We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kalispell Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Kalispell Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Kalispell Grand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Main Street, Kalispell, MT 59901-4452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Kalispell
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Neat place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Another historic 'railroad' hotel that is clean, affordable, and unique near Glacier National Park. We enjoyed the "continental" breakfast as much or more than some of the park lodges that charged 15 bucks per person for breakfast. The beds were plush, maybe even a little soft, but comfortable and provided a good night's sleep. They DO have an elevator...small but functional. I would stay here again and recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    93
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
67
156
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel has a great historic stair case, great service and well worth the value to stay. Although you have to park out back, there is a 15 minute loading and unloading area right off the street. They provide popcorn and cookies in the afternoon and a nice continental breakfast that is unique. The room was clean and comfortable, room air conditioner kept it cool. No frills here but clean and comfortable and a great value, I will stay again in Kalispell.

Room Tip: my third floor room was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel is historic, but clean and quaint. There are several good restaurants within walking distance. The continental breakfast has more selections than most. Very affordable too. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were there this summer - 2014 - and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Clean rooms, delicious breakfast, friendly staff. Close to Glacier National Park, Conrad Mansion and Bigfork. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: A room on the main street might be noisy for some. The A/C blocked out noise for us so it was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very historic hotel, we were here on the eve of 4th of July. Very comfortable stay, they have several options for rooms we asked for their most economical which was very comfortable for the size. They offered continental breakfast - but unfortunately missed it as it only goes until 10 am, and we didn't realize. Very central location - we would have liked to stay for the following day as they had much planned for the 4th of Jul celebration.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I thought about staying in a chain property on the outskirts of town, but I'm so glad I chose this gem right in the middle of town. Pretty basic, but very clean, tidy, comfortable, friendly and well-run. Not too many great dining options in Kalispell, but we liked the Split Rock Cafe, a two-block walk from the Kalispell Grand.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed here since we were looking for a local place with some character at a good price. This is a nice historic building, but the rooms were well done with comfortable beds and a large enough bathroom. The staff on the phone and when we checked in were very polite and helpful and breakfast the next morning was good.We paid a little extra for the view rooms, and it was still less than any of the local hotels with no view.

We will be staying here next time in the Flathead Valley area.

Room Tip: Pick the view rooms at the front. There is a little more noise from traffic until the sun goes down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kalispell Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kalispell Grand Hotel

Address: 100 Main Street, Kalispell, MT 59901-4452
Location: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Kalispell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kalispell Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalispell's historic downtown hotel with bed and breakfast hospitality, close to Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake, Whitefish Mountain Ski Resort. Home baked continental breakfast, fresh baked afternoon cookies, and 24-hour coffee served in our Grand lobby. We are walking distance to great restaurants, museums, unique shops, art galleries, downtown offices, and an outstanding city park. We invite you to stay with us, it's a special experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Kalispell Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kalispell Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.