We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical and Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Timber Wolf Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hungry Horse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Timber Wolf Resort
Save
You added Timber Wolf Resort to your Saves list
9105 Highway 2 East, P.O. Box 190250, Hungry Horse, MT 59919   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Economical and Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This place was recommended to us by a friend, and I'm really glad we decided on it. We needed an economical vacation, so we decided to stay in a Pioneer Cabin with no electricity for 3 nights (Sun-Tues). It was clean, well built, and had two double bunk beds, one twin bed, a shelf, coat hooks and a dustpan/broom in a well wooded, hilly area near the 'back woods' of the property, well away from Hwy.2. The Shower building was also clean and well kept.

The facility accommodates a wide variety of needs, such as an RV, Tenting, group cabin section, and more secluded cabins.

The new management seemed a little wary when we arrived, but they were plenty nice enough and very professional. I am guessing that they have had a bit of trouble with loud party customers. However, when we were there, it catered to families, and the odd single traveler. Their quiet time starts at 10pm.

I really recommend this location for families, or tenting couples looking for a quaint spot that is tucked in between the Glacier Park and a number of towns full of activities in the Flatlands area.

My only concern was the lack of a safety rail on the top bunk. We brought along an extra thin blanket to cover the thin plastic cover that protects the mattress.

On our way home, we all discussed the good time we had here in our basic accommodation, and started planning for our next trip.

Room Tip: In Spring/Fall, you may want to upgrade to a cabin with electricity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your review of Timber Wolf Resort. Everyone has been very helpful in giving suggestions on ways we can make Timber Wolf Resort even better. We have been taking all of those suggestions to heart because we want to continue to make this a place you and your family will come visit time and time again.
- We were asked us to upgrade the TVs in the B&B rooms, and we installed new flat screen TVs at the start of the 2012 season.
- Better mattresses were requested, so we are in the process of replacing all mattresses in the B&B rooms and cabins.
- Our guests asked for fans in the cabins, so we have put fans in each cabin.
- Screen doors on the cabins were recommended, so we are busy installing new screen doors on all of our cabins.
- Some folks suggested better lighting, so we are placing solar lights along some of the paths.
- Curtains were requested in the cabins, so we hung curtains in all of our cabins.
- Safety rails on all of the top bunks. We currently offer three cabins with safety rails on the top bunks and we try to place families with children in those cabins first. We are looking into adding safety rails in more of our cabins before next season.

In addition we have also converted the office into a fully stocked mercantile with an inviting coffee shop and free internet that doubles as a warming hut in the winter offering a nice cozy fire for our guests after a day of snowmobiling or cross country skiing in the Flathead National Forest that boarders our property.

While we know that it is impossible to please everyone all of the time, we try very hard to make everyone’s experience at Timber Wolf Resort fun and relaxing. We want to be part of your memorable vacation to beautiful Glacier National Park and all that the Flathead Valley has to offer year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    15
    3
    6
    2
See reviews for
32
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed 5 nights here while visiting Glacier National Park.Feels like you are in the woods not in a private campground. The park is well maintained. Bathrooms are immaculate, be prepared to wait if you shower in the AM,they fill up fast! We had a pioneer cabin,it was just as advertised.We didn't mind the plastic cover{ever sleep in a KOA cabin?],the mattress was luxurious.All in all we loved this little cabin and had a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Margaret, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Timber Wolf Resort. Your family was a joy to have with us and we hope to have you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We happened on this wonderful gem during a seat-of-our-pants road trip. We tent camped the first night, and the site was great. The campground has beautiful scenery and the bathrooms and showers were spotlessly taken care of. Plus, it's only minutes from the entrance to Glacier.

We loved Glacier, and our stay at Timber Wolf Resort so much that we stayed a second night, this time in a cabin. The cabin is four walls, and beds with brand new mattresses. It was super affordable (even for a young couple on a limited budget), and we were grateful to be in a cabin when a HUGE thunderstorm passed through that night.

The nearby towns are awesome, with great live music, and friendly people. The hosts were kind, generous, and eager to share tips about the surrounding area. Plus, they have a great camp store with all kinds of treats and essentials.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hi Emily,
Thank you for the review. We really value our customers and it means a lot to hear that your stay was enjoyable. We take pride in our little piece of natural Montana and it’s nice when others appreciate it as much as we do. It has been fun meeting new people, like yourselves, and learning about other places that we may try to find time to visit someday. We hope to see you back again in the future.
Phil & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The campground is nice. The RV spots are very narrow. Tenting sites looked nice. Cabin was nice except for the plastic sheet on bed. We booked by phone in the morning for a camp spot plus a cabin for us and some friends we were travelling with. We arrived around 8pm. There is nobody in the office at that hour, they leave around 6pm according to the lady who booked our reservation. We needed firewood, and got some from the back of office, intending to pay for it in the morning. We went in to also adjust our bill that we felt was overcharged by approximately $10. The owner came out to discuss with us, but was quite defensive and not easy to talk to. We were finally handed a $10 bill and we left. It was very awkward and I felt like he thought I was ripping him off. Due to quite a bit of confusion trying to sort, we forgot about the wood. A few hours later I got a call from him. He was furious and threatening to call the sheriff on me or instead he'd just charge my c.c. for $10 more. !!! I tried to explain it was not intentional etc.. but he kept going. THEN I started in on how their office hours are so poor, with nobody being there -- how are we supposed to get wood, for a fire, since we are camping afterall -- !!! We then either lost cell service ( I was on the road) or he hung up! Too bad, I'd have gone back there until that happened.

Room Tip: tenting sites are nice and further from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Trippy-Mama, It is unfortunate that you and your friends did not have a good experience at TWR. We work very hard to make everyone’s stay an enjoyable one. I want to address each of the points that you wrote in your review.
You wrote that our RV spots are very narrow and I’m sorry you feel that way but we have had hundreds of RV guests this summer with units up to 40’ long and we have heard nothing but positive feedback. When you asked for the refund you didn’t state anything about the space being too narrow for your truck camper, you stated you wanted the refund because your friends didn’t want to stay in the RV slip you reserved. This was actually a violation of our policy since they ended up camping in an undesignated spot on our property. As for the refund we gave you, we have published policies (both online and on your invoice/reservation) about cancellations within 7 days of arrival. When you book and arrive on the same day, you are of course responsible for the full amount of the reservation even if you didn’t want your friends camping in the RV spot they reserved. To have given even $10 back to you was generous on our part and there was not an overcharge on your bill.
You stated you did not like the plastic sheets on the bed. The plastic is there to protect you and our mattresses. In our Ranger cabins (the cabin style you booked) and Mountaineer cabins, we cover each mattress with a mattress pad to keep our guests from sleeping against the plastic, then sheets and a quilt.
You stated that you arrived around 8 pm and it is published on the map we provided you, and that is also posted outside the office, that our hours are from 8 am – 6 pm. That being said, we usually stay open much later if we can. In addition our cell phone numbers are published outside the office for our guests to be able to reach us after hours. At no time did you or anyone from your party attempt to call us.
As for the firewood, it is never appropriate to help yourself to anyone’s merchandise no matter what your intensions. Failure to pay for the wood you took was clearly theft. There are several stores near TWR that sell firewood, one is open until 11 pm and the other is open 24 hours/day. There were options available to you or you could have simply called us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We rented a cabin here for 2 nights while visiting Glacier National Park. The resort is about a 5-10 minute drive from the entrance to Glacier. The couple who now own the place are very kind and helpful. Our cabin was very clean, and (more importantly perhaps) the bathroom and shower were immaculate, not an easy feat for a campground in the middle of the mountain woods.

If you are staying in a cabin, you can rent linens from the front desk. I rented two sheets, a blanket and two pillows and it was $14. Also, they have firewood available for purchase at the front desk, so don't worry about bringing your own.

Overall, we thought we got a very good value. If I am ever in the area again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Mr. Buckeye,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with TWR. We enjoyed having you as a guest and hope to see you back again in the future. We work very hard to keep the resort clean and inviting and we take great pride in our facility.
Phil & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We've had the pleasure of staying at Timber Wolf Resort many times and continue to go back every year. Even when the park is pretty full it doesn't feel like it. There's plenty of space and the cabins are a great. Wonderful way to "camp." Short drive to GNP.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Hello KAF310,
Phil and I are happy your stay was a good one and that you are a return customer. We hope to see you back time and time again. We are planning to keep some of the cabins and the B&B rooms open all winter so if you are into snow, come check us out this winter. We are looking into partnering with some of the local businesses for snowmobile rentals and cross country ski rentals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Timberwolf Resort has something for everyone. A Bed & breakfast, there levels of cabins, RV Park to tent camping. Quite and secluded with good spacing to give privacy yet close enough for multiple parties to still be close. Excellent service!. I will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Hi J.R.

Thanks for the nice words. We really enjoyed having you as our guest and we are still eating on that huckleberry cobbler! We hope to see you again and again up our way. Maybe we can talk you and Karen into a winter vacation someday.

Phil & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Timber Wolf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Wolf Resort

Address: 9105 Highway 2 East, P.O. Box 190250, Hungry Horse, MT 59919
Location: United States > Montana > Hungry Horse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Hungry Horse
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timber Wolf Resort is a family owned and operated authentic facility on 17.6 wooded acres just nine miles from the West entrance of North America’s crown jewel, Glacier National Park. Timber Wolf Resort proudly presents several year-round lodging and recreational options for visitors to the Flathead Valley and Glacier National Park. We have lodging for most every taste from Bed & Breakfast rooms with breakfast delivered to your room each morning to cabins and tent camping. We also have RV spaces with either full hookups or electric only. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Timber Wolf Hotel Hungry Horse
Timber Wolf Resort Hungry Horse, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timber Wolf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.