We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed our dinner very much” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hop's Downtown Grill

Hop's Downtown Grill
121 Main St, Kalispell, MT 59901-4451 (Formerly Cafe Max)
406-755-7687
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 123 Restaurants in Kalispell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Montana's Best Burgers: American Kobe Beef, local bison, elk and yak. Small plates, steak, grilled seafood, spectacular entree salads, 100 craft beers, big wines from small wineries.
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“enjoyed our dinner very much”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We certainly enjoyed our dinner at this lovely restaurant. I think I had some of the best beef steak ever. At that time I think it was beef from a local ranch and very fresh. The rest of the meal was well prepare and original though I think somewhat unusual. Sweet potato something or other and an odd salad, but good nonetheless.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    89
    22
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Ecclectic, Rustic,Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

An unexpected surprise while in Kalispell led us to take in Hops Grill. The decor was quite rustic but the food top notch and obviously well-liked as it was busy the day we stopped in. It had a plethora of beers to choose from (over 100) but also decent selections for wine. While only a small restaurant, 10 tables, they delivered up some tasty and unusual options to try.Very knowledgeable and helpful staff assisted to make this a memorable evening. Will definitely stop again if we ever pass thru this way.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The food was great we had the shrimp appetizer, a burger, and the veggie lasagna. The appetizer was really small only 4 small shrimp for 9 dollars! It is small in there I felt like I would have enjoyed it more with a little elbow room.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tc1957
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have had such great times when we have gone here. Food, service and prices are great to us. Would go here all time, tell everyone how we have enjoyed our times here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Love the fish tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We eat at Hop's frequently. I love the fish tacos. The hamburgers are amazing as well. We have also eaten the crab cakes that are very good. This restaurant is a favorite of locals and always pretty crowded.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hop's Downtown Grill also viewed

 

Been to Hop's Downtown Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hop's Downtown Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.