We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel, except for that pesky sleeping thing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Missoula

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Missoula to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Missoula
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3720 North Reserve Street, Missoula, MT 59808   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Missoula
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
“A nice hotel, except for that pesky sleeping thing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Four of us (2 adults, 2 kids) spent two nights in a double queen room at this hotel. For the most part, our stay was unremarkable and completely acceptable. As others have noted, the breakfast is quite good, with a very friendly and efficient chef who quickly cooks eggs to order. Hotel staff were uniformly pleasant and helpful, and our kids enjoyed splashing in the indoor pool. Our room was clean, spacious, and reasonably quiet. The hotel's public spaces are attractive and well-maintained.

So why only an "Average" rating? Because I can't recall the last time we slept on such uncomfortable beds! Both beds in our room had worn out, sagging mattresses and threadbare sheets that pulled loose with every movement... everyone in our family remarked on how bad the sleeping arrangements were!

We stay frequently in hotels, and we don't have unrealistically high expectations - in this case, we weren't expecting luxury bed linens and top of the line mattresses. But most hotels in this price range have invested in good quality matresses and linens, even if they scrimp on other amenities. It's a good strategy, since most visitors aren't looking to this type of property to be a destination in itself - we're just looking for a comfortable place to sleep for the night.

This hotel has a lot going for it, including (most importantly) friendly, helpful staff. But even though everything else was fine, the beds in our room really were unacceptably bad, and that colors my overall impression of the hotel. As a result, I can't recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGImissoula, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Missoula, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
We are so proud of our friendly team, and very pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed the pool, breakfast, your room and our public spaces.

Even so, I am equally sorry that the beds and linens were a disappointment. Our hope is that every guest has a restful and restorative night's sleep. Your comments have been passed along so that we can identify and make necessary corrections.

I hope you will give us another try; and thank you for your compliments and your constructive input.

Best regards,
Denise Mongrain Moore
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    83
    22
    14
    7
See reviews for
72
77
24
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chelsea Quebec
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

This is not the fanciest Hilton of stayed in but it is convenient to the airport without being right beside it (so quieter). Higher end rooms than mid range hotels. Great breakfast for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Arrived very late in the evening for a two-night stay and was assigned a handicapped-accessible king. I didn't request a HC room, but the front desk appeared to be trying to accommodate my profile request for "upper flr end of hall near stairs." When I inquired about switching to another room front desk advised the hotel was full. OK, fair enough. Lesson learned: change my HHonors profile requests. :-)

Otherwise, the hotel was what I've come to expect from Hilton Garden Inns: clean, quiet, nice decor, good beds. Only complaint about the rooms is that the windows don't open, a big bummer since Montana's air is, you know, generally clean? In the hotel's defense, windows that don't open eliminates the possibility that a guest might leave it open, depart for the day, a thunderstorm rolls through, soaking the carpet, etc.

If you're in a pinch and need something quick to eat, there's a McDonald's within easy walking distance, and there are most of the reliable franchise joints within a 5-minute or less drive from the hotel, and a Starbucks drive-thru about one minute north, just past the Interstate.

One surprise was that the wi-fi was reasonably fast - 1 Mbps down, according to Speedtest.net. This is unlike most hotels where 256kbps-512kbps, tops, is claimed to be "high-speed" internet, thus making your wireless broadband a much faster option.

Finally, my 8 am flight got canceled at about 740am. I was re-booked me on a flight leaving at 2pm the same day so, on a whim, I called the hotel, explained what happened, requested a "late check-out" at 1230pm, and asked whether they could send their airport shuttle to pick me up? Without hesitation, the desk clerk said, "sure," and the shuttle showed up ten minutes later. So, instead of sitting at the airport for 6 hours, I was able to work from the comfort of my room for the remainder of the morning. The hotel didn't have to do this, so their flexibility was greatly appreciated!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGImissoula, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Missoula, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
We're delighted that you were pleased with how our team looked after you when your travel plans were delayed, and that you were able to relax during your stay while being productive with our speedy (and complimentary!) WiFi.

We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to Missoula!

Best regards,
Denise Mongrain Moore
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We attended a convention held at the Hilton. We reserved our room 4 months ahead of the convention date only to find that when we arrived they had given our room away, shrugged and stated that "we believe in overbooking". Maybe so, but that does not excuse giving rooms to people who reserved a room only one week before, not those who were booked months in advance.

Roll aways are very thin (2 1/2 in). a person is better off sleeping on the floor. Housekeepers did not get to the rooms until after 4:00 in the afternoon, and then acted like it was an imposition if we asked for fresh towels. Only one housekeeper stood out as being very nice and effecient, wish I caught her name, she worked on 2nd floor. Too bad we had to do the room shuffle as everyone else was poor.

They charge $4.99 for cold cereal and juice, and $9.99 for hot breakfast. Major rip off when other hotels offer breakfast for free.

If I ever stay in Missoula again, I will stay across the street. For the same price, you get a suite, free hot or cold breakfast and even free light dinner a couple of nights a week.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGImissoula, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Missoula, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Please accept our apologies for the inconviences you experienced during your recent stay. Our aim is to please every guest with superior service by exceeding expectations, and sadly it appears that we missed the mark.

Thank you for providing us with your candid feedback. I welcome the opportunity to learn more about your personal experiences, and encourage you to stay with us again.

Sincere regards,

Denise Mongrain Moore
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Stayed one night for business. This is a new property - franchise. Front desk was helpful. The breakfast was very fresh and I'd recommend the hotel just for this - any HGI that serves both fresh salsa and grits is tops in my book! My only complaint is that my room had a bit of a chemical odor - being new I would imagine this is expected but the rooms' windows DO NOT OPEN. That is a terrible design choice in my view for a climate like Missoula where you can save energy and get fresh air most months of the year.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGImissoula, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Missoula, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
We're delighted that you found our staff to be helpful and that you enjoyed our fresh breakfast in the Great American Grill (glad to hear you liked the grits!). Thank you, also, for offering your opinion about our fixed guest room windows. I'm sorry that was a disappointment, but hope that the rest of your experience with us was so positive that you will come back... and soon!

Sincerely,
Denise Mongrain Moore
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific NW
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

I stayed at this motel for business purposes. When we arrived at motel, the parking lot was completely full, as was adjoining parking and all parking on the street. We were just given a shrug by those at the desk and said to park where we could find some parking. There was a benefit of some type at the motel that night, therefore, no where for those paying to stay there to park their cars. The nearest place to park was a couple blocks away. In my opinion, the motel should take care of their patrons first. Rooms were average, but not spectacular. The pool closed about the time we wanted to go down and relax, so we did not get to enjoy that luxory. We were disappointed in the breakfast. We were on a time crunch, and hoped that the food would be prepared when we arrived to eat it, but were told that it was in the oven and would be awhile. Needless to say, we did not have awhile to wait so grabbed what we could, and after eating, the food was still not out. We did enjoy the Starbucks coffee! The lobby is nicely decorated as well. Overall experience was moderate.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGImissoula, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hilton Garden Inn Missoula, responded to this review, April 21, 2010
Thank you for offering your comments about your recent stay. I apologize that parking was an issue during your visit , and that you were unable to take full advantage of our cooked-to-order breakfast service or our indoor pool. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

We have stayed at other Hilton Gardens before and have always enjoyed our stay, been pleased with service and quality of clean rooms. This motel falls below that standard. Sheets are quite worn, and need replaced. There was a glob of toothpaste on our sink, along with a wad of hair on countertop. The mirror had toothpaste spit speckles all over. The floor in the bathroom had pencil shavings laying right in plain sight next to the toilet, and there was a lot of debris on the entire bathroom floor. There was an event at the motel, and the guests had no where to park. Everyone was told to go park on the street, where there was no parking either, or to go down a block or two and park in a restaurant lot. We were also told there was a dirt spot we could park on about a block away. Needless to say, there was an entire lobby full of unhappy guests. Security doors on the side of building were not lockedso anyone can enter the motel from the side of building.
When we went to breakfast, which costs $9.95, there weren't any potatoes, biscuits, or bacon ready. It took 20 minutes to get potatoes out! The gal making the scrambled eggs, which were supposed to be omelettes, kept using profanity and there were children standing right beside her. Very unprofessional.
Needless to say, we were not impressed. This motel is far below the quality standards we have experienced at other Hilton Garden Inns.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGImissoula, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hilton Garden Inn Missoula, responded to this review, April 11, 2010
All of us at the Hilton Garden Inn in Missoula truly appreciate your honest and important comments about your recent stay. We strive for excellence and absolute satisfaction from every guest, and in your case, we clearly fell short in a number of areas.

Our goal is to make certain that we address each and every of your concerns; I would like your permission to acquire more information from you (dates of stay and such) so that we can specifically re-assess team member training opportunities. Would you please contact me by eMail at denise.moore@hilton.com so that we can arrange a time to have a conversation about your experience?

I am delighted, however, to see that you were very pleased with the quality of product and service offered at our signature restaurant, Blue Canyon Kitchen & Tavern. Thank you for offering your comments...

I'm looking forward to speaking with you in the near future. And, thank you again for the constructive criticisms... I hope you will contact me.

Best regards,
Denise Mongrain Moore
Director of Sales & Marketing
denise.moore@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Missoula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Missoula

Address: 3720 North Reserve Street, Missoula, MT 59808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Missoula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Missoula
#9 Romantic Hotel in Missoula
#9 Family Hotel in Missoula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Missoula 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located midway between Missoula International Airport and downtown Missoula, the Hilton Garden Inn Missoula is convenient to Interstate 90 and State Route 93 and just minutes away from key attractions such as the Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation Visitors Center, University of Montana, Caras Park, U.S. Forest Service Region Headquarters, Aerial Fire Depot and Smokejumper Center, and Snow Bowl Ski Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Missoula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Missoula Hotel Missoula
Missoula Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Missoula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Missoula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.