We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Big Sky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Big Sky to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Big Sky
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1330 US Hwy 2 W, Kalispell, MT 59901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Kalispell
Blackfalds, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ok for a budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed for one night while we were in the area and found this to be an average hotel. We tried to stay here a couple of days before as well as this was a last minute trip and they was no vacancy. Once the front desk staff found out we didn't have a reservation, she didn't even attempt to be pleasant. When we came back for our last night in Kalispell we had the same lady and she was better to deal with at that point. If you're looking for a budget hotel you shouldn't be too disappointed. The bed was comfortable but seemed more like a double bed than queen size. The hotel was quiet and the rooms seemed clean. The only downfall was when we woke up in the morning there was a huge spider (probably close to 2") on one of our pillows when we flipped it over. Since the pillows had been doubled up, I think we squished it a bit but it was still alive. Price was decent for the accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Regional Manager at Comfort Inn Big Sky, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We appreciate your comments. Although we have routine and contracted services to eradicate spiders and such, we have re-doubled our efforts to help ensure this does not happen again. It is very disappointing to hear that the staff were less than friendly and this has been addressed. Thank you for your business and I hope you will consider giving us an opportunity to turn your perception around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    16
    12
    2
See reviews for
12
21
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Hotel is a little back from the road which makes it quiet. Great breakfast with hot and cold options, good variety of drinks as well. Rooms were very clean with a good area to move in. Parking is free as well. Reception was very good and helpful in giving us good directions for wherever we wanted to go.

Room Tip: If you want to get a good sleep any room would do as far enough back from the road. Don't forget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Regional Manager at Comfort Inn Big Sky, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It's nice to know that our friendly staff and clean rooms have been acknowledged and appreciated. We look forward to serving your hotel needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

After staying in somewhat spartan National Park hotels around Glacier we were delighted to find this hotel. The room and bathroom are spacious and very attractively done. The hotel has recently been refurbished and it shows. Everything is sparkling clean, the bathroom is done in granite and tile. There are even granite doorsills. Every amenity is there for you. The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is eggs, breads, yogurt, fruit, etc. It was perfectly adequate for us. We would stay there for sure if we go to Kalispell again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Regional Manager at Comfort Inn Big Sky, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate your business and look forward to a return visit from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I took a last minute trip to Glacier National Park. As a result, many of the properties in the area had no vacancies, so we chose Comfort Inn Big Sky because I generally have a good experience at choice locations.

I wasn't very impressed with this hotel. It was on the very edge of town, so far west that I was worried we may have missed it. It was the last business before driving off into the Montana countryside. This is annoying when your purpose in the area is to visit Glacier, which is 36 miles east of town. The room was okay, but exceedingly underwhelming at the tune of $160 a night. Specific points of irritation included:
1. There was no elevator.
2. "High speed" internet was anything but. My husband reported that it worked just fine at 5:30 am but barely worked throughout the rest of our stay.
3. The ac/heating unit was positioned in such a way that the desk was blocking a lot of the air from reaching the room. The high temperature for the day had been 95 degrees so the room was particularly hot and stuffy. Eventually the temperature in the room cooled down nicely, but I think a lot of that had to do with the outside temperature cooling down when the sun went down.
4. No microwave or refrigerator, despite there being an obvious spot in the entertainment center for them.
5. The queen sized bed, while comfortable, was a bit on the small side. My husband and I share a queen sized bed every day and we both noticed this.

This hotel wasn't terrible by any means--I slept like a champ, the hotel staff was friendly, and the room was spotlessly clean. With all of the minor annoyances, however, I will likely look elsewhere next time I visit Glacier. Even when looking for a room at the last second, there are other options.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Regional Manager at Comfort Inn Big Sky, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I'm happy to report that every room in the hotel is now equipped with a microwave and refrigerator. It does get hot in the valley during the summer and we service the air conditioners several times throughout the year. Although the price may have appeared high, we pride ourselves at being among the lower rates for this time of year. I sincerely hope that when you visit the area again that you consider staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were renovated and are on par with newer, more expensive hotels. This hotel is motorcycle friendly! Staff let riders use the hose and supplied towels to clean their bikes. They also let riders park under the overhang ... a very nice touch. Ride to Glacier is really nice and takes about 45 minutes. I would diffently come back again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Regional Manager at Comfort Inn Big Sky, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments - we love Bikers and make every effort in accommodating your needs. Thank you for your business and look forward to building our "Biker" clientele. Our goal is to be the "Biker" choice hotel while visiting Kalispell. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Sort of a run-down place that could be much better with a little updating. Not terrible by any means, but there are much nicer hotels in Kalispell. Typical Comfort Inn breakfast, a couple hot items, plus the usual donuts, bread, juice, etc. No elevator. Nice large bathrooms however. If you can get a deal, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here, but if your going to pay typical Kalsipell prices for rooms (especially in the summer when tourist season is at its peak) you can probably find a better option.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atoka, Tennessee, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The hotel manager was very friendly, and went out of her way to make our stay pleasant. Because of her, and her efforts, I would return to this hotel.
The hotel has only two floors, but if you are disabled, there is no elevator so request a room on the first floor.
The hotel was in serious need up updating. Carpets were faded and very worn. There was not even remotely enough seating in the breakfast area. Guests were literally standing in the lobby with plates of food. If you are concerned about hotel security, well it is lacking here. The door to the back parking lot requires a key card for access at all times NOT. The door was propped open 24/7 with a rock in order to prevent it from locking. This was also the case for the door to the pool.

Room Tip: The hotel has only two floors, but if you are disabled, there is no elevator so request a room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane A, Regional Manager at Comfort Inn Big Sky, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Security is a top priority here at the Comfort Inn in Kalispell. We heard you and have taken great strides in upping the security level. All exterior doors are functioning properly and do require a key to get in. The staff has been charged with making routine security checks to make sure guests are not propping doors open with rocks etc. We realize that this makes for easier access when bringing things to and from rooms and allows families to participate in pool activities without the problem of storing a key card to get in and out of our popular outdoor pool/spa area. We pledge to continue monitoring and staying on top of this very important security issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Big Sky

Address: 1330 US Hwy 2 W, Kalispell, MT 59901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Kalispell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Big Sky 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Kalispell
Kalispell Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Big Sky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.