We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the company of canoeists” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virgelle Merc-Canoe Co.

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Virgelle Merc-Canoe Co.
Save
You added Virgelle Merc-Canoe Co. to your Saves list
7485 Virgelle Ferry Rd. N., Loma, MT 59460   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Loma B&B and Inns
Missoula
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“In the company of canoeists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Don Sorenson with his staff of Kat, Sandy, and Jimmy make the stay at Virgelle a precious memory. The combination of a hotel with antiques in the lobby, old-fashioned hotel rooms, cabins, a sheepherders wagon for the adventurous, delicious food, and the serenity of a setting far from city life make for an exceptional B & B. Don and his staff are attentive, knowledgeable, and entertaining conversationalists. They can also guide their guests for a memorable float down the Missouri River Breaks Recreation Area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Don & his staff are top notch and will make you feel right at home. This property is quiet, clean, comfortable and very unique. I felt at home but also felt like it was the 1800's out on the Montana plains. Our group had a wonderful breakfast and enjoyed doing our own BBQ at our cabins. If you are in the area or traveling here I would highly recommend staying. It's a great first or last night if you are floating the Missouri.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We spent 3 of the best days of our lives here. This is an especially good place for folks who just want to lay back for a while. Stay more than one night. If you're a birdwatcher, go in late June - it's a fabulous area for sparrows!

Room Tip: Big Mosier Cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Choteau, Montana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Float back to yesteryear at this backroads Montana gem. Indulge your pioneer fantasies with a stay in a lovingly restored homestead cabin or sheepherder wagon with wood stoves and oil lamps and a spotless shared bathhouse. The antiques are authentic and meticulously detailed. An adequate breakfast with unlimited good coffee is included. Bring a cooler and grill your own meals, or find good lunch spots in nearby Big Sandy, or The Grand Union for dinner in Fort Benton. The proprietors, Don and Jimmy, are hospitable and charming. Jimmy even managed to convince my 75-year-old mother to get in a canoe. They run a river shuttle for everything from an hour float from the Virgelle Ferry to a 10-day voyage through the white cliffs of the Missouri Breaks. This is the perfect place for an unplugged family vacation. Kids will be so busy swinging on the better-than-any-waterpark rope swing over the big muddy river (disclaimer: the rope swing is on a neighbor's property) they won't notice there aren't any outlets or screens. One of my favorite spots on the planet: a place of real peace.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere in the Middle of MT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We stayed for our annivesary and can't wait to go back. The nicest staff and amazing food. I could have shopped for antiques for hours - two buildings full. Bright and clean with everything you could need - including a wine and cheese basket in your room. Breakfast was to die for! Price was right. It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lb,il
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

Staying at the Merc is like a stay at Grandma's if grandma lived on the plains of Montana in the 50's. Don, the proprietor immediately made us feel at home. Each room is cozy and uniquely decorated. The view form the porch takes you back to the solitude of an earlier time. The homecooked breakfast was wondertful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

The legendary Brigadoon is a remote Scottish village that appears only once every 100 years. I couldn't help thinking about it when, after an 8-mile drive over Montana gravel roads without another soul in sight in any direction, the Virgelle Merc suddenly appeared, seemingly in the middle of nowhere.

After staying at the Virgelle Merc, I have to redefine my definition of nowhere. Maybe it's my usual city life that is "nowhere," and the Virgelle Merc that is the true reality. As soon as we walked in, we were greeted in a most friendly way by owner Don Sorenson, who restored this old merchantile building some 30 years ago and turned it into a bed and breakfast serving tourists exploring the White Cliffs and wild and scenic Missouri river.

We immediately felt at home with Don, with whom we had corresponded by e-mail for the reservation, and he showed us to our cute room, beautifully decorated with antiques and cozy touches. It was like staying at grandma's house! Don even fixed us a yummy plate of cold cuts when he learned we hadn't had dinner before driving out to Virgelle.

Don lives in the old bank building next to the B&B, and we enjoyed poking around to look at the antiques for sale, the old buildings that remain of the town of Virgelle, and the cabins and wagons that are also available for rent. In the morning, breakfast was an absolutely wonderful selection of cream cheese French toast, whole hog sausage, and fruit.

We loved our stay at the Virgelle Merc and would heartily recommend it to anyone looking for true hospitality and a unique experience in the heart of Montana.

  • Liked — unique experience, wonderful hospitality
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Virgelle Merc-Canoe Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virgelle Merc-Canoe Co.

Address: 7485 Virgelle Ferry Rd. N., Loma, MT 59460
Location: United States > Montana > Loma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Loma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virgelle Mercantile serves its guests today, as it did at the turn of the last century... Four quiet upstairs guest rooms share down-the-hall bathroom facilities, or new seperate showerhouse facilities. Located in a remote setting beside the Upper Missouri River and the old Great Northern RR Line, the Mercantile B&B offers a taste of country life with a victorian flare. Enjoy full, hot breakfasts each morning from the Mercantile kitchen. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virgelle Merc-Canoe Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.