We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never stay there again!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sandman Motel Down-Under

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Libby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandman Motel Down-Under
Save
You added Sandman Motel Down-Under to your Saves list
919 Mineral Avenue, Libby, MT 59923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Plush Top Beds
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Libby
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Will never stay there again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My family and I won't be staying there again, we were all quoted $60-69 dollars a night when we each called to make our reservations. Then when we went to check out were charged $80 (he tried charging us more) and that was SUPPPOSEDLY with them giving each of us a $10 off. Mysteriously the owner (Shane?) doesn't know how or why we were all quoted so much cheaper prices then what he was charging us. Basically he made an extra $30 off me, $30 off my sister and $40 off of my dad while trying to make it seem like he was "giving us a discount' Definitely got swindled and don't recommend this place to anyone because of that. Don't expect to pay the price they quote you when booking the room!!!!! They also assured my sister she would have a room with a full kitchen, her and I both have toddlers so its very important, they gave her a room with mini fridge with no sink or kitchen and three small single beds which left no room for the pack'n'play for her son to sleep in.

Room Tip: don't expect to get the room you reserve or for the price they quote you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Polson, Montana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night while our baseball team was in town. If you have ever been to Libby, you would realize lodging is slim pickings! Our room was super tiny and by super, I mean we felt like we could almost stretch our arms across the room and touch both walls. That being said, the bed was amazing! Seriously one of the best night's sleep I have had in awhile! The decor was cute and the room was very clean. The bed was log framed with real wood. This is definitely a budget no frills motel, so don't expect luxury, but it's not a bad choice for something clean and cheap for a night or two.

Room Tip: They do have bigger rooms with small kitchens if needing more than just a night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We've been to this hotel for over 5 years in a row and love the friendly service we receive from Shane and his staff. It's affordable and convenient to walk a few blocks for groceries and a restaurant for dinner. Enjoy the picnic tables and visit with your friends. Rooms are clean and comfy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathdrum, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Some time ago, we had stayed a couple of nights at the original Sandman on the west end of Libby. It was not fancy, but clean, bright and a reasonably sized room and the owners were great. Based on that experience, we decided to give their second location, this motel, at try. The room is clean. That's where the kudos stop. I was originally quoted $80 for the night. with a discount I paid $73, inclusive for two. WAY overpriced. It would have been marginal at $50. The room is (I'm writing from the room) cramped and dreary with inadequate lighting. The "non--smoking" room still smells of old cigarette smoke. Thanks for the fridge and microwave, but I would have preferred to have room to hang all my clothes. the blinds on the window do not close completely. There is no hand towel rack. Had we not been so tired from a long day's drive, we would have asked for our money back and looked elsewhere. We will endure the evening and move on in the morning. On our next visit to Libby, Sandman will not be on the list of places to stay. the rating of "two" is for, at least, being clean.

Room Tip: Go someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellogg, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

The room was clean, but lots smaller than it looks in the pics. The walls are paper thin too, you might as well be watching their tv as you can certainly hear it.

Room Tip: It appears that all the rooms are pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I stayed at the Sandman-Down Under in July. I was originally booked for several nights but checked out after one. Although the room was clean, that is about all it was. The room was quite cramped, with no room to hang clothes because of where management decided to place a small fridge. (Mine was not working and had to be swapped out.) Everything about the Sandman was bare bones. They had a very small bar of the cheapest soap in the bathroom, but nothing else. The towels were thin enough that you could still read a newspaper through them. I was quite unhappy with the entire ambience of the place - BUT FOUND A BETTER OPTION.
Coming into Libby, I saw a sign for a bed and breakfast called The Huckleberry House. I discovered it was a scant two blocks away from the Sandman - and that they had availability. My three night stay there was absolutely splendid. The 1910 home had been completely refurbished and updated. My room was spacious and lacked no amenities. The innkeepers, Keith and Ellen Johnston, seemed to be welcome throwbacks to a more refined and elegant era. All of this goodness, plus a sumptuous breakfast was available for a mere $23 more per night than I paid at the Sandman! The Huckleberry House is THE place to stay if your travels are taking you to beautiful Libby, Montana.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Sandman Down Under is, as advertised, a pretty clean place. However, while cleanliness is good, there are other factors that contribute to satisfaction of customers. The Sandman seems to have taken a low-budget approach to just about everything. The like to advertise that the rooms are recently re-modeled. That may be true, but the re-modeling work was less than top-notch. The trim outside all of the doors is plain wood planks with no paint and a sloppy fit and finish. When inside the room, a gap of about 1/16 inch is very visible around most of the door. The furnishings of the room are spartan, with very lightweight sheets, blankets and bedspreads, and the pillows are perhaps 3 inches thick, at best. Not much of a pillow. No duvets or removable comforters to be found here. You might want to hope that the previous guest was a clean and healthy person, because the only thing between you and the bare mattress is one thin sheet. As another review noted, the only amenity offered is a bar of soap in the bathroom, so don't forget shampoo and shaving gear.
The office personnel were friendly enough, but the complimentary continental breakfast, which was served in the 10' by 8' office, was a bit cramped, to say the least.
With the small selection of motels in Libby, the Sandman may indeed be the best choice, but at $58 / night, it actually seem overpriced for what it was.

Room Tip: Ask for an end room, w/only 1 common wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandman Motel Down-Under? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Motel Down-Under

Address: 919 Mineral Avenue, Libby, MT 59923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Libby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Libby
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sandman Motel Down Under. We strive to give our customers the best hospitality experience during their stay in beautiful Libby, Montana. We offer free wifi, breakfast, flat screen TVs in all rooms, new plush top beds and impeccably clean rooms. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandman Motel Down-Under, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.