We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Authentic Mexican" Say What?! Why does anyone STILL come here?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Los Caporales

Los Caporales
1600 Us Highway 93 S, Kalispell, MT 59901
(406) 752-6800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 145 Restaurants in Kalispell
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
1 review
“"Authentic Mexican" Say What?! Why does anyone STILL come here?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've been living here for a little over two years now and never had the guts to try Los Caps because of all the mixed reviews I had heard about the place. Last month I tried it and it was far from spectacular. The only thing decent about my experience was the friendly waitress. I ordered chicken mole an "authentic dish" they offered and it literally tasted like I was eating sweet BBQ sauce smothering the overcooked chicken with a side of tasteless rice and lard filled mush. I will never go visit Los Craps again. I recommend La Fiesta on Highway 2 West....it has a similar menu but ACTUAL authentic taste, good prices, and great service.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    5
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
montana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best of the mediocre mex food around”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Everything is on warming tables and put together very quickly. It is ok, best of the mex food around here but that is very faint praise.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLUMBIA FALLS
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mexican Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Not my preference of mexican food, staff was great though nothing really special about the food or the taste.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaillac-Toulza, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Close to the end ?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Nobody on a saturday night... I should have known !
Margaritas with a stange taste.
Tbone more than overcooked.
Fajitas that came straight from the microwave.
Ghost service.
Abolutely no positive points !!
It's not a bad mexican restaurant, it's one of the worst restaurant I ever been in my life.
18 years of existence they say on the menu, if they stay on this path, they never get to 20

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford BC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Glad I didn't believe the reviews.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Good thing I didn't believe them as this place was great. Good plentiful food. Fresh. GREAT service! What are people expecting? Cozumel, Cabo? It's Kalispell and this place is good.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Caporales also viewed

 

Been to Los Caporales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Caporales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.