We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“E coli in wells (summer 2012)” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Lolo Hot Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Lolo Hot Springs to your Saves list
The Lodge at Lolo Hot Springs
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   38600 Highway 12 West, Lolo, MT 59847   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lolo
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“E coli in wells (summer 2012)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

While the room was comfortable and the setting lovely, my party arrived to find a notice on the door from the state health inspector warning guests that e. coli had been found in this lodge's wells. We had reservations and they had our phone number, but no one bothered to call and let us know. Guy at the front desk assured us that a jug of bleach poured into the well had taken care of the problem but that the inspector wasn't due back until Monday to remove the sign. Okay. Sure. I realize they're in business to make money, but I really think they should have called guests and given them fair warning (the elderly and people travelling with small children may not be in a position to take risks and I would have felt better knowing that the state inspector - not the proprietor - had approved the water for use). In fairness, I should have posted this review last year -- but had deliberately put it from my mind. I give them two stars for the location, which is superb (wildlife spotting is almost a sure thing on the trails behind the lodge), but you should bring your own water or only stay here if you don't mind taking risks with your health, because they're not going to contact you ahead of time or let you out of your reservation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinthiaR, General Manager at The Lodge at Lolo Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We work closely with the Montana DEQ to assure a healthy water source for our guests. We get our water tested monthly to make sure levels are perfect. If there is ever a problem, a second water test is called by the DEQ and we offer complimentary bottled water during the second testing. We are proud of our perfect record with the DEQ and health department and will continue to strive to achieve the excellent ratings we have earned in the past.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    41
    15
    14
    9
See reviews for
38
80
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had stayed here a couple of years ago and had fond memories. But, this time, we were given a room that was already occupied and we walked in on a couple in who were in midst of an afternoon tryst. Upon going back to the front desk, there was no remorse - only told it was someone else' fault. The room we were then put in was dirty; human hair on the floor, dog hair on the couch, soap scum and debris on the tub floor - GROSS! We will never stay here again and recommend it to nobody.

Room Tip: Avoid this place until there are new owners or management that cares about their facility and patron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, VA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Adorable lodge in the middle of nowhere! We arrived just before 10 PM. The lady at the front desk was wonderful and made sure the restaurant next door would still cook something for us. The room was very clean and a really cute lodge feel. Unfortunately we were only there for the night and couldn't enjoy the beautiful setting. If I'm ever back in that area, I will make sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinthiaR, Manager at The Lodge at Lolo Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, Usa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was looking for a nice place to stay for the last night of a 3 week road trip and really wanted to have one more swim in a nice pool and of course a nice place to stay. There were several options but this place caught my eye because it seemed to have nice looking, lodge like rooms plus a pool and hot springs and of course I thought hot springs in addition to a pool would be even better. I believed they had a pool because when I had searched online a facebook page came up with a nice big pool as the photo but upon trying to go to this pool the next day before leaving I was told it was separate and would cost $7 per person to access. This was a huge disappointment to me as it was one of the main reasons I had for booking a hotel, and I understand this was an assumption on my part the pool was associated but it isn't set up very well to help people avoid this confusion, so be careful.They didn't even offer a discount or anything for people staying at the lodge ( which is the only place around anyway ) and that would have been better at least.

We also ate at the restaurant right next to the lodge, seeing as it was about 30 miles to the next closest place, and it was one of the worst places we ate in the entire 3 weeks. No one greeted us or sat us anywhere let alone even came over to give us menus or anything. After going to the front and getting these myself they eventually took our order, but then it took forever to get our food. We were trying to get to the hot spring pools before they closed at 10 and we figured going to dinner at 8 would leave us time but it barely did. We sat in this place for an hour just waiting for our food, the chairs and atmosphere were uncomfortable and the women went on her smoke break ( at the window in front of us ) without ever checking on us and then when they did deliver our food they brought it to the wrong table and then the food wasn't very good!

The room overall was fine, I did go for the cheapest room they had and so not the nicest room was to be expected but there was pet hair all over the carpet like it hadn't even been cleaned and the curtains were so thin the room was lit up like a light bulb by 7 and made sleeping pretty difficult plus the bed was hard, but the pillows were nice and it did have AC. The other more expensive rooms did seem really nice, I would recommend splurging a bit if going here.

Overall the waffle breakfast was good, the main lobby nice, the people friendly, had a nice video library to take from with games ect, the hot spring tubs really hot but also nice, so not a terrible place my main problems were with the restaurant and the lack of pool.

Room Tip: Splurge for a more expensive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband & I stayed at The Lodge for two nights in July this year (2013).
On a long tour we were making of the entire northwest of this country, it was one of the highlights.
The hospitality of the staff was outstanding, the rooms were PERFECTLY clean, the beds incredibly comfortable.
The décor is log-cabin, yet we had a fully appointed, modern bathroom, large windows for a great view, and fridge in the room, and complimentary breakfast. Hardly "roughing it" ;-)

The lobby has a great, "lodge" feel, and comfortable couches from which to watch satellite TV, if that's one's taste (it's not ours, but we appreciated being able to catch The Weather Channel and some cooking shows over breakfast).

The outdoor setting at The Lodge is spectacular. Think deep, cool pine forests and mountain meadows. There is a pond on the property, where we saw a moose--twice!
There is also a nice sitting area, with hanging flowers frequented by hummingbirds, if your taste is to just relax in the sun.

Once thing not to miss: the stars at night!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinthiaR, Manager at The Lodge at Lolo Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at our little slice of heaven. Please come relax with us again. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We happened upon this gem in the wilderness, and we were delighted! LuAnn and Roger we're absolutely wonderful hosts in making our two-night stay pleasant and relaxing! The hot springs grotto was a surprise of which we took full advantage, too! The room was spacious, clean, and offered us the comfort we needed before we continued on our bicycle trek! We would love to come back for a visit!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinthiaR, Manager at The Lodge at Lolo Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the lodge. LuAnn and Roger are one of our finest and they really do make people feel relaxed and comfortable. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathdrum
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our stay was very good, The rooms were very clean and nice, Owners were very helpful, friendly and accommodating. The Hot springs were very enjoyable and clean. The area is beautiful. We will be back to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinthiaR, Manager at The Lodge at Lolo Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed you stay at our lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Lolo Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Lolo Hot Springs

Address: 38600 Highway 12 West, Lolo, MT 59847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Lolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lolo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge at Lolo Hot Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the mountains only 40 minutes from Missoula, MT. Huge executive rooms featuring large picture windows and log style furniture. Huge Gathering Lobby perfect for family gatherings. 2 Hot Springs Mineral Soaking Tubs. Free Lite Continental Breakfast. Wireless Internet. Adjacent to restaurant, lounge and hot springs swimming pool. 500 Miles of recreational trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge at Lolo Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Lolo Hot Springs Hotel Lolo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Lolo Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.