We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place where to stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Missoula Val-U Inn

Save Saved
You added Missoula Val-U Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Missoula Val-U Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3001 Brooks St, Missoula, MT 59801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 39 hotels in Missoula
West Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good place where to stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I had initially booked for another hotel in Missoula but arrived too late, after the office was closed, so I had to find another hotel in the middle of the night. Fortunately I had a smartphone and a GPS to help me.

Because of positive reviews, I chose Val-U Inn. Despite the late hour, staff was welcoming and helpful, so I could check in around 1am.

The room was clean, nicely furnished and, most important, very quiet. I spent there a very good night. I had no problem using the Wifi and the breakfast was fine. Price was very reasonable..

I definitively recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason G, General Manager at Missoula Val-U Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank You for the Review! I'm pleased that you chose to stay with us. We have Front Desk staff 24 hours a day, so if your ever back in Missoula day or night. We will be here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    33
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
26
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Friendly service. Enjoyed the pancake machine at breakfast (first time we had seen that).
Liked the cookies at the check-in desk. Could use a little updating.
Right next to the mall.
Wifi was unreliable (an important amenity for us). Found out at check out that we could have had the service rebooted, and it would have been improved. Would have liked to know that when we checked in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed there overnight whilst having a short visit to Missoula. The room was spacious, clean and tidy, the hot tub was a pleasant surprise and the breakfast was amazing. The breakfast selection was very varied and it would be hard for anyone to find nothing to their satisfaction. We arrived in the morning after a cold overnight trip and we were met by friendly and helpful staff, we were given the key to the room then and there, we were so grateful for this, thank you. I would highly recommend this hotel and we cannot thank them enough for their hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was a last minute choice and it proved to be a good one. Service was friendly and the room clean and spacious. Breakfast was a standard continental one. There were some delicious cookies at the service desk, well worth the visit in themselves. Just don't park under the tree outside the entrance as it is used as a roost by birds. luckily there is a good car wash just down the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I've stayed here twice and found it mostly fine.

But the maid must have missed our room last night because there was cut hair (not ours) on the bathroom floor, and a used washcloth on the floor.

These things can happen.

I can overlook those little problems. We had a good stay and would go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I cant rate this place highly enough. We stayed in numerous hotels,b&bs and motels on this 2 week trip and this comes out top for overall service and what you got for your money.

We were only passing through Missoula so I cant really comment on location. There are places closer to the highways so probably more convenient but I would always come back here.

When we arrived the hotel had no record of our booking from booking.com but the staff member was apologetic and friendly and immediately sorted it out and helped us with our request for a quiet room. The room was a good size and the beds were comfortable, bathroom was clean and a good size also. No complaints at all.

There was free tea and coffee at all times from the kitchen which was very welcome and there were free (and very tasty cookies) at reception when we arrived. Breakfast was included and had a range of waffles, cereals, muffins, porridge, juices, tea/coffee and newspapers. It was absolutely fine.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The next morning, we went for breakfast close to finish time but the staff didnt rush us and chatted to us about our trip. When I mentioned our plans for that day, one staff member suggested a different option that they thought would be interesting and went off and printed off information on it for us which I thought was very kind.

Finally there was a sauna and hot tub which was free to us between I think 7am and 10pm! A nice touch and the area was clean and tidy. And the hot tub was very welcome after a long day travelling in a car!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miles City, Montana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was our first stay here and we were pleased. At a very reasonable rate and in a very good location we will undoubtedly stay here again as we travel to Missoula frequently. Although quite small, our room was clean and quiet. The staff is very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: we chose a single queen. The room was small with a small bathroom, shower and little counter space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Missoula Val-U Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Missoula Val-U Inn

Address: 3001 Brooks St, Missoula, MT 59801
Location: United States > Montana > Missoula
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Missoula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Missoula Val-U Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home. Enjoy what you love most about home ~ a welcome greeting after a long day's travel, a clean & beautiful room, free WiFi and spa for your personal relaxation, and a free hot breakfast to look forward to in the morning.Missoula Val-U Inn is the home of the University of Montana Grizzlies, the renowned International Heart Institute of Montana and the Southgate Mall. Nestled in the Bitterroot Mountain Range, Missoula Val-U Inn is a perfect stop-over if traveling to Yellowstone or Glacier National Park.Whether passing through or stopping in for a while, stay at the cleanest, friendliest place in Missoula ~ Missoula Val-U Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Missoula Val-U Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Val u Hotel Missoula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Missoula Val-U Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.