We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garrison Inn

The Garrison Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalispell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garrison Inn
2235 Ashley Lake Rd, Kalispell, MT 59901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Kalispell B&B and Inns
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed with the Garrisons in their beautiful place for 3 nights at the beginning of August 2013. Wow what a place. Breathtaking views over the valley and a comfortable bed to sleep in. Gene is a fantastic cook and my wife even got a lesson one evening while cooking dinner. Food was great - best I have had in quite a while. Felt very comfortable staying there and glad we chose the Garrison Inn for our first trip to Montana. You will wonder when driving to the Inn if you have gone the wrong way but trust me...continue up the road and you will find it...and you too will be glad you chose to stay there. We enjoyed a round of Golf with Gene and even went for a horseback ride not too far away - thanks to Gene's recommendations. All and all was a fantastic trip and should you decide to stay at the Garrison be sure to grab a copy of Gene's cookbook and some homemade jams - you wont regret it - and then you can attempt to recreate the delicious Omlette that I had every morning for breakfast...like others have said it is like nothing you have ever had. Thanks again Gene and Ann Marie - we had a wonderful stay at your place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Garrison Inn is a beautiful gem set in the hills outside of Kalispell, Montana. We happened upon it using TripAdvisor, and we thank our lucky stars that we chose to stay there. Gene and Ann Marie's beautiful home and B&B is a warm and comforting environment, full of beautiful decorations, their wonderful family, and some canine friends who are always ready for attention. A short 45 minute drive to Glacier National Park, the Inn is a perfect distance from neighboring Kalispell and nearby Whitefish. Gene's incredible skills as a chef and vintner left our taste buds smiling. Gene's breakfasts were absolutely delicious (you HAVE to try an omelet...you've honestly never had anything like it!). Ann Marie's warm welcome after a long day of driving was exactly what we needed. We highly recommend a visit to The Garrison Inn, secretly wishing we could just move in permanently!

Room Tip: The Victoria room has a lovely view of Glacier National Park, and the sunrise washes in in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
- Beautiful house and grounds with spectaculars views and quiet and privacy. I can go on about this aspect alone.
- Lovely host and family. The Inn is decorated with family heirlooms and carefully curated antiques. Both Gene and Ann Marie were knowledgeable about the area, hiking and the like.
- We stayed in the Victorian Room with an awesome view of Glacier Bay. Full bath, comfy bed, plenty of lighting and outlets.
- Breakfast was included and prepared fresh daily by Owner and Chef, Gene. Juices, coffee and teas were provided as well. No set breakfast time, so when ever we rolled out of bed Gene was up and waiting to serve us. This was one of the best parts about our stay, it felt like waking up at Grandmas on Sunday Morning. We also had dinner after a long day that was just as tasty. We packed all of our left over and ate it on the train after leaving.
- 2 of the most friendly guard doggies you'll ever meet!

Cons:
- located about 1 hour away from Glacier Bay.

Bottom Line:
GO!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Beautiful log house with amazing views high above the Flathead valley looking across to the mountains. Fantastic ! Huge log beams inside makes it feel warm and cosy. And a gormet chef preparing breakfast and dinner if you want (better than anything you'll find in Kalispell). What more could you ask? Great hosts.

Room Tip: All the rooms are individually decorated and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

There's nothing not to like about the Garrison; extremely helpful attentive hosts, incredibly good gourmet food, impeccable cleanliness with comfortable home-like appointments, helpful extras like internet access on a laptop, wonderful seclusion and amazing scenery/views, and even some friendly pet dogs to play with you if like. I suppose the only slight downside is it's out of town about 15 minutes, if you consider that a downside - I don't, and you *might* at times need AWD to get up there during the worst of winter. I liked being away from town, as I enjoyed seeing the abundant deer and turkeys every single day winding my way down the hill to the main road. Can't beat this B&B or these proprietors - head and shoulders above the other B&Bs I checked out in and around Kalispell. Can't wait to go back again this fall.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms looked good to me... each has different virtues, depending on the size of bed and size o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have travelled to many places worldwide, always staying at B&B's because we feel its the best way of meeting local people as well as taking advantage of local knowledge. In September 12 we stayed 6 days at the Garrison Inn whilst touring Glazier National Park.What an excellent accomodation. Great hospitality from hosts Ann Marie and Gene and as Gene is a professional Chef, the food, including Dinner, was wonderful.

Their huge log cabin home is extremely comfortable and situated high up on the hill side to give great panoramic views over the town. its easy access to the national Park and surrounding countryside was just what we desired, well away from any noise. Glazier National Park is a must to see, just wild open scenery, particularly the 'Road to the Sun' and on over the border into Waterton Park, Alberta, Canada. As independent travellers from the UK, we we found all the American people we met to be extremely helpful and kind.

Room Tip: Any room will be comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed at the Garrison Inn for several nights while in the area on some difficult family business. I retired early to my room every night and didn't feel much like eating. Gene and Anne Marie were available but not pushy - a fine line to walk for them. The inn is beautiful and comfortable and I loved being greeted every day by Sitka and Ebony. I regret that I was not able to take more advantage of Gene's cooking, but everything I did have was wonderful. Even the bowl of fruit I requested for breakfast was truly gorgeous and good for the spirit as well as the appetite. Try the buckwheat pancakes! I hope to go back someday when I can truly revel in this very special place.

Room Tip: Not a bad room to be had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Garrison Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrison Inn

Address: 2235 Ashley Lake Rd, Kalispell, MT 59901
Location: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kalispell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garrison Inn, a Montana Bed & Breakfast, is located 20 minutes from Kalispell, Montana and 2 miles before scenic Ashley Lake with Glacier International Airport close by. We offer views of Glacier National Park, the Swan Mountain Range, the valley floor and the town of Kalispell. The area is very diverse with something for everyone including hiking, sight-seeing, fishing, boating, skiing, horseback riding, golfing, hot air ballooning, white water rafting and many great restaurants. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garrison Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Garrison Inn to your Saves list