We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gili Lankanfushi Maldives

Save Saved
You added Gili Lankanfushi Maldives to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gili Lankanfushi Maldives
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Lankanfushi Island, North Male Atoll, 08290   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Last Minute Special
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Lankanfushi
Jersey City
1 review
“Amazing Honeymoon...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were there for our honeymoon for 5 days between Nov 19 - Nov 24. We were thinking about cancelling because the forecasts were saying rain everyday (for Male though, you won't find any weather forecast for the island of the resort you are thinking about booking), but went on anyways. We had two 20-30 minute showers and that's it.

Arrival:
They picked us up from the airport and we took a very comfortable ~20 minute boat trip to the resort, there we met our Mr. Friday Shifaz (kind of a personal assistant resort assigns to you) and took a golf car to our room directly. I very much liked to skip the boring check-in procedure.

Pros:
The staff is very friendly and helpful, never seen the like of it. We stayed at a Villa Suite, the room was perfect. It is twice the size of our apt in NYC. You are in a small island with only 40+ villas. So pretty much where ever you are, you feel like you own the island. The water by the villas are shallow so not very ideal for swimming or snorkeling but the beach by the restaurant is amazing, the best I have ever seen. They have a large house reef (at a reasonable distance from the beach, but you can kayak to a small island by it and park over there) and occasional snorkeling tours. They don't charge anything for kayaks or snorkeling equipment - our very helpful mr. friday Shifaz sent us them and we held onto them during our entire stay -. And the best part for me personally was being able to smoke anywhere I want, the beach, pool, porch of our room, restaurants etc.. Staff was bringing an ashtray the moment they saw me. Since its a very small resort, everyone gets to know you very quickly. They organized a dinner at the beach one night as a honeymoon gift, it was a bit dark :) but very beautiful. You travel around the island with bikes they give to you. Biking around the island was also very fun, you're riding on paths covered by trees all the time. All in all, we had a honeymoon we will never forget. It is an expensive resort but was totally worth it.

Cons:
The cons exist If you are there with a budget (we were).
Food is pricey, we usually skipped breakfast and had the lunch buffet (which was amazing) for around $40 per person and in room dining. There are no grocery stores on the island so make sure you buy a lot of snacks at a duty free or something before you arrive Male. You won't find anything after you land.

Departure: Similar to arrival, they dropped us a the airport and someone helped us with the luggage and escorted us until the passport control.

Room Tip: Villas by the main beach has direct access to the house reef from their porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainMccormack, Manager at Gili Lankanfushi Maldives, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Eren B,

Thank you so much for posting a very nice review on Gili Lankanfushi. I am happy to read that you had a memorable honeymoon with us. Thank you for the detailed experience from the time you landed to the airport until you went back again to catch your flight back home. We all look forward to welcoming you back to our little piece of paradise on your anniversary next year.

Kind regards, Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    696
    31
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
137
491
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Gili Lankanfushi can simply be described in one word "perfect". Crystal clear waters (great for snorkeling), amazingly beautiful villas, attentive staff, excellent food, what more could anyone ask for? From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave all staff members including the General Manager IAIN and your Mr. Friday make you feel special as they always address you by your name and are very welcoming. Even being a single traveller, the staff goes over and above to make you feel comfortable. The spa is delightful. If you are fortunate enough to go for a massage, you will have a full view of the water and fish through the glass that is located on the floor. The overall environment on the resort is very quiet, tranquil and relaxing. There is a lot of attention paid to detail and the customer service is outstanding. The food as well is amazing whether you dine at any of the retaurants or order Villa room service. Do yourself a favour and try the Wine Cellar for dinner. The food is delightful! I would highly recommend this resort to anyone. It surpassed all expectations I had. Thank you so much for the best vacation of my life.

Room Tip: I actually stayed in Villa #23. The sun can be seen right from the start of day with sunrise between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainMccormack, Manager at Gili Lankanfushi Maldives, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Krista,

Thank you very much for posting such a wonderful review on Gili Lankanfushi, Maldives. I am very happy to read all the "words" you used just to describe your stay in our small paradise. I have shared your comments with my team and they are happy that they surpassed your expectations. We all look forward to welcoming you back again and this time with your friends and family.

Kind regards, Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

jaw dropping from arrival to departure, running around with a constant smile on your face, never seen anyone as friendly as the entire stuff on this fantastic island.
the villas are awesome, so much love put into every little detail, luxury but still simple.
white sands turquoise water all over, no shoes for your entire stay, amazing food and beverage.
your personal mr friday taking care of everything. you want fresh coconut to your hammock on the beach ? you'll get it within minutes.
my first massage at the spa was not 100% satisfying, my mr friday immediately arranged another one the very next day which was awesome.
their policy- we don't sell a product, we sell experience.
snorkeling and windsurfing all included with no extra fee, never seen this before. very friendly staff at the diving center. all people there very communicative, making you feel home and welcome all the time.
bicycles parked outside the villa to get around on the island, diving into a tropical awesome smelling garden on your way to the restaurants, spa or the diving center.
I am from Greece and I never experienced this kind of treatment in my home country. many could learn from the Maldivians as well as the international staff on this island.
they are not responsible for the perfect climate day and night, at least 10 months a year, but they are topping this entire experience with their lovely service. thank you all, we will be back soon.

Room Tip: anyone you can get, it doesn't matter, they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainMccormack, Manager at Gili Lankanfushi Maldives, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Chistosmythos,

Thank you very much for posting an excellent review on Gili Lankanfushi on trip advisor. I am very happy to read that you had a wonderful time during your stay with us and that we managed to exceed your expectations from arrival to departure . I have shared your comments with my team and they are very happy to know about your excellent feedback on service and overall resort atmosphere. We really look forward to welcoming you back to our small paradise soon.

KInd regards, Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

If you are looking for a complete get away this is the place. We booked the resort because of trip advisor reviews and it didn't disappoint, it was all we expected and more. Service was fantastic, Shifaz our mr Friday was excellent polite and efficient. Sam the waiter always had a smile on his face and remembered our orders and special requests each day. The management were excellent and always remembered your name(s) and each day checked that you were happy and if anything else could be done. Elmer, the personal trainer was excellent, very knowlwdgable and certainly put my partner and I through our paces on our pt session! The spa staff,also amazing and very friendly. Lastly, Waheed our room attendant. Extremely efficient and always remembered any special requests, thank you for the feather duvet, pillows and the scented pillows. The only place where I would maybe say the service wasn't as slick would be in the over water bar, we didn't find the staff as friendly in there (apart from the chef) on a lunchtime and the service could be slow.

The villa ( we stayed in 28) was outstanding. It was just paradise and was exactly as it looked on the Internet. Sometimes on the internet pics for hotels and resorts then pictures can be misleading but not at gill lankanfushi. We loved the bikes, thanks Shifaz for getting me a smaller one straight away. :)

The food was again to a very high standard, expensive but all excellent and a great choice. I loved the different juices on a morning and the porridge was delicious - the bestporridge I have ever tasted! By the sea restaurant, the best sushini have ever ate, the chef came to introduce himself and the staff in the restaurant very good and knowledgable. We ordered in villa dining a couple of times which was also very nice to sit back and relax in our villa.

What more can I say, we felt compleltely relaxed for the whole break and really didnt want to go home. We are getting married next year and feel gill lankanfushi will be hard to beat for when we decide on a destination for our honeymoon. We would highly recommend to our friends and family.

Things to consider before you go......take plenty of sun cream we didn't take enough! It was so hot and the sun was very strong. I brought a couple of pairs of flip flops and heels. I didn't wear shoes the whole time I was there apart from my trainers for the gym. Don't take any shoes, you just won't need them. Be prepared before you go to spend.....the resorts expensive but the quality is excellent. Another reviewer had recommended to go half board which I would also recommend, we were b&b and didn't realise this was an option.

The most perfect stay and we hope to return in the future. Thank you to the team at gill lankanfushi.

Room Tip: Villa 28 was fantastic! Large over water area, the others on the other side of the island are not as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainMccormack, Manager at Gili Lankanfushi Maldives, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Ameliamark,

Thank you so much for posting such a wonderful review on Gili Lankanfushi. I am delighted to read that we had met your expections during your stay with us and didn't fail you on choosing our resort. I really appreciate that you point out the short fall in service at Over Water bar which has been highlighted to the concern Manager. Advance best wishes to both of you and really grateful to know that you are considering Gili Lankanfushi for your honeymoon destination next year. Thanks for recommending us to your friends and family and we really look forward to welcoming you back soon to our small paradise.

Kind regards, Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A really wonderful trip made special by the friendly and attentive staff. The water villas are peacefull and luxious and a great escape!

The Maldives are an incredible part of the world and worth a visit - an absoloute must if you are into snorkelling!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainMccormack, General Manager at Gili Lankanfushi Maldives, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Mhairi W,

Thank you very much for posting such a nice review on Gili Lankanfushi. I am delighted to hear that our hosts made your stay special and you consider our water villas as a great escape from busy life. We really look forward to welcoming you back in our small paradise again.

With kind regards, Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

From the minute you set foot on this magical island you can already feel the lovely atmophere, the beauty of the island with the lovely set up of all 45 huge water villas, amazing beach, and above all the friendliness from the employees who were unbelievably kind and helpful.
Our Mr Friday ( Hassan Shifaz) was wonderfull and so efficient. The service level is unparalleled to any other places we have visited before, with maybe an exception being " La Gazelle d'Or " in Taroudant , Southern Morocco).

Gili have 280 staff members, taking care of the guests of only 45 villas - amazing numbers. Doesn't matter which staff member you run into they'll be happy to help with anything you need with a big smile.

The Food is exceptional, every day a different style, with twice a week two different fantastic buffet evening : one huge buffet with more western oriented cuisine every Friday, one long and large Asian buffet every Tuesday, with active cooking taking place in front of you according to your wishes, with an amazing variation of frest products ready to be cooked, with the local fish being the absolute stars...

The German chef, Stefan, is amazing and creative, beside being a charming person , and his team efficient and friendly.

In a nutshell this is heaven with peaceful water villas each offering 210 square meters of space plus a large sundeck with total privacy, movie jungle nights, amazing sunsets, snorkling and diving paradise - amazing reef and last but not least great organisation.

The Spa center, also over the water, is beautifully done, the treatments done by an extremely efficient and charming staff, although the prices for treatments are exagerated. This would be our only critcism, as well the prices of the wine list !

We were devastated to leave, and after 7 days we had the feeling of leaving already behind us a familiar and very friendly place, with staff being the best and the nicest !

We do hope to come back next year , but this time for a longer period, 10 days being a minimum in such a paradise...

Congratulations the the Resort Manger, Alexander Blair , for the way he is running that exceptional resort.

B & B

Room Tip: All villas great. The Robinson Crusoe villas are reachable only by boat. The normal water villa are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainMccormack, General Manager at Gili Lankanfushi Maldives, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Brucelamarche,

Thank you so much for posting an excellent review about your experience at Gili Lankanfushi on Tripadvisor. I'm happy to read that you really enjoyed the food and the buffet during your stay which exceed your expectation. I have shared your comments with Alec, Chef Stefan and Hassan Shifaz and they are very happy to read your feedback as well. We all look forward to welcoming you back with a longer period of stay with us next year.

Kind regards, Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have never visited the Maldives before and were keen to see whether it could meet our expectations and It did. Gili is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the finer things, including not having to wear shoes for 9 days!

Despite the disappointing weather, we were delighted with the accomodation, the service and the food the resort had to offer. The Villa's are extremely private, with air conditioning in the bedrooms, a music system throughout and a library of music and movies provided tailored to your request. The bathrooms are really spectacular, with views from the bath directly over the ocean, open air showers and there is a nice touch of a private sea garden, which you enter down some steps directly from the bathroom.

We had a wonderful Mr. Friday (Musto) who provided us with everything we needed. He greeted us at breakfast and dinner everyday, to see if everything was as it should be and provided us with lots of information about the resort and the Maldives in general. We had wonderful service in the restaurant from Farahaun (Fari) our waiter, Prasana the restaurant Manager and Rohan the Sommelier. They were a delight and always keen to provide anything we required.

Special mention to Ibrahaim, who serviced our room everyday, he didn't miss anything and even started to notice the smallest of things in how he prepared the room, morning and night.

The resort has a great spa, a very high class Fusion restaurant that serves Michelin star quality food and a very well equipped gym. Gili is also very resourceful, with its own vegetable garden and very obvious enviromental policy, which is a real credit to the Management team.In house dining is also a great touch with a wide menu to choose from. We would suggest you book half-board as the cost of food on a room only basis is pretty expensive and with only two restaurants to choose from, your best to have breakfast and dinner included.

A very relaxing stay that matched anything we've experienced before anywhere in the world and would most certainly recommend Gili to anyone wishing for understated luxury.

Room Tip: Go for Pier 2 and for Villas 17 - 24
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainMccormack, General Manager at Gili Lankanfushi Maldives, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Mark,

Thank you very much for posting such a nice review about your recent stay at Gili Lankanfushi. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us. I have shared your comments with Ibrahim and the rest of the team and they are very happy to read your comments. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in our small paradise.

Kind regards, Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gili Lankanfushi Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gili Lankanfushi Maldives

Address: Lankanfushi Island, North Male Atoll, 08290
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Lankanfushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Lankanfushi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gili Lankanfushi Maldives 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gili Lankanfushi Maldives is a short 20 minute boat ride from Male, the capital of the Maldives. It is a tiny coral island in a sparkling lagoon, with jetties threading across the water out to spacious villas. The forty four stilted villas plus the vast Private Reserve are crafted in a traditional style from natural materials and offer rooftop and over-water sundecks, featuring open air bathrooms, sumptuous daybeds and a personal entertainment center. For ultimate privacy, we have seven Crusoe Residences that are only accessible by personal boat. Come ashore for some great dining and equally great wines or perhaps a romantic moonlit dinner delivered right to the villa. The possibilities are endless.The interior decoration has been devised to recreate a natural habitat, using sustainable woods, natural materials and traditional fabrics, whilst still offering all the modern day amenities and creature comforts of true luxury. At Gili Lankanfushi, Maldives we are very sensitive to the environment. The utmost care has been taken in developing the island with respect to its ecological balance. The Maldives is a paradise for snorkeling and diving and the resort has its own fully equipped PADI diving school plus a variety of water sports. This place tops the list of must-do destinations for those seeking the aquatic paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your Gili Lankanfushi Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gili Lankanfushi Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.