We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, slow service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Genki Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Genki Restaurant
302 Main St, Kalispell, MT 59901-4848
(406) 257-8889
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 123 Restaurants in Kalispell
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Folsom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

While visiting Glacier National Park with friends, my son wanted to celebrate his 17th birthday at a Japanese Restaurant, which is limited around Kalispell/Columbia Falls/Whitefish area. We were happy to find Genki. The food and portion sizes were good, and it was reasonably priced. Everyone found something they liked. Lunch was served on ceramic, fish shaped platters. The katsu-domburi was also served this way...first time not served in a bowl.
But the service was terrible! They had 1 waitress for, I think may be 2 or 3 other tables. May be she was new, but we spent 2 1/2hrs in the restaurant for lunch. Way too long!
If you have lots of time, the food is worth the wait...but expect the service to take forever.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    2
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Excellent Japanese Food at a Reasonable Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We picked this restaurant at random after a long day on the road. We ordered a tempura combo. Superbly made with fresh ingredients. Attentive service added to our positive experience.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Food, but poor service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I saw this restaurant in the phone book and was excited to visit since it looked like a better class Asian restaurant. So after I arrived it was over 5 minutes before a waitress even came to the table to offer something to drink. No specials were mentioned, I guess it was a special on sushi that night, too bad, I would have liked to know that. If it was not for the food being pretty darn good this restaurant would be getting a poor rating. But the food was delicious; however, they over use the onions and not enough vegetables in their kung pao chicken. It took forever to get the check, the waitress never came back and asked for refills on water. I finally had to ask for my own box for the leftovers and took the check to the front. So I have mixed reviews about this place, the food is great, but the service sucks. This could be a top notch restaurant with more pleasant and expedious waitress staff. Also judging from how busy it was, more help could be helpful.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“My Japanese Friends All Warned me Away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

But I keep going back in hopes something will change. It really doesn't taste Japanese.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love this food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I really enjoy their sesame chicken.. Best in Kalispell.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Genki Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Genki Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Genki Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.