We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Kalispell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Red Lion Hotel Kalispell to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 North Main Street, Kalispell, MT 59901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Celebrate Fall - 20% Off!
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Kalispell
Blairmore, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Red Lion in Kalispell always is a decent place to stay. Although the hotel is starting to show its age, and is most definately in need of some upgrades, the location you can't beat.
Staff is always friendly, rooms are always clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor room, less noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTietema, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
It is with great pleasure to inform you that we have a couple of great upgrades scheduled to take place and can’t wait to have you see them first hand. Until then we thank you for your time and review of our hotel. As always if there is anything we can ever do to assist you in the future please contact us anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    102
    51
    27
    20
See reviews for
103
115
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I spent a two week business trip here at this terrific hotel located in Kalispell, Montana. The only thing I could find wrong was that the smallish tv was located so far across the room from the bed, I had to get my binoculars to watch it at night. There are plenty of things right about this place. It starts with a terrific breakfast with made to order omelets by Justin. I received outstanding business support from Katrina. Everyone at the front desk was friendly and helpful. My room was big and cleaned well every day by Teresa. There is a casino attached along with an indoor mall and the hotel is located right on the main drag in town the hwy 93. Less than an hour's drive to Glacier National Park. Decent gym and indoor pool with Internet that works well make this an ideal place for a business traveler like myself.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTietema, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
You will be pleased to hear that we have recently added some great new equipment to our fitness area and will be also adding some additional new features to our guest rooms…..hint: no binoculars needed! ;-) We thank you for your review and look forward to hearing how you feel about the new changes to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Montana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Recently held an event at the Red Lion, Kalispell. The catering department was fantastic and knew just I wanted and more so what I needed and I have been planning meeting and events for 34 years. I never felt once like I had to stop and train their staff. Customer Service was the best. Yeah I was so glad I found a hotel who understood the customer comes first. At the pre-con meeting all of our needs were met with detail. The Banquet Manager, Jeremy, was there at every turn throughout the evening. Joanne the Catering Manager spent the day and evening with us as we set up and took down items. She made sure of the sound and lights etc were working. The buffet was always stocked and never did I have to go find staff to keep it going. The staff was there after the event to help take down decorations, banners etd. You would just ask and they provided. The sleeping rooms were great and clean and CJ rooms manager had covered every detail and they had a full house the same night! I suggest next time you plan an Event select the Red Lion. Lisa Brown, the manager, was present off and on and always available by phone. She went beyond the call of duty to assist us with marketing in our community and to give suggestions as to how we could address new markets. It was an entire team effort. I am past President of the National tour Association, and to all my tour and travel friends this property and Management is a "10" in my book. Dottie Maitland CTP

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very friendly staff, great service, clean rooms and centrally located. We really enjoyed our stay at the Red Lion in in Kalispell and they allow you to stay with your pet for a small extra charge. The hotel is walking distance to the historic main street of Kalispell .We also found the people of Kalispell very friendly and welcoming to visitors. We will definitely stay at the Red Lion again! Ps a special thank you to Dez who did an exceptional job cleaning our room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTietema, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We thank you for the great review and will surely forward your gratitude to our team, especially Dez. It is with great pleasure that we look forward to having your family with us again and remember that our hotel is always family friendly, even the four legged kind! ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel is in an perfect spot- you can access all the restaurants and businesses downtown by walking a block! Th hotel has wonderful rooms, great service and the breakfast buffet was perfect. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTietema, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
It is with great pleasure to see that you were able not only to experience what we have to offer as a hotel, but also what the great city of Kalispell and our historic downtown has too. Thank you for the great review and recommendation.

As always know that Kalispell’s doors are always open for our visitors! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Sure glad I took in the event at the Red Lion. I don't do New Years as a rule, been more than 20 years since the last New Years event. Could not have asked for a more enjoyable evening. Outstanding meal, excellent service and fantasic rooms all with entertainment that was second to none.
I am already looking forward to New Years 2014 in Kalispell at the Red Lion!! Hope you bring back the same band.

Room Tip: The Family suites are sure worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTietema, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
This was also a first for us in a long time as we have not had a New Year’s Eve celebration event in a while. Since we saw an overwhelming turnout and heard nothing but great comments from all our guests we will definitely be looking into hosting another New Year’s Eve celebration with star sensation Trevor Panczak and Rough Stock. Hope your New Year is going well and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great Place to stay with very friendly and helpful staff. All the staff see to be so happy and enjoying their job even at 7:30 in the am. as they were starting their day. Just walk out your door and down to the attached mall for shopping . Great Free Breakfast with personal pan omelettes.
Rocking News Eve Party with Complimentary Redlion champagne glasses to take home for a keepsake of 2013.

Room Tip: We had a room that was next to overlooking the hotel check -in desk and winter wonderland fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTietema, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
As we have handpicked and individually trained our team it is with great pleasure that it shows how much pride we take in our jobs. We strive each day to ensure that each guest feels welcomed and comfortable while with us in their home away from home. Thank you for ringing in your New Year with us and we hope that we will see you in the future if and when we plan another great New Year’s Eve celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Kalispell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Kalispell

Address: 20 North Main Street, Kalispell, MT 59901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Kalispell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Kalispell 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Kalispell celebrates the beauty of the Flathead Valley Region. Our central location in the valley provides endless opportunities for exploration, including Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake and Whitefish Mountain Resort at Big Mountain Ski and Summer Resort. Additional nearby activities include ten golf courses, hiking in the unspoiled Bob Marshall Wilderness area and fishing or boating on Flathead Lake.The Red Lion Hotel Kalispell is a limited-service hotel sporting western accessories, timber beams and copper, granite and slate in earth-tone colors that echo the warmth and rugged ambiance of Montana and the area's natural surroundings. The hotel is within blocks of restaurants, theaters, art galleries, antique stores and downtown Kalispell. Our 170 rooms are all non-smoking and include Red Lion's signature plush pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), granite vanities, elegant lighting and complimentary wi-fi. Public spaces include vaulted-ceiling lobby and its wood-burning rock fireplace, a welcoming hospitality room, a native, landscaped courtyard with outdoor whirlpool, renovated solarium with indoor pool and over 10,000 square feet of meeting space. Come enjoy Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet daily.We are adjacent to Kalispell Center Mall where all your business, dining and shopping needs are met. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, the Red Lion Hotel Kalispell is the perfect location to experience genuinely warm Montana hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Kalispell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Kalispell
Kalispell Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.