We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORIBLE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vacationer Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalispell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vacationer Motel
Save
You added Vacationer Motel to your Saves list
285 7TH Avenue East N, Kalispell, MT 59901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Kalispell
Sixes, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“HORIBLE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We booked for a week based on the reviews on yahoo and could not get a refund. The pool has not been up all season, there are a number of long-term tenants who are at best down on their luck and at worst on drugs.

The phones do not work.

They--the management are trying to get top dollar during the SEASON. We had to do our own laundry, and there is not an onsite laundry facility.

Worst hotel we have stayed in since BAKERSFIELD--worse than the worst in EGYPT.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Idaho
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

Cheese looking outside - interior is run down but comfortable. Would stay only if other facilities or camp grounds were completely booked.

Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

The Vacationer has nothing to do with a vacation. "The Quickie Motel" would be more appropriate. Foam pads were "strategically" placed between the bed headboard and the wall. Let's just say you don't normally get that at the Holiday Inn. Also, I was under the impression that the telephone was used as a plate in a Chinese buffet. The whole furniture, used to the core and outdated, looked like (and was sticky like) the aftermath of a poker tournament.

The Vacationer doesn't own a vacuum cleaner (or it's still in its box). I will not describe the condition of the bath in case you are eating at the moment. Let's just say it looked like the bath in the Minority Report movie...or Silence of the lambs. The towels were ok...if they were used to wash a car. The walls had no blood on them. But besides that, they were covered with pretty much all of the rest (yes...that too!!!).

On the positive side, the smell was great. I guess Fabreeze was on sale in Kalispell (or gave away free samples). The TV had cable and had an extended choice of channels. I guess it helps to forget about the room condition in general.

There was a pool. It seemed to be ok. But the fact it was located in the parking lot, next to three huge pick-up trucks pretty much ruined it for me. By the way, the trucks probably belonged to some of the numerous permanent residents of the Vacationer (another reason why the name is quite ironic).

In other words, I would recommend the Vacationer to a "new" couple that is looking for a "love nest" at 3:15 am. A six pack each should do the trick to cover up the small flaws...

  • Liked — The "double-double trouble" welcome comitee
  • Disliked — The rest
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

This motel was old, rundown, and dirty. We had to go to Walmart to buy our own towels! There were people living in several rooms. Service at the front desk was rude at best. The room had no smoke detector, and the dead bolt wouldn't stay shut. We have no idea why Fodor's listed this as a nice hotel for a low price.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vacationer Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacationer Motel

Address: 285 7TH Avenue East N, Kalispell, MT 59901
Location: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Kalispell
Number of rooms: 11

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vacationer Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.