose coloration blends so well into the landscape. A Springtime drive will yield beautiful wildflowers, an assortment of birds on their annual migration and young offspring of bison, antelope, deer and if you're lucky elk. September brings the haunting sound of bull elk bugling to bring "the girls" in for a little romance. Fall color changes throughout the Mission Valley, that the Bison Range over-looks, are spectacular and if you happen to arrive the first week of October you will be privileged to watch the annual bison round-up when all the bison are brought into a corral and inoculated and computer chips imbedded. Quite a memorable sight.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    30
    11
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Spokane Valley, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The people at the visitor center have always been very helpful with information on the range. There is also a board that shows where some of the sightings of animals have been. The drive is steep but wide enough so there is even enough room to pull over for another car to pass you if you are watching some animals. We have been to range 4 different times and it is always different. We have seen bison right next to the road to herds of them further away, antelope, deer and big horn sheep. It was worth walking the trail by the rest stop as we saw a hear of 30 big horn sheep. The drive is about two hours but all depends on animal sightings and how long you watch them.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Eh, worth a stop if you're in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in and paid the $5 to drive around the park. Beware: if you're afraid of heights and think GUARDRAILS are a good idea then the drive isn't for you. We went a few miles before seeing any wildlife but eventually saw a pack of bison, quite a few deer, an antelope, elk and a myriad of birds. The views along the path are gorgeous. There aren't many places to get out of your vehicle, though, so if hiking is what you're looking for this is not the place. It said to allow 2 hours to get through the park and we only took 1.25 which was plenty in our opinion. It is worth a stop if you're in the area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well worth the time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My friends and I drove out to the National Bison Range while in Montana and had a great time. The visit is well worth the drive and take your time while driving through the range. We saw bison, a lot of white tail deer and a lot of birds. My grandson took a lot of pictures and we are really enjoying them back at home. The range also has a picnic area that is nice and we enjoyed it. The views are spectacular and the sky was so blue with not a cloud in it on the day we were there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Wildlife Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a must see place. Get there early to see all the wildlife. The drive is on a stone/dirt road but easy to drive. While you are driving look for bison, pronghorn antelope, bear, mule deer, white tails, coyote. horned sheep, elk and possibly a mountain lion. Take binoculars and a camera. Pictures we took were amazing. We saw all the above except for the mountain lion. We were there about four hours. It was the event of our whole trip. It is a must see.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Bison Range also viewed

 

Been to National Bison Range? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Bison Range, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added National Bison Range to your Saves list