We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Informative, and Enjoyable Conversation on Wine Making in Eastern Montana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tongue River Winery

Tongue River Winery
99 Morning Star Lane, Miles City, MT
406-853-1028
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Attractions in Miles City
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Friendly, Informative, and Enjoyable Conversation on Wine Making in Eastern Montana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

A previous review noted that the Thadens are great hosts. Bob explained the origins of his various grapes in terms of where the hybrids were developed. Before heading to the winery, I was a little concerned that the available wines would be sweeter than my tastes which run to drier wines. My expectation was based on the comments in previous reviews that included raves about sweet wines. I was pleasantly surprised that they have very good dry selections. Our favorite was "Tongue Tied" which is a blended red wine. Two thumbs up! Give them a call to set a time to visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TongueRiverWinery, Owner at Tongue River Winery, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
The vast majority of our customer base like sweet or semi-sweet wines. But we pride ourselves on full-bodied dry red and white wines too. Tongue Tied is a robust, French oak barrel-aged wine with plenty of tannin and deep red color reminiscent of Malbec, that craves red meat. Sabrevois is a fruit-forward lightly oaked red wine that loves lasagna and other marinara dishes. Frontenac Gris is a crisp white done in the style of chardonnay and pairs well with fish and fowl. All three have won medals across the US and continue to improve with each vintage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Home Grown Wines from the 'friendliest cowtown in the West'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Excellent in customer service and products. Top drawer company! My favorite wine: Rhubarb, a Wine... "sweet & tangy...on the Tongue!".

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TongueRiverWinery, Owner at Tongue River Winery, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Many midwest wineries make Rhubarb wine, and we pride ourselves in making a wine that is unapologetically just plain rhubarb. This wine continues to outsell everything else we produce, and is made entirely from rhubarb within 25 miles of Miles City, MT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miles City, Montana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wines in Eastern Montana? YOU BET!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Tongue River Winery, just on the southern outskirts of Miles City, are a little know, but GROWING treasure! The Thadens are FABULOUS hosts! And, their wines are world class! I highly recommend their Sand-Cherry wine - rich, full-bodied, yet SWEET. The Thadens will open their winery for most any gathering or visit, large or small, and make you feel that you are visiting YOUR friends. A visit to Miles City and Eastern Montana just IS NOT COMPLETE without a visit to 'the Tongue'!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TongueRiverWinery, Owner at Tongue River Winery, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We make more cherry wines than any others, including the above mentioned Sand Cherry Kiss grown in our vineyard, Cherry Pie (a sweet wine made from pie cherries) a semi-sweet chokecherry, Oaky Choke (barrel-aged dry chokecherry) and occasionally Prairie & Peaks Cherry (a blend of chokecherry, sand cherry and Flathead cherry). Who doesn't like cherries?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More than meets the eye”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Bob and Marilyn are extraordinary people who have brought more than grapes to Eastern Montana. They are world travelers who have rooted themselves in the little community and raised the bar on being "small-town folks" who dabble in the wine making business. They will accommodate any gathering, visit or function. Bob is a fount of knowledge in the history, culture and growing of grapes and vines in our climate, wine making and its processes and a lively past that makes him so endearing. His warm and joyful wife keeps time with his pace and is just as enthusiastic about their production and the pairings.
One simply cannot stop in Miles City without a visit to the "Tongue".

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TongueRiverWinery, Owner at Tongue River Winery, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
I've "dabbled" in wine since I was 18 years old in college, and am now "beyond Medicare eligible!" To be successful in any endeavor requires passion for the cause, and winemaking has been my most enduring passion for almost 50 years. It's easy to be excited about something you truly love doing. Every year, every variety of fruit, every style of wine is different and keeps the fascination bubbling and the mind exploring. I hope I can do this until I simply drop over at age 95 with the taste of wine on my lips and a smile on my face!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Groundbreaking Montana Wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

On a whim I stopped by the Tongue River Winery. It was a Monday, and no one was at the tasting room. However the family that owns the winery has their numbers posted, so I called, and they were there in just minutes. They're breaking new ground on growing grapes in Montana. They're one of just a small handful of vineyards in Montana, and are growing hybrid grapes developed by the University of Minnesota more suited to their climate. They also make a number of fruit wines. Their wines, grape and fruit, are very good. The grape wines, especially, are worth tasting both for casual and experienced wine drinkers. For casual wine drinkers, they offer a good glass. For experienced wine drinkers, the characteristics are different than you expect before you take the first sip. The family that owns the winery is extremely friendly, and they let you taste as many as you'd like. Plus, since they make the wine, they're well versed in all aspects of the business.The tasting room has space for events, or just an afternoon at the winery with friends. This is truly a groundbreaking wine venture, charting a course for the industry in Montana.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TongueRiverWinery, Owner at Tongue River Winery, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We never planned to "break new ground", but were simply eager to grow grapes that would survive and produce good wines for our own use at retirement. But often passion drives one to excess, which hit home when we realized we were producing more fruit than we could drink up ourselves. So we took the big leap and went commercial, never intending to be pioneers in vineyarding in eastern Montana, but realized that's what we are. We've also broken new ground in coordinating the importation of cherry and haskap (honeyberry) plants from Canada, and were the first and only US winery to make commercial haskap wine in 2011. Our motto could well be, "If it looks like a fruit and tastes good, we'll ferment it!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tongue River Winery also viewed

 

Been to Tongue River Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tongue River Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.