We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, great value; def recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Kalispell

Save Saved
You added Red Lion Hotel Kalispell to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 North Main Street, Kalispell, MT 59901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 hotels in Kalispell
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, great value; def recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were headed for Glacier National Park and this was on the way, and turned out to be a pleasant one night stay for a great value. The hotel is conveniently located near stores and restaurants, our room (1 double bed) was cozy and felt well-kept and clean. The decor had a nice regional touch so it felt more like a resort lodge than a generic hotel. The hotel as a whole felt nicely maintained and the few staff we interacted with were friendly and very helpful. The complimentary breakfast had your usual spread of continental breakfast items plus waffle machine and a made-to-order omelette station, which was a great plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    89
    44
    22
    15
See reviews for
92
93
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

On September 12, 2013, my husband and I stayed at the Kalispell Montana Red Lion. We tried to stay at nicer hotels but everything was sold out. However, we were told by the front desk of all there wonderful amentites and the lobby looked great. So we felt a sigh of relief, however, we were soon regreting that decision. We first entered our room at 10:30 pm. We were hit with a horrible horrible smell. We were exhausted from a 11 hour drive from WA, so we decided to spray some perfume and hope for the best. As I explored the room I found either vomit, wine, or juice covering the carpets. In the bathroom our shower curtain liner was missing. AND there were kids box top stickers on the sink. It was completely obvious that the maid did NOT care about our room.

The hallways of this hotel are beyond dirty...beyond. They actually had trash and stains all over them. The walls matched. AND the next morning the trash was still in the hallways! UCK!!!!!!!

We paid $180 to basically stay in a dirty structure. The lobby is very misleading. Their advertising is extremly misleading. The entire hotel needs a redo. The Red Lion should be ashamed of themselves!

I emailed the customer care and all they had to say is "sorrry, that is not our standard." Well it kinda is! I felt robbed.

Bottom line...everything was unacceptable. Enjoy Kalispell, it's cute, but don't stay at the Red Lion...if it's the only place available....keep driving...

Ohh and the smell? It was like a smokey room with mold

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding the lack of cleanliness in your guest room. I would like to apologize for the odor that you experienced in your room as well. This is definitely not the type of stay we want you to have and I assure you this will be addressed accordingly with our housekeeping staff
You are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

From the 12th to 15th September 2013 I stayed at this hotel with a friend. We had the most wonderful room with a view of the garden. Each room has a coffee maker, microwave and fridge. Included in the price of the room is a buffet breakfast in the hotel atrium. This had different juices, coffee, several kinds of tea, fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins, scones, various bread for toasting,different cereals, sausages, bacon, pancakes, hash browns and a wonderful omelet station which was made up to your personal requirement. The hotel itself is attached to a mall - so is most convenient for the shopper ! The staff at this hotel are the most friendly you will find anywhere and there is a courtesy bus to take you out if you need it.

Room Tip: This hotel is only 3 levels high, we were in the middle level and found is extremely quiet. The A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLCB, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Being attached to the Kalispell Center Mall in downtown Kalispell is a great advantage for us. I hope you get a chance to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We enjoyed our fabulous stay at the Red Lion and will certainly return in the future. It was an anniversary made special by the Going to the Sun Road, the Kalispell area and the Red Lion Hotel. Jason at the front desk provided outstanding service but all staff members were extremely friendly and efficient. The hotel was very busy during our three night stay as the weather was perfect and thousands of people were driving the Logan Pass for fall viewing. Woodland Park and the Conrad museum in Kalispell are both worth visiting.

And here is a first! Our room had two luggage racks - almost unheard of even in four star hotels with two queen beds. The window overlooked the courtyard, peaceful and quiet but allowed lots of light. We had stayed at the Red Lion many years ago when it was in a different Kalispell location and are pleased to say their present location is a tremendous upgrade. We asked at the front desk about the location of Hops Grill and were given two complimentary drink coupons to use with dinner - a nice gesture. There is no restaurant but an excellent breakfast is provided that includes 'made to order' omelets. We shopped to heart's content in the attached mall. Wifi was fast and free - gotta love it!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLCB, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for selecting the Red Lion to stay with for your Anniversary. I am glad you experienced the customer service we always strive for. As your comments indicate, we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Have to agree with IDNDCT. Red Lion has been franchising their locations and expected this to be one as well but was surprised to learn it was still owned by RL, and the only one left in MT. What a letdown. Lobby is impressive but the general areas are not well cared for. Halls need a vacuum and dusting. Room was updated but bathroom was not clean. Dropped black pants on floor and they came up filthy. Shower pan needed scrubbing. Card on bed says to put back on bed if you want your sheets changed each day. We did not use it but little poor attempt was made to even remake the bed which was still a mess. It was kind of tucked in, not smoothed out and pillows were stacked in piles with one decorator pillow on top and one on the floor. (On check in they stand them up neatly). The runner at the foot of the bed was 1/2 on 1/2 off. No effort to make it look decent. No restaurant or bar. Breakfast is served at the mall entrance at the back of the property. Weird. (Breakfast was probably the better part.) Elevator is scary. North entrance elevator dumps you in the hallway at the laundry where the staff gathers in the morning with their carts causing way too much congestion. When returning later in the day there were wire carts full of laundry in the hall. Guests should never see this. They use this entrance for storage and staging! I booked through Expedia which was a mistake because I couldn't collect air miles or use AARP discount. The desk clerk took this opportunity to tell me everything I did wrong. Saved $4 for 2 nights on a overvalued room. We were on the third floor and it was quiet except for a train or two. Very disappointed in this site. I have stayed at numerous Red Lions and have been very pleased. Someone in management needs to make a secret traveler QC stop here. Just a silly side note...the famous warm chocolate chip cookie upon check-in doesn't exist at this site.

Room Tip: Third floor inside looking out on courtyard. There is an indoor pool on north side so consider noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your various experiences while visiting our property. We apologize that your room was not properly cleaned during your stay and that one of the entrances was full of cleaning and laundry carts. This is something we will be looking into and following up with our housekeeping staff on. Thank you for being a valued guest and we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed the night at this hotel. Reasonably close to several fast food restaurants but not restaurant in the hotel itself. Room reasonably clean, was on second floor so when guests entered the room above on third floor, was awakened by their heavy footsteps. Consequently I would recommend a third floor room. Staff at front desk was friendly and helpful. Transportation to and from the airport was complementary using hotel van, with friendly driver. Would recommend for breakfast walking the two blocks to Julie's Center Street Cafe. Great breakfast or lunch fare, open 8-2pm each day.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Although the Red Lion has a nice lobby with the big fireplace & wood accents, this hotel is in desperate need of cleaning. We were camping in the park & had our family fly in to visit. We thought at $165/night it should be pretty nice... However I've never seen a hotel quite this dirty. Our campsite was cleaner! It's obvious there are some absentee owners at this one, besides the musty smell & heavily stained carpet the elevators seemed like they were on their last leg! It's too bad the Red Lion doesn't put a little effort into cleanliness, it could be a nice property.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are very displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding the cleanliness of your room. This is definitely not the type of stay we want you to have and I would like to assure you that this will be address with our housekeeping staff
We do appreciate your feedback so that we are given the opportunity to address your concerns. We thank you very much and we hope to have the chance to serve you better in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Lion Hotel Kalispell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Kalispell

Address: 20 North Main Street, Kalispell, MT 59901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Kalispell
#6 Family Hotel in Kalispell
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kalispell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Kalispell 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Kalispell celebrates the beauty of the Flathead Valley Region. Our central location in the valley provides endless opportunities for exploration, including Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake and Whitefish Mountain Resort at Big Mountain Ski and Summer Resort. Additional nearby activities include ten golf courses, hiking in the unspoiled Bob Marshall Wilderness area and fishing or boating on Flathead Lake.The Red Lion Hotel Kalispell is a limited-service hotel sporting western accessories, timber beams and copper, granite and slate in earth-tone colors that echo the warmth and rugged ambiance of Montana and the area's natural surroundings. The hotel is within blocks of restaurants, theaters, art galleries, antique stores and downtown Kalispell. Our 170 rooms are all non-smoking and include Red Lion's signature plush pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), granite vanities, elegant lighting and complimentary wi-fi. Public spaces include vaulted-ceiling lobby and its wood-burning rock fireplace, a welcoming hospitality room, a native, landscaped courtyard with outdoor whirlpool, renovated solarium with indoor pool and over 10,000 square feet of meeting space. Come enjoy Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet daily.We are adjacent to Kalispell Center Mall where all your business, dining and shopping needs are met. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, the Red Lion Hotel Kalispell is the perfect location to experience genuinely warm Montana hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Kalispell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Kalispell
Kalispell Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.