We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful remodel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Colonial Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Colonial Hotel to your Saves list
Red Lion Colonial Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2301 Colonial Drive, Helena, MT 59601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Helena
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful remodel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have stayed at this Hotel often over the past 20 years. Hotel was showing it's age. However, the remodel is complete in the common areas and it is beautiful. The lobby and bar area are open and inviting. People meeting new people, making new friends. The staff were pleasant and willing to go the extra mile. Hotel restaurant has breakfast buffet which was great. Food was fresh and tasted good. Service there was friendly and efficient.
Truly looking forward to my next visit there and will recommend it to anyone traveling to the area.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    31
    22
    9
    6
See reviews for
19
16
6
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Spruce Grove, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First impression was WOW! It looks fantastic inside. I actually booked my reservation on the wrong day but I called expedia & they fixed me up. We had to pay $40 more because of the price difference. At first I was upset until I seen how amazing everything was & now think it was worth the extra money! The front girl was very nice and quick getting us sorted out. The room was amazingly clean. Pillows & bed were SO comfy!! The pool & hot tub was great. The fitness room was great too! We loved everything about this hotel. The wifi was free, the cable had lots of channels lol We will stay at this hotel again for sure!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great staff, upgrade me to premium awesome, quiet, clean loved it, coffee in room, hair blower, restaurant and casino and non smoking, will be back, close off i15 and close to shopping and eating places

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a conference. We had a large suite type room with a couch and 2 TV's. Unfortunately, the couch was angled in a way so that you could not see the large flat screen TV, and there was only 1 chair in front of the TV. Weird. But there was also a TV in front of the bed, although much smaller, we used that one. The room was nice and large. The new bar downstairs in the lobby is wonderful! Beautiful! Fireplace, great drinks with bowls of snacks. Wonderful comfy bed, nice bath products.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sky, Montana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here during a conference and it was a great location. The rooms were nicely appointed and clean; you can tell the hotel has been doing some renovations and they are great! The lobby/atrium area was very nice. I did slip down to the 'cafe' for breakfast one morning; that wasn't much to write home about a very limited menu with OK food but it fit the bill. The next morning I had a mocha from their coffee shop - very good and reasonably priced for specialty coffee a little disappointing that they don't take credit cards or can't charge to your room. The food at the conference was very good for putting out food for over 400 people; could have just used a few more servers pushing it out to make it go faster(those poor servers were running their tails off!) Kudos to the hotel for pulling off a good conference.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Red Lion Colonial Inn is a nice place to stay. It looks like the public entrance has been recently remodeled and it looks very nice. The bed and room were very comfortable. The free wi-fi worked well and was appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

I am the treasurer of a large nonprofit organization located in Helena. I travel to Helena on a
monthly basis (sometimes twice a month). The Red Lion Colonial Inn is the only hotel I stay at.
They usually put me in a king suite at a very reasonable rate. The front desk folks are great and
very efficient. The lounge has just been remodeled and is a state of the arts (five star) lounge.
The restaurant and buffet area are currently under remodel and that will be very nice when complete.

Room Tip: Request a king suite--very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Colonial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Colonial Hotel

Address: 2301 Colonial Drive, Helena, MT 59601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Colonial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conference Hotel located 2 miles east of city center & 3 miles from airport (courtesy transfer). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lion Colonial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Helena
Helena Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Colonial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.