We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stop” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue and White Motel

Save Saved
You added Blue and White Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue and White Motel
640 East Idaho Street, Kalispell, MT 59901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Kalispell
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overnight stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Did the job - nothing spectacular - did the job for what I paid.
Wireless didn't work in the area my room was.
Finnigan's Family Restaraunt was a good sopt for breakfast and is in the complex - very good value.
I would stay again on a stop over - good value.

Room Tip: Don't get your expectations up - does the job.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    17
    4
    14
See reviews for
13
19
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new london, nh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked three nights, but due to several forest fires decided to only stay two. Karen was most accommodating in crediting the third. Our room, while basic, but spotlessly clean. Many bikers have discovered this great budget spot, and we also enjoyed the pool, sauna and hot tub. Those expecting a Hilton for a budget price will not be happy, but we were most pleased with our stay. The breakfast was adequate, and two restaurants were within a block.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms in the other two buildings...they are quieter, too
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We went to Kalispell Montana for the Fair and rodeo and had two hotels left to choose from to stay as everything else was full we chose to stay here,The first thing wrong was the TV remote was missing, it took asking and complaining three times and still it took until late the next day for a replacement. second there was a wet used towel hanging behind the bathroom door not that big of a deal we told the front desk about it and at the same time we told them we didn't want anyone in our room for room service. we went to the fair and rodeo and when we came back we discovered that someone had been in our room and took all of our towels and didn't replace them including our own towels so we had to go looking for them in the hotel laundry. The help argued with us about not putting out our do not disturb sign and they wouldn't have gone into our room I not so nicely told them that "if we had one in our room we would have put it out and reminded them that we are the paying costomer and we did tell the front desk about not wanting anyone in our room". It just happened that the owner was within ear shot and stated that we gave the information to them she told us that she has tried many times to educate the staff that it is the customer who pays there salery not the boss. all in all it was a nice stay once we got the kinks worked out we stayed for three days and it was a very reasonable price not a bad place at all

Room Tip: lats of motorcycles seem to like this place they have theme rooms as well lots of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We should have walked away when we arrived!! The rooms are horrible! We had to call the front desk to complain about hair on our "clean" towels!! This place is complete with 2 old cars that sit out front!! Dont do it! Sleep in your car instead!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalkaska, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Spent only one night here and sounds like out of our group our room was the luck of the draw! We had an Audrey Hepburn themed room, it was pretty clean, a little strange with all the decorations. The light in the bathroom did not want to turn on which was a little frustrating. We did not spend much time here, only a place to lay our head while passing through. Others in our group were not as lucky, some dirty & disgusting rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

What an eclectic little family owned motel. It is just a down-home, low key, family and biker friendly kind of place. This place has been in the same family for years! We have stayed before and will return again. It is not fancy by any means, but the rooms are adequate (bring your own hair dryer, shampoo, etc., - soap is supplied). It is the general welcome mat that is put out that impresses. Like stopping by to stay with relatives. Breakfast is included and the choices are ample with cereal, milk, Joyce, fruit, good, good fresh donuts. Coffee pot is always on and you can pop some corn is you want. People hang out outside their rooms or in the general gathering place around the grill. Again, nothing fancy here-just good friendly folks. The hotel offers fun theme rooms. We were in the gangster themed room. They also have An Elvis room and many others. Sort of a fun added attraction. There were phony bullet holes on the walls of our room. Maybe not for everyone, but clever decor for those who might be into more than a "plain, average" room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTLAND,OR
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The beauty of Kalispell, Glacier N.P and this part of Montana is grand...and high season demands high prices from innkeepers. Your branded names are double what you would pay in the rest of the country...but that is the market at work. So, if you are a budget hawk like us, the BLUE and WHITE struck a chord.

Other reviewers have been harsh as well as kind...I am supportive of what B&W is doing. There is no pretense about this 1950's motel. They have maintained and survived. They do their best to offer a clean living space...the cute theme rooms are just that, cute. They add no value but the owners are trying.

We were reminded as we parked our car at our front door, the value of the motor courts from the 50's. Four steps from car to room...a value.

The furnishings were acceptable. The TV from the 80's but a fair cable line-up. The bath was a closet but reasonably clean. The towels and linens showed wear but were clean. We stayed two nites and housekeeping just pulled up the covers, like you might at home if you were lazy...they didn't make the bed! And towels were not replaced unless left on the floor.

The overhaul work on the Corvette Stingray and the Thunderbird didn't effect the gang that gathered for a BBQ outside the pool building. Pools of spent oil draining on the concrete were readily absorbed by lots of Kitty Litter. Bikers and truckers bonded.

Wi-Fi was a treat. Four zones...the signal lasted five minutes and then threw you off. Log back on and go again. Not a good thing.

The breakfast bar was slim pickins' but acceptable. Coffee was fair.

But all this is narrative...you book here and stay here because you need a bed and a shower while enjoying the Park. You can spend three-times as much and stay in the park. You will spend a fortune on meals there. But with careful planning you can enjoy the grandeur of the Park and enjoy a throw-back moment at the Blue and White.

Room Tip: Ask for the remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue and White Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue and White Motel

Address: 640 East Idaho Street, Kalispell, MT 59901
Location: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Kalispell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Blue and White Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue And White Hotel Kalispell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue and White Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.