We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUDE SERVER” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shack Restaurant

Shack Restaurant
222 W Main St, Missoula, MT 59802-4310
406-549-9903
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 218 Restaurants in Missoula
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Missoula
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“RUDE SERVER”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Food was fair. Never had dinner there before Only breakfast. Server named Molly blamed host for not getting us water. Was cruizing through the meal with little mishap till I got the bill and just asked about a .75 charge for soup. Price wasn't the issue. Molly, our server blew up! Said no one ever made an issue about that before. We just wondered why she asks soup or salad( which comes with meal) and then charges us .75. She grabs a dollar out of her pocket. Slams it on the table. And storms away. Pretty rude and really odd.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    39
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nokomis, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

June 20, 2014
Husband and I were referred to this restaurant by a local. It was the best meal we have had out for a long, long time. Prices very reasonable, service (Mollie) friendly and ambience beautiful along with soft music.
We ordered a Chicken Oriental Salad, which was very tasty and fresh. Loaded with seeds, almonds, crisp greens and noodles. Husband had a pasta dish with roasted vegetable. Yummy!
Do NOT miss this place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Housatonic, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast/brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Delicious food, large portions, friendly service, old town Missoula atmosphere, reasonable prices. You can't go wrong eating here.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Service friendly but a little slow.

Fish and chips was good. Batter was excellent. At this price I would expect fresh potatoes.

Hamburger was well prepared. Ingredients were very fresh.

Fries were good but fresh potatoes again would improve the meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Always Fresh, Always Good, Summer Hours are Back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I hadn't been to The Shack Restaurant for quite a while and thinking back, it has been in Missoula - moved from Front Street to Main Street present location - for ages and is still the best spot to order homemade soup and fresh salad, brunch, a hearty sandwich or any of the many choices on their eclectic menu. It has always had a unique personality -offering happy wait staff and delicious food served in a lovely environment. I prefer the small room as you enter with the vintage bar. These things I am pleased to report have not changed.In fact, they continue to be the best at what they do. Plan to visit and enjoy a bit of welcome respite in the middle of your day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shack Restaurant also viewed

 
Missoula, MT
 

Been to Shack Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shack Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.