We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Big Sky

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Big Sky to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Big Sky
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1330 US Hwy 2 W, Kalispell, MT 59901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Kalispell
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It's OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Outside entrances & parking lot need attention. Room was clean but had odor. Had to ask for towels 2x. The one bath towel was obviously left from the previous night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    16
    12
    2
See reviews for
13
21
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I've stayed in Choice hotels for the past 3 weeks of this approx 6 week road trip. This was the worst hotel of the lot. It had a restaurant and casino attached, but only approx. 3 handicap parking spaces for the entire property. There was no way to get to the casino or restaurant in a wheelchair (stairs, no elevator). The internet did not work at all, the waste bins in the room were full when we checked in and the room above had a floor joist (my ceiling) that squeaked loud enough off and on all night to make sleep impossible. On top of all this, the a/c didn't work. A horrible experience from a usually decent chain.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and skip this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane A, Regional Manager at Comfort Inn Big Sky, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
This certainly does sound like an unenjoyable experience and I must say it appears several items slipped through the cracks for this guest. Our rooms have been considered to be among the cleanest in the valley and we've never had complaints of noise from adjacent or above rooms. Most find the new 32" flat screen TVs and pillowtop mattresses very comfortable and I hope this guest will give us another try. The restaurant and casino appear to be a part of the hotel due to the close proximity, but unfortunately they are owned and operated by a different entity and we have no control or say with regards to their accessibility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona, USA
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Hotel prices are very high in Kalispell during the summer season but by booking well in advance and using a group discount we were able to get a decent rate at the Comfort Inn. I stayed at this hotel years ago when it was a Red Lion hotel, and it is somewhat dated, but the room we were given (2 queens) was quite spacious, a legacy of the Red Lion, no doubt. It had a small refrigerator and there were two sinks, one inside and one outside the bathroom which was convenient in the morning. We found the beds quite comfortable and with extra pillows, although for cleanliness fanatics, the sheets were not changed every day (I find people that complain about this quite amusing--do they really change their sheets at home every day?). The breakfast was more than adquate, including bacon and eggs, cereal, pastries and do it-your-self waffles (although the waffle iron had issues two of the mornings we were there. Popcorn is available in the evenings. There are laundry facilities available. The staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't eat at the restaurant or use the small swimming pool. We stay in Kalispell for 4-5 days every summer to visit my sister and we've stayed in many of the local hotels. We found this hotel a good value for the money and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling Canuck/Yank
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Check in staff flustered.... Took ages to determine whether they could accommodate us. Apparently, the computer system was not working properly. Hotel and room seemed a bit tired, compared to other Comfort Inns we've stayed at. Rate was highest in town, we subsequently learned. A bit far from anything, at the end of the strip where the other businesses were shut. Desk staff did not know area, could not answer questions... Said we could look in the phone book for restaurant recommendations (!)
Breakfast was okay with good hostess.
Next time, we would stay in Downtown Kalispell at the great historic hotel there, which we checked out while finding our own dinner spot.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

I arrived late in the day and the gentleman at the front desk was really nice. Once I got past the lobby the place looked fairly outdated. I will say it was reasonably clean, but really looked like it needed an update. I ate in the restaurant next door, and the food was good but kind of pricey. I found it a little confusing that I actually had to go outside in the cold to go into the restaurant, since the doors were right next to each other, and it looked like a door had been coverred over in between the two entrances. The lady who checked me out was also very nice. I do wish they had an express check-out. I will stay there again, as it is reasonably nice for the price and fits into the budget I am given for business travel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Check in was quite long with only one employee available to handle 5-6 people waiting to check in. The desk woman was pleasant, calm, and handled each check in individually. Noone came to assist her. The bathroom was smelly of mold, mildew,, urine? Room was livable if bathroom door stayed shut.Morning staff manager discounted the room and apologized, was very concerned over the smell. Hotel has done a lot to achieve improvement awards.Overall the hotel is fine for coming and going to Glacier. Beware of the breakfast lady, not a morning person. But the breakfast and breakfast area was very nice. Ran into a worker in Spokane,WA who stayed a lot in this hotel and was surprised about the bathroom. Stated it was the only place in Kalispell he would stay. Bathroom problem was probably a rare lapse in quality.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Was pleasantly surprised as this hotel was about my 4th choice in the area. Nice employees, clean and fairly spacious rooms. Free breakfast is basic but adequate.
Non smoking room did not smell of smoke which is a big bonus when considering the small town location. Price was in the lower middle range of the area.Located in an area of town that is currently being developed, but still only about a 10 minute drive to restaurants galore.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Big Sky

Address: 1330 US Hwy 2 W, Kalispell, MT 59901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Kalispell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Big Sky 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Kalispell
Kalispell Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Big Sky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.