We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Miles City” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Montana Bar and Steakhouse

Montana Bar and Steakhouse
612 Main St, Miles City, MT 59301-3120
(406) 234-5809
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 26 Restaurants in Miles City
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Downtown Miles City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My chicken was disappointing and just okay! I liked the old building with the high ceilings. Otherwise, salad was average.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great food in a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Service and food were excellent and the place was full of nice people who were eager to tell you the history of this Bar. We knew we were in the "Wild West"! Amazing experience!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We ate at this restaurant last year on our way west. My husband says we have to stop here this year on our way to Big Sky JUST SO we can eat here again. The food was great as was the atmosphere....part old and part restored. The locals are very friendly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALT LAKE CITY
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food, drink, and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stopped in for a cold beer and ended up having dinner. The nightly special was a peppered steak with two sides for $21....so we split the steak and each had a baked potato. Food was tasty, beer was cold, local folk fun to chat with, and the history of the Montana Bar was interesting. The old bar, cash register, and steer heads on the wall were part of the experience. Even if you don't eat there, it is worth the stop.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Toughest Beef and they don't care”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I stopped here while staying overnight in town to see this historic steakhouse. It was interesting to see the old bar. Our mistake was in having dinner here. The review that said this was disgusting was absolutely accurate.

We both ordered the prime rib - mine was well-done and my husband ordered it rare. Both of our prime ribs were really tough -- impossible to eat -- like shoe leather, as a previous review stated. Absolutely disappointing. There really was no waitstaff for the booths, and we rarely saw our waitperson. By the time she came back to check on us, it had been 1/2 hour or so since the food arrived. We told her that the steak was tough and inedible, and she said "We buy from Montana - we've had problems with that. We had to send back a whole batch." Then she cleared the table, left the check and was never to be seen from again. We did not get a discount or have any food taken off the bill, even after we complained. They probably get this complaint all the time, so just disappear until the customer leaves.

We had been on the motorcycle all day in the heat, so we were spent and could not put any more energy into trying to find someone, a manager or someone, to complain to, and we also realized that they are aware of the problem, but don't seem to care.

So, I would say that the bar is fine for a drink, but don't eat here unless you are prepared to spend the evening hunting down staff or a manager or trying to find someone to care about the food quality.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana Bar and Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Montana Bar and Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montana Bar and Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.