We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Gateway to Glacier National Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Kalispell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Kalispell to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 North Main Street, Kalispell, MT 59901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Kalispell
Redmond, WA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“New Gateway to Glacier National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

I loved the hotel. We stayed for almost a week last August (2009) during our Glacier Park Trip. Yep, it could be a bit closer to Glacier, driving to the park will take you around an hour or so. I do enjoy comfortable and clean rooms though, and Kalispell is a town that provides all conviniences (even Costco is right there).

The room was modern, clean, well appointed, very large in size. I didn't really have anything to complain about. There was plenty of free parking available. Plenty of ice every day for us to fill up our ice chest. Yeah, continental breakfast could've been nice. However, we request and got a microwave and a mini-fridge in our room. Then we bought some breakfast stuff in a supermarker right accross the road, so we had our breakfast every morning before getting out of the room. Very convinient. Note, you do have to request the microwave and the fridge.

A couple of days ago we actually got a handwriteen Christmas card from the hotel. I thought that was a nice touch.

We are thinking of going again next year, and this Red Lion definitely would be our first choice. We did use Priceline bidding for cheaper rates.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    108
    51
    28
    20
See reviews for
111
117
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

Nice hotel and very nice Staff. Loved the fire pit in the courtyard!

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

After staying at the Econolodge for a night, St. Mary hotel for a night (east glacier), and a motel in Babb (also East Glacier) for a night, I could not be more relieved to find someplace so clean. This hotel was the only one I stayed at on my week long visit to Montana that I didn't have to sleep in a sleeping bag on the bed. Paradise compared to everything else.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obr2000
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

A very nice hotel, very clean and confortable. We booked this via expedia and good a very good price. A small mall is attached to the Hotel.
A great location to explore this Part of Montana about 40 minutes drive from Galcier NP West Entrance. Would stay there again

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d' Alene, Idaho
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Nice facility and comforable, but overpriced. Made reservations months ahead and discovered that without them we could have checked-in at a much lower rate. When asked they stated they were unable to re-adjust the rate. We also had a lousy experience in their restaurant. Two people in our party ordered a Ceasar Salad and while eating it discovered 7 whole garlic cloves in one and 11 cloves in the other. After asking the waitress about the numerous garlic cloves in the salads she checked with kitchen supervisior and returned to tell us "He stood by his work and was proud of it".
After returning home and notifing the home office of our problems their response was less than satisfactory..........

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

Stayed here for two nights as a based for some exploring around Glacier NP. Location is great -- very central in Kalispell. No serious criticisms of hotel. Bed was much too soft for me if you like a firm mattress. Hotel was full (as were all Kalispell hotels) this weekend.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Stayed here our first night on the way to Glacier National Park. Booked through priceline at a $70 price, and very pleased with the stay at that price. Location is great with its very-near downtown location. Hotel is a little run-down, but the rooms were clean and cozy. Had a decent view of the mountains behind the grocery store across the street. Also, within 1-block walking distance to Moose's Saloon (good pizza in a hole-in-the-wall). 4-stars given because it was good bang-for-its-buck in Kalispell.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Kalispell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Kalispell

Address: 20 North Main Street, Kalispell, MT 59901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Kalispell
#7 Family Hotel in Kalispell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Kalispell 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Kalispell celebrates the beauty of the Flathead Valley Region. Our central location in the valley provides endless opportunities for exploration, including Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake and Whitefish Mountain Resort at Big Mountain Ski and Summer Resort. Additional nearby activities include ten golf courses, hiking in the unspoiled Bob Marshall Wilderness area and fishing or boating on Flathead Lake.The Red Lion Hotel Kalispell is a limited-service hotel sporting western accessories, timber beams and copper, granite and slate in earth-tone colors that echo the warmth and rugged ambiance of Montana and the area's natural surroundings. The hotel is within blocks of restaurants, theaters, art galleries, antique stores and downtown Kalispell. Our 170 rooms are all non-smoking and include Red Lion's signature plush pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), granite vanities, elegant lighting and complimentary wi-fi. Public spaces include vaulted-ceiling lobby and its wood-burning rock fireplace, a welcoming hospitality room, a native, landscaped courtyard with outdoor whirlpool, renovated solarium with indoor pool and over 10,000 square feet of meeting space. Come enjoy Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet daily.We are adjacent to Kalispell Center Mall where all your business, dining and shopping needs are met. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, the Red Lion Hotel Kalispell is the perfect location to experience genuinely warm Montana hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Kalispell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Kalispell
Kalispell Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.