We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Road Trip Stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula to your Saves list
Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 West Broadway, Missoula, MT 59802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Missoula
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good Road Trip Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

Stayed at the Red Lion Missoula during a roadtrip from Seattle to Sun Valley. It's a good roadtrip hotel. Clean, conveniently located, comfortable. Free breakfast was a nice perk. No frills here - just a good, standard stop for the night.

On caveat - there are no good restaurants nearby so if you do stay you'll want to head out to find something other than low-quality Chinese. But there is a good coffee joint just up the street for the morning supplement to the free breakfast.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    74
    37
    29
    25
See reviews for
57
43
19
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
duluth, mn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

Do not make the same mistake we did and stay here. We arrived late at night and they did not give us the rate we were quoted over the phone when we made our reservation. They had already turned their heat off for the summer and it was FREEZING COLD in the room. NO HEAT!!!!!!! They only offered a small discount to compensate us for the horrible night sleep and didn't really seem to care that we froze!!

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2007

This is actually a very nice hotel in disguise as an older motel. On the outside, it's nothing fancy - outdoor walkways, not the most attractive paint color... but on the inside, they have really made this a nice place to stay. I recently stayed at the downtown Salt Lake Red Lion highrise hotel, and it feels every bit as nice once you're inside your room. It feels very fresh and new with comfortable beds, attractive furniture and bathroom, and the internet connection was great, which is very important to me as a business traveler. The front desk staff was very friendly, and it's in a great central location of the city.

  • Liked — comfortable furniture/bed
  • Disliked — breakfast selection
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

We stayed at the Red Lion in May of 2006 to get our daughter settled into the University of Montana. We booked air/car/hotel through Travelocity. When we pulled up to the hotel, I was apprehensive. I had my husband check the room before we checked in. I was certain I would be on the phone to Travelocity. Boy, was I wrong. The interior of the rooms have been recently renovated. The room exceeded our expectations. The room was very clean and updated. The location could not be beat. I was able to run along the trails next to the Clark Fork River every morning. It is in walking distance to downtown Missoula. Albertsons grocery store and a coffee shop are a block away. We will stay here on our next trip to Missoula.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2006

This motel ( not a hotel) is in walking distance of downtown. Nicely renovated with free wifi access in our room, very comfortable bed with feather pillows, and granite-top bathroom with upgraded bath amenties. Great value for the price we paid.

  • Liked — comfort of bed and free wifi access
  • Disliked — motel style set-up
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2006

My husband and I just spent 10 days traveling around Montana, getting to know its towns and cities. We stayed in many hotels and motels, and Missoula was our last stop. We had booked the Red Lion through Priceline, and were really unsure of what to expect. To be honest, we expected it to be kind of crappy, but we got a good deal, so we were fine with it. The Red Lion blew us away! It was by far the nicest place we stayed on our whole trip, and its location was *perfect*. We didn't know the area at all when we booked our stay, so we didn't realize how close to downtown this place is, and how far away and in the yucky, suburban-sprawl-on-steroids area (Reserve St.) most of the other hotels and motels are! Clearly this place had been remodeled recently, and it was done really tastefully. Everything was really nice, clean, and roomy. And I can't say enough about how friendly everyone in Missoula is, including the folks at the Red Lion Inn. We were so happy we had stumbled upon it, and would definitely recommend to anyone, and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westchester
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2005

Our room was very pleasant, clean and spacious, and the desk clerk(s) seemed to want to be helpful.

When we were bounced off the wireless connection, the desk clerk gave us a telephone number to call - we did and were told that we had to disable something called "radio" on our laptop to get wireless access, and the enable it again when we left the motel. It didn't seem reasonable to go into the computer innards for two nights' stay, so we drove down to Kinko's to read our email.

We were able to get wireless access just a few miles away, in Montana, just by using the laptop in the usual way.

Continental breakfast was edible, and available at 6:00 AM, which was good for us because we had to catch an early flight.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula

Address: 700 West Broadway, Missoula, MT 59802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Missoula
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Missoula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off I-90 at Orange Street exit, near City Center and 10 minutes from the airport, the Red Lion Inn Missoula is close to Missoula MT downtown shopping, restaurants and galleries. Riverfront Park is across the street with walking and biking paths, a tennis court and fishing pond.Our 76 spacious and well-appointed guest rooms feature all the amenities you would expect including, Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary parking, complimentary wi-fi, seasonal outdoor swimming pool, a fitness facility and valet laundry services. We also offer our guests an outstanding complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and feature 640 square feet of meeting space for groups up to 30.You won't have to go far to find great restaurants, unique shopping opportunities, or even adventure in the great outdoors. Play golf at one of four public courses or fish, ski or hunt. Glacier National Park and Yellowstone National Park are both nearby.Make us your home base as you work or explore our beautiful city. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Red Lion Inn Missoula is committed to providing care, comfort and value during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Missoula
Red Lion Missoula
Missoula Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.