We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are in Montana - ski somewhere else!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Montana Snowbowl

Montana Snowbowl
P.O. Box 8107, Missoula, MT 59807
406-549-9777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 31 Activities in Missoula
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Montana's popular ski area features the "Paradise," a three-mile long scenic trail, and the "Grizzly," which drops skiers 2,000 vertical feet through steep terrain. Beginners will find slim pickings, but the pros will have a blast with the numerous offerings at this 950-acre skiers' haven.
Clancy, Montana
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“If you are in Montana - ski somewhere else!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were at Snowbowl for the first time this weekend for our kids' YSL ski race. It is a great hill for spectating, and we also got to watch the annual Gelande Alpine ski jumping competition, which was pretty amazing. But if you actually want to SKI - go somewhere else! There are only 2 lifts, both are slow. Very few runs all the way back to the base if you are anything but expert. Also, a single run takes about 45 minutes because of the sloooowww lifts - and you have to take both lifts to actually get to the top of the mountain.
Lodge is also very spartan to say the least. No heat, very small cafe, trash everywhere. We ate at a pizza joint in Missoula on the way home, and saw a picture titled "Snow Bowl in the 1960s." The lodge was pictured. It Looked The Same. They seriously have not updated facilities in 50 years!!!
On a positive note - the bar does have good food (wood fired pizza), and I hear, great Bloody Marys (I did not partake). So if you are hear for pizza and the bar scene, great. But again - if you want to SKI then go elsewhere!
Lift tickets, at $43 a day, are not cheap by Montana standards either.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, OH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is one of the last Ma and Paw ski resorts in the USA. It is filled with mostly locals, it is not much of a destination resort
2600 vertical feet of sking. One of the best bars around Missoula. If you like good steep sking the bowl is great. Intermediates and beginners will be mostly at the top on the backside of the resort which has great snow.
I'd love to get back here soon.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“interesting, to say the least.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

the lifts are hands down the most frightening lifts i've ever experienced--rickety, old metal two-seaters. they move rather slowly, and the drop is terrifying. it takes approximately 20-30 minutes to reach the top of the mountain.
however, they do allow you to take drinks from the lodge on the lifts, so you can get schnockered enough to not be afraid of the fall. ;)
i haven't been here durint winter, but they are open most of the summer for folfing and mountain biking...which is totally worth the experience of being on those lifts. (sorry, but they scared the bejesus out of me)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, MT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great for intermediate skiers at the top”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The two full length runs are for advanced skiers, but there's some intermediate areas at the top and going down "the bowl." Nice area!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“To the JERK up there....Poor management, great views guy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

It's not the amount of lifts you pay for, it's the kick a*s terrain! I would even say, for ONLY having 2 lifts you couldn't ask for more or bettter terrain! As far as the service goes, everyone is SUPER friendly, unless you're an a*s hole to them like this guy in the post above most likely is! The lift operators at Snowbowl bust their butts on a daily basis making sure the ramps are well maintained and safe and they are ALWAYS up beat and friendly!! I have actually been to several different mountains across the country and I have NEVER seen a lift operator at another mountain work as hard or be as friendly as the crew at the bowl!

In closing I'll just say this, you must have been high or buzzed when you wrote that post Mr. A*s Hole! If you don't like the bowl I'm sure everyone would be happy for you to go to LT! I don't usually even take the time to post on these sites but I can just tell that you and the other disgruntled poster were probably being your normal, charming selves....and that's why nobody likes you and you get horrible service!! Think back a moment, how many of these similar types of post have you made about other places?? Tons, I'm sure!! The problem isn't with the rest of the world buddy, the problem lies within!

A HUGE THANKS TO THE ENTIRE SNOWBOWL STAFF FOR AN AWESOME 2011-2012 SEASON!! And always, you lifties KICK A*S

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana Snowbowl also viewed

 

Been to Montana Snowbowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montana Snowbowl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.