We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never let down!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shack Restaurant

Shack Restaurant
222 W Main St, Missoula, MT 59802-4310
406-549-9903
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 218 Restaurants in Missoula
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Missoula, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never let down!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Shack is an excellent place to take visitors for breakfast! I've been around 10 times now, and am never disappointed. The staff is always friendly and fast. There is often a short wait to be seated at breakfast, which is the sign of a place you want to be!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    39
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast with many options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for breakfast and were very happy. Older building that is beautiful inside. Large choice of options with more than just the usual bacon and eggs. Coffee was good and staff friendly. Would definitely recommend and eat here again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great location, generous portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We especially love "the Egyptian Nook" in this cozy, historic restaurant, especially the two U-shaped banquettes. The food was excellent... (a bit on the pricey side, though)... and the ambience was delightful. We've been here twice now... and will definitely return again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definite stop for great breakfast food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My breakfast with rancheros huevos was perfect and mt husband had fresh trout. Doesn't get much better than that. Highly recommend

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finlayson, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A real find! New location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We happened in here for dinner, and found it completely delightful. Although the restaurant was delightfully historic, we chose the outdoor seating on a warm August evening. The wait staff knew their wines and their food -- including gluten free concerns -- and were very attentive and fun. I enjoyed a fajitas dish with a truly unique twist on black beans -- hints of cinnamon and clove. Delicious, generous but not overwhelming large portions, and reasonably priced. I'd would return here in a heartbeat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shack Restaurant also viewed

 
Missoula, MT
 

Been to Shack Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shack Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.