We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Any port in a storm...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Helena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Helena to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Helena
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2150 11th Avenue, Helena, MT 59601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Helena
Edmonton, Alberta
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Any port in a storm...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

After a long 13 hour day on the road, we were looking for a quiet place with a clean bed. That's about all you get here.
As noted by another reviewer, the carpets in the hallways are all bubbled and quite filthy. Although the room carpet looked better, we didn't take any chances, and kept our socks on all night!

The girl at the check in was outside smoking when we arrived, and seemed quite put out that she had to butt out to come inside and check us in. Then when I came back down to get some restaurant recommendations from her, I had to first find her (in the breakfast lounge watching TV), then tear her away from whatever she was watching. The best she could come up with was Pizza Hut.

Having stayed at numerous Marriott Courtyards and most recently a Spring Hill Suites (see review for Medford, Oregon) we were about to swear loyalty to Marriott. But as I now understand the brand strategy, Fairfield is supposed to be the low end of the product line. Mission accomplished!
Bare bones, no frills, is okay.
But dirty is another thing altogether.

I doubt that I will stay in another Fairfield property, if this is what I can expect.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    22
    12
    7
See reviews for
26
23
7
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

Before we even got to our room, I noticed the dirty carpeting in the elevator and in the halls. Not a good first impression for guests. Also, the hall carpeting was "bubbled" in some places which would seem to be a tripping hazard to me. Definitely needed replacing. When we got to the room, it got worse. The carpeting looked filthy with large stains on it. The rest of the room "seemed" clean enough, but if what we could see was that dirty, how could we believe what we couldn't see was clean.

The TV, internet access, and shower were fine. Towels were skimpy and the breakfast was o.k., though pretty basic.

All in all, I couldn't wait to get out of there. Filthy carpeting doesn't make a person feel good about an accommodation. Can't believe this is a Marriott facility and maintained like this.

  • Liked — Internet access
  • Disliked — Filthy stained carpeting
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, VA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

This place was pretty much the norm for Fairfield type hotels. Rooms were in good shape, plenty of space for the two of us. There was a pool, and hot tub. One downside, was only one washing machine/dryer. We were looking to wash clothes mid-trip, and while the machines worked fine, I would have expected at least a couple for the size of the hotel. Breakfast was nothing fancy, standard cereal, breads, muffins, etc. Price was not bad either though. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2006

We decided to stay in Helena instead of Butte at the last minute and were glad that we changed towns and were able to get a room at the Fairfield for a reasonable price. My first choice is always a Marriott property, and this Fairfield was typical for the brand. The staff member who made the reservation over the phone was very helpful. The location was close to the interstate, shopping, and dining options (although the dining options left a lot to be desired) and not far from the main attractions of the town such as the State Capitol building, downtown area, and mountain recreational area. The only disappointment was the breakfast. There was little variety and the room was packed so getting to the food required more effort than the spread deserved. Other than the breakfast offerings, we had no complaints and would stay here again based on location, price, and familiarity with product.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

This hotel is a great deal as always. We were upgraded to a suite without even asking. The rooms were large, spacious and clean. The breakfast buffet was great. The staff was very courteous and we enjoyed our stay. I have never had a bad experience with Marriott.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, OR
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2004

The Super 8 put us up here in July after they screwed up a reservation. The room was around $90 and was no different than the rooms we stayed in for half that price. The continental breakfast was average - muffins, toast, doughnuts. It was clean and we heard no noise from the rooms around us or above us - just the people running back and forth in the hall and slamming room doors from the second we got into the room until after midnight. If we stay in Helena again, we'll try a different hotel. We were glad we weren't paying for the room for what we got, I guess we expected more out of a Marriott owned hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2003

I have stayed at the Fairfield Inn a few times on business trips over the past year. The staff has always been courteous and helpful. I recommend the Executive King rooms with mini-frig and microwave: very comfortable with a king bed and couch. The hotel is small, clean and quiet. Indoor pool is a nice touch although too short to really do laps in. There's an exercise room next to the pool. Free breakfast buffet adjacent to the lobby was a nice touch. Good location close to the airport with a few restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Helena

Address: 2150 11th Avenue, Helena, MT 59601
Location: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Helena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Helena Hotel Helena
Fairfield Helena
Helena Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Helena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.