We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Helena to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Helena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 N Last Chance Gulch, Helena, MT 59601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Helena
Redmond, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in early January. Great location downtown, reasonable price, rooms were clean and beds were fine. We liked the different pillow options and the view (7th floor). Best part of the stay was the staff. Friendly, efficient and helpful at the front desk and friendly and laid back at the restaurant. Breakfast food was good, dinner was just average, but the waitstaff was cheerful and happy to accommodate us in bringing a taste of the soup for us to sample and fixing drinks to custom order. Will definitely stay here again when we return to Helena in April. For a good dinner, go across the street to the Mediterranean Grill.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
priestlakepie,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others! We greatly appreciate hearing feed back from our guest, it helps us improve our customer service. We want you and the next guest who walk in our doors to feel at home and have a memorable experience "this is something we strive to succeed in".
Great recommendation for the Mediterranean Grill too "one of my personal favorites"! Thank you once again and safe travels to you and yours!

Joshua L. Rodrigues
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
16
26
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Neskowin, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Had a family reunion there. My sister stopped by with her dog to say hello charged me $60 for not my dogs and not staying there. Manager very very rude. Place is something out of the 80s. Don't stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
allaboutbbq,

We have policies in place to help better serve all of our guests. I completely understand how you feel about your stay and the charges for the pets, even though they were not yours. Unfortunately the pets still entered the room and that is why the charges were applied. We have our pet policy in place because of the deep cleaning involved after each pet departs, so the room is just as comfortable for the next guest(s) as it was for the previous guest(s). I hope this has helped shed a little more light on why the charges were applied and I wish you and your family the very best of travels this New Year.

Joshua L. Rodrigues
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I chose this for the location just around the corner from the business I came to conduct, and they allowed me to bring my large dog. We were charmed by what should have been a cookie-cutter corporate hotel, and stayed the night after my conference because we were just that comfortable. There's a small balcony for fresh air, overlooking the walking mall and old downtown charm. A good restaurant and bar downstairs, and room service. The staff was friendly and accomodating, and the rooms were scrupulously clean. The furnishings are modern, the bed is great, the technology and services made us comfortable and capable. Normally these trips are something to endure, and the hotel just the place to sleep. This felt like a litle mini-getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason W, Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Juliane144,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are extremely fortunate to have such an incredible group of dedicated & caring staff members here in beautiful Downtown Helena. Everything you have shared is exactly what we all work so hard to accomplish everyday. So thank you SO much for your wonderful gift of appreciation, it will be shared with everyone. Anytime you feel like another mini-getaway, we would love to be the place that exceeds your expectations once again. Until then, safe travels and Happy Holidays to and yours!

Jason Wood
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Room was very nice. The bed was quite comfortable. There was a sitting chair with foot stool. The room had a small balcony that you could step out on. I think one of the nicest things about the room was the a/c. It was quite and the cool air was routed such that I was not directly in the path of the cold air. For you TV channel surfers, there was about twice as many channels as what you usually get in a hotel room. The only downside to the room was the the bathroom. It was very small. If there are two of you getting ready in the morning, you will have to take turns. The shower head is very low making it hard to get under.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Bill D,

It sounds like your stay was very comfortable and warming! That's always nice to hear for sure and we hope to see you again one day. I apologize for the bathroom size and the shower level, upgrading our shower heads is going to be part of our future renovation plans. On behalf of everyone here at the Holiday Inn and the Quarry Bar, Thank You so much for your patronage and sharing your experience with others!


Joshua L. Rodrigues
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Rooms were nice, clean and comfortable; we had a good view. Front desk staff chick was cool, nice and helpful, the bartender in the Quarry was kind of an a$$, claimed he learned how to make a Caesar from a fat Hawaiian in Waikiki, they weren’t very good. Cody, for bkfast, well he was entertaining to say the least, but never did get my coffee and H2o that I ordered.
Good location for the walking mall, to bad there was NO ONE OUT on a very nice Saturday night…not much night life in Helena but we had a ball anyway and this was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Stomp13,


Thank you for sharing your stay with others! I will be sure to let both Ali and Cody know that you enjoyed their company also. I already discussed your issues in the restaurant with our food and beverage manager and he is addressing those issues. Thank you once again and until next time safe travels to you and yours!


Joshua L. Rodrigues
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Thus far in our stay, they've allowed us to check in early and to use their private copier. They've been nothing but helpful, offering restaurant recommendations, sightseeing tips, and local insights on the Helena nightlife scene. Love the location-- the hotel fits into the downtown, thinly disguised as a hotel in the exciting, contemporary Last Chance Gulch area. Pleased with our room; thrilled with this friendly staff's amazing service. Great location and will stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Jeff W,

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Please feel free to let us know during your next stay if there is anything else we can do to make your stay even better than before and we will do our very best to meet that request. After all when you or anyone else stay with us, this is your home away from home and we want everyone to feel as comfortable as they do in their own home. "That is our goal"

Thank you Jeff for sharing your great experience with all of us! Until next time safe travels!


Joshua L. Rodrigues
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I usually stay in Helena on the freeway, as a perfect break point on drives from Calgary to Utah, but this time decided to stay downtown, as I and my friends usually like to walk around the beautiful historic areas and find an interesting restaurant, perhaps with some libations. The location was perfect, and we had a great meal at the nearby Mediterranean Grill. The hotel is typical of a somewhat older inner city property, but reasonably attractrive inside and out. Breakfast was good, although the restaurant space was small and unexciting. The room and bed were good. I was happy to see the central AC, but, unfortunately, all the AC exhaust units were on a rooftop right outside the window. We had a good, quiet night. Although this is right downtown, there is very little traffic or noise. It was a good thing the guests were quiet, because I did notice that the walls were thin. Overall, I thought this was an excellent choice and would defininitely recomemnd it.

Room Tip: Avoid room right beside the first floor roof AC exhaust units
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hikermeister,
Thank you for sharing what sounds like a great experience other than the AC units for our restaurant. I completely agree with your recommendation, 3rd floor and up is the best way to go! Special request are always accepted and we will do everything we can to fulfill that request.
As noted in many of our previous reviews "Location" we have it and any one of the reservations agents are more than willing to give recommendations for dining. Thank you again for your insight and we look forward to seeing you again one day!

Joshua L. Rodrigues
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helena

Address: 22 N Last Chance Gulch, Helena, MT 59601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Helena 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helena Hotel Helena
Park Plaza Helena
Park Plaza Hotel Helena
Helena Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Helena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.