We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Is Not a Nice Place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn Express

Save Saved
You added Budget Inn Express to your Saves list
Budget Inn Express
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budget Inn Express
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   524 Last Chance Gulch, Helena, MT 59601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 22 hotels in Helena
Whitefish, Montana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This Is Not a Nice Place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The rates are cheap but so is the facility. Rooms used to be smoking rooms and still stink like an ashtray. Doors have big spaces at the bottom, big enough for mice to get in. Many rooms are rented monthly by locals so be prepared to deal with barking dogs, everybody smoking outside their rooms and family arguments every night.

Room Tip: Do not get a room that is next to weekly or monthly rented rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
1
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012 via mobile

I drove for ten hours and just needed something clean & quiet, clean sure, quiet forget it. The woman in charge just doesn't get it.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan, Montana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Beds were very clean and extremely comfortable!! If you are used to fancy chains and newer accommodations don't stay here. If, however, you are looking for a good deal and don't mind putting up with older fixtures, carpets and buildings, this is the place for you. Downtown and lots of people wandering around and hanging out in the parks nearby, but this is Montana! Everyone very friendly, even the bums, and felt safe and had no problems with the managers, locals or other residents. Surprisingly quiet. Good hot water and water pressure. Good TV reception. Tiny microwave, had to watch the popcorn closely. Huge fridge for a hotel room! Used actual keys to get into room, which was very handy as I just put it on my car key ring for the trip. This is an older place so do not expect a really nice room, but what is important is there: good beds & bedding, good hot water, safe area, quiet rooms, micro/fridge and cable TV, Easier to get to area of town we needed to than the hotels up by the mall. Lots of stuff to walk around and see. Will stay here next year too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

My friend and I stayed here for a night. There were no vacancy's anywhere else in town because of a teachers conference. When we got to the front desk the guy was extremely rude! We got to our room and found that the bathroom was dirty and half of the lights in the room did not work. The door only had one lock and when we were bringing our bags into the room there were several guys standing outside smoking that put off a very vibe.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, MT
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

Nice people, clean room, low price for area, when you paid for business travel yourself it matters.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

I made a reservation to stay at the Budget Inn Express in Helena about 10 days in advance. I canceled it a couple of days later due to a death in the family. I was charged anyway. When I called to correct the error I was told that I did not cancel the reservation. When I said that I had the record of the call time and duration of the cancellation on my cell phone I was told, "that's what everone says."

You don't ever get a reservation or a cancellation number. Fortunately I was begrudingly told that they would credit my credit card (remains to be seen), but that they would never let me stay there in the future.

Be careful about giving this lady your credit card number, because based on the "that's what everyone says" statement it seems that others may have had a similar experience. It could be that she genuinely does not remember our conversation and/or her computer is not working the way she thinks it is. If you decide to stay there, you might think about paying with cash. I am hoping it is a good place and good people with poor memories and lousy computer skills.

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Disliked — Customer Service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

The Budget Inn Express is exactly as its name implies - a budget Inn motel. Although this facility is older and requires some renovation, it was an excellent choice for location and price. The motel is located in the "old" downtown area - a good location to many tourist sites. The price was right! Less than $50. Our room was clean but showed aging and wear and tear. The receptionist was extremely friendly. This is not a 1st class motel but for one night is was a perfect choice for our short stay in Helena.

  • Liked — Price and Location
  • Disliked — Older and required some upgrading
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Budget Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn Express

Address: 524 Last Chance Gulch, Helena, MT 59601
Location: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 22 hotels in Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn Express 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Budget Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Express Hotel Helena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.