We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Big Sky

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Big Sky to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Big Sky
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Big Sky
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1330 US Hwy 2 W, Kalispell, MT 59901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Kalispell
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“One night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Although the rooms are clean and marked as no smoking the halls and the room we had was smelled strongly of smoke. It was a cool evening so we were able to keep the window open for fresh air. We thought the price was very high for the quality of the inn.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
999DianeA, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Big Sky, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Yes, we are 100% smoke free and we do our best at monitoring our guests to see that they abide by the rules. Sounds like we may have had a rule breaker during your stay and I do apologize. Unfortunately rates are high during our peak summer season; however, we boast rates under at least 3 of our closest competitors. I'm glad your rooms was clean and comfortable and I sincerely hope you stay with us during your next visit to our area. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    16
    12
    2
See reviews for
12
20
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bemidji
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent one night here. The breakfast was a bit bland and the selections were less than great. The bathroom had a red pill sitting in a small pile of dust the corner. Obviously it had been there for sometime until I mentioned it to the check-out person. I would stay there again if every place else was full.

Room Tip: I have no tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
999DianeA, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Big Sky, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We continue to upgrade and change our breakfast according to the feedback we receive from our guests. We've taken your comments to heart and have made changes and improvements accordingly. I hope you give us another chance of providing a relaxing, comfortable and clean stay that the whole family can enjoy. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Being a Choice Privileges member for 8 years, I've stayed in a lot of Choice properties. This one is overdue for an update inside and out. We happened to be there during a terrible hot spell, and the lobby, reception, and lounge area were so hot you couldn't enjoy them! Luckily the rooms had AC, so we slept comfortably. Office staff was friendly and knowledgable of the area, except the restaurant they suggested was closed for the evening! Oh well. The next morning we found the breakfast area too hot to eat in, so we took food back to our room. If they decide not to update this property, it will probably be downgraded to a Quality Inn, which is what it already looks like.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
999DianeA, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Big Sky, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
We appreciate your comments and have taken necessary measures to ensure your next visit is up to CI standards. It does get extremely hot during the summer months and with the constant traffic flow in and out the lobby area it doesn't take long for the cool air to escape. We've replaced our HVAC units which should resolve the heat issue we had during your stay. Please give us another try upon your next visit to the area and you will see that our continued efforts for our guests are working. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, Montana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a very clean hotel. Service was good. They need to update it in accordance with Choice standards though. Still using the old bedding and the uniforms were not consistent. Breakfast attendant was not wearing a uniform so it was hard to tell that she worked there. Also I was surprised that you couldn't get coffee after the breakfast shut down.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
999DianeA, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Big Sky, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We do offer 24 hour coffee and feature the latest in upgrades. In fact, our bedding package was again changed our as of January 1, 2014. I'm at a loss of why there was no coffee and our staff was out of uniform but I assure you that this has been corrected. I do hope you give us another shot of providing you with the kind of stay our guests expect and have come to know with our brand. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I guess you cannot tell a book by its cover or a hotel by its exterior. The exterior here was quite shabby. But the rooms were nice and clean too. A little pricey but then the entire area was a little rich. We did find out later that there were better values nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
999DianeA, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Big Sky, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments. Yes the building is dated; however, the interior was completely remodeled. We feature the latest updates and our guests can enjoy a clean comfortable stay which includes a full hot/cold breakfast buffet and a refreshing outdoor pool and hot tub to start and end your days activities. Thank you again and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was very disappointed when I checked into the hotel. Very old, and in dire need to updating; both rooms and lobby. C.I. shares it's location with the Black Angus Casino for some reason and the noise was a bit disturbing. The front deak help was over-whelmed or under-trained. While I was checking in 2 phone calls came into the lobby, forcing the clerk to put me on hold for check in. The room was in need ot an uplift and the price was not based accordingly given the general state of the property.

Room Tip: Ask for the back-side of the hotel, away from the Casino noise. Grond floor since the is no elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
999DianeA, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Big Sky, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry your stay was less than exceptional. Yes, our building is dating; however, the rooms and lobby has been upgraded and remodeled to reflect the most current design requirements that CI mandates. As of January 1, the new bedding package has been implemented and really improves the overall look of the room. I hope you give us another try during your next visit to beautiful Kalispell. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed one night on our way to Glasier N.P. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The adjoining restaurant is closed and is now a casino/bar. Rooms were comfortable and clean. There is no elevator, so if you can't do stairs be sure to ask for a ground level room. Breakfast was ok. Typical offerings nothing special. Price was average for the area.

Room Tip: No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
999DianeA, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Big Sky, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your business and hope you consider staying with us again upon your next visit. As of January 1st we have a new bedding package in place which has uplifted the overall look of the rooms. Come check us out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Big Sky

Address: 1330 US Hwy 2 W, Kalispell, MT 59901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Kalispell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Big Sky 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Kalispell
Kalispell Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Big Sky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.