We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 63 Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livingston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
63 Ranch
Save
You added 63 Ranch to your Saves list
P. O. Box 979, Livingston, MT 59047   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My week at the 63 Ranch in July was the fulfilment of a longstanding ambition to go on a ranch holiday and it exceeded my expectations in every way. The big country of Montana provided a stunning setting for our rides on really fine, sure-footed horses who knew their job but were definitely not the switched off horses you can end up riding on trekking holidays. I was struck by how well the horses were matched to riders, showing that the ranch knows how to cater for riders of all abilities and experience.

We were catered for so well by the friendly team, with three great meals each day, the excellent company of both the staff and our fellow guests, a choice of rides each day and the chance to go out with wranglers to work with cattle.
I never expected to be persuaded to participate in a barn dance, let alone enjoy it, but the 63 Ranch pulled it off!

Special praise goes out to Jeff for his excellent talk which he gives to everyone on the morning before their first ride. I have ridden horses since I was a child and have taken great interest in trying to understand how they think. Jeff does a tremendous job communicating to everyone about how horses are thinking, how what we do can affect their behaviour. He gave great advice and instruction about keeping safe around horses and how we can ride with the horses' wellbeing in mind.

The ranch is only an hour away from Yellowstone, which made it easy to have a day trip there too (another thing ticked off my bucket list).

For me this was a truly special holiday in a. truly special place. Great company, great rides, new friends, hospitable, knowledgeable,welcoming hosts, helpful, courteous staff, Ray and Frank's wonderful cooking, quality horses in one of the most beautiful places I have ever been to.it is no wonder that many people return, including Bob the wrangler who first came to the ranch on holiday as a teenager and got bitten by the 63.bug so bad he returns to work each season.

My only misgiving - I didn't get to stay another week. I'm planning to return as soon as I can.

Room Tip: Cabins are comfortable and airy, peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We have been spending a week with the folks at the 63 Ranch every year for the past six years. We were attracted by the beautiful surroundings, the promise of horseback riding and a pace of life that lets us enjoy what matters. We return not only because of all these things, but because of the friends, new and old, that we meet at the ranch each year. My sons were 8 and 11 when we started vacationing at the ranch. They came to the ranch as beginning riders and have become confident on horses thanks to Jeff, Deanna, and the other great wranglers along the way. Although they do not ride at home, my sons beg to go back to the ranch each year. I ride a little throughout the year, but am always happy to get back to the 63. After morning and afternoon rides and three home cooked meals a day, spend your evening square dancing in the outside pavilion one night, relax on the porch or your private cabin, or join new friends on the lodge porch for conversation or some impromptu music -- bring your guitar if you have one! Every year this trip only gets better.

Room Tip: Deanna will help you choose the perfect spot for your group when you call or e-mail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Early July 2012 was the second visit for us. We had been to the 63 in 2007 and it kept "calling us back"....Deanna and Jeff are terrific hosts and the staff is courteous and friendly...Wrangler Bob is a very interesting fixture at the ranch (he's been there for 20 years). He has great stories and a special way with horses and people. Their current chef Ray, provided great meals all week. I am sure we will return to the 63 again...."Maybe not next year, but we will return"

Room Tip: Ask for a "new" cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Our language does not hold enough superlatives to convey the beauty, the grandeur of this setting. Words just cannot express the take-your-breath-away aspects of the vistas you see from the front porch of your cabin or from the saddle as you gaze out over the mountain ranges below you. My husband and I have been going for one- or two-week vacations since 2003, and each trip provides new experiences that will stay in our memories forever. Our cubes at work are plastered with photos of the 63, and our friends wait to hear what new adventures each trip brings. We are horse people, so we go for a riding experience that is like no other. However, the Ranch caters to people of all riding skills with horses that accommodate every type of rider from beginner/novice to advanced riders. They also offer a non-rider rate. You go out for rides with wrangler guides who ensure you are safe and comfortable. By the end of the week you will want to take some of them home with you! The owners, Jeff and Dee, work tirelessly to meet the needs and desires of the guests. The high number of return guests attests to how perfect this experience is (this past trip had only 1 new guest out of 20 return guests). Some of the guest have become dear friends as we meet for something like a reunion every year at the same time. Also surprising is the high number of people from other countries. This year included return guests from Scotland, England and Ireland. Be aware most of the cabins are rustic, and this is a "real" ranch, not a ranch/spa. The emphasis is on riding or hiking or fly fishing or just reading a book on your porch. You can help move cows if you are feeling adventurous toward the end of the week, something you will be sure to talk and laugh about for a long time. Whatever you go for, I feel comfortable saying you will get more than you expected. Oh, and bring LOTS of film.

Room Tip: Talk to Dee about the type of cabin that fits your needs. They have cabins that fit singles, friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony, FL USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

We were invited to go to the 63 Ranch by some friends of ours who had been several years before. We had never been before, and were a little apprehensive about going due to the fact that we had absolutely no experience whatsoever with horses.
The main reason that we were going was because of our 9 year old daughter.
She loves horses, and was biting at the bit to go. We decided to go and give it a
shot. We are so glad we did, because our week at the 63 Ranch was the most memorable
vacation we have ever taken. As we said we were apprehensive at first and did not know
what to expect and how safe we would be especially with a 9 year old. After the first morning, with the extensive introduction and training we received, our minds were put to ease. The knowledge of Jeff and their wranglers were amazing and they had a special, genuine desire to make you feel comfortable and enjoy yourself. We cannot emphasize enough how appreciative we were for them going the extra mile to make us comfortable. After that first day, we realized that we were in excellent hands, and that we were safe.
We would not think twice about recommending the 63 Ranch for your next family
vacation and we cannot wait until we can go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

My family had the pleasure of visiting the 63 this past July (2010) and we had a wonderful time. The staff is warm, friendly, and very knowledgeable about horses, riding, the natural history of the area, great fishing spots, etc... I was impressed by two aspects of our visit, among others. First, the introduction and training we received BEFORE getting on the horses was extremely well-designed and thoughtful. We learned about the basics of animal behavior, how that translates into what horses are motivated by and thinking about, and ultimately how to work well, and communicate effectively, with our horse. This made all the difference in having a great experience with all the horses during our stay at the ranch. Second, the fly-fishing on the Mission Creek, which flows for 3+ miles through the ranch, is not to be missed! There are larger waters nearby, but I guarantee that none will fish as well as the Mission Creek. This creek receives very little fishing pressure and holds mostly large (11-13 in) rainbows and cutthroat trout, with 16 inchers in some of the deeper holes. Bring your fly rod when you visit the ranch!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

If you're looking for spectacular views, quality horses, comfortable cabins, good food, relaxing atmosphere, wonderful hosts and staff, the 63 Ranch has it all. We've been going there for 11 straight years, and we feel this year has actually been the best. Whether a beginner or experienced horseback rider, you will be perfectly matched to your horse and the type of ride you'd like. Select from fabulous mountain ranges, rolling meadows, or rounding up cattle, it's entirely your choice. If you're looking to have a Dude Ranch experience, this is truly a no-risk vacation. On the morning we had to leave, my husband looked at me and said, "I miss it already"! So we booked for another 2 weeks in September. It's grand.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 63 Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 63 Ranch

Address: P. O. Box 979, Livingston, MT 59047
Location: United States > Montana > Livingston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Livingston
Number of rooms: 16

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 63 Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.