We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of No Sweat Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No Sweat Cafe
427 N Last Chance Gulch, Helena, MT 59601-5015
406-442-6954
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 138 Restaurants in Helena
Restaurant details
AbuneThemA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I am told that the food at the No Sweat Cafe is hearty and delicious; unfortunately, I did not get the chance to try it as I finally ran out of patience with the place. I had been warned the service was slow, but I was in no hurry. I was by myself and had a good book to occupy me. . . . however, after waiting 45 minutes for a simple breakfast dish, I grew weary of sipping on the so-so coffee and trudged out. While I waited, I saw the wait staff berate another customer for quietly using his cell phone; he also left. Give this place a miss.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    1
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

After asking several different people around town while we were dining elsewhere what the best place in town for breakfast was this restaurant name consistently came up. They all said the same thing, it is small and you will probably have to wait for a table and for your food once you order but it is worth it - they were right. Everything was fresh, it appears to be a 2 person show, one cook and one waitress. The atmosphere is calm and the food was fresh and had a great taste. It was like you were sitting at home in the kitchen waiting for mom to cook breakfast. We just relaxed and enjoyed our coffee while we waited. And their NO CELL PHONE rule - made the dining experience even more enjoyable.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Had lunch here and loved it! I had brown rice with veggie and hubby had veggie enchiladas. Delicious and flavorful. Clean funky place and no tolerance for cell phone conversation.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“yeah but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

I'll start with, I read the other reviews.
Do you have to wait on your food; Yes - largely due to the fact that they don't prep a lot of stuff. I've often seen them run back to make more hash browns or stand there and grate more cheese, cut more onions, unwrap another avocado, etc. All this to give the sensitive types the same really fresh food as those that love to come and mingle and chat to others that don't mind waiting for fresh food.
Do you wait for seating; Yes - but not always. You have to know when the rushes start. For the No Sweat it could be almost any time as the locals know where to go for food that is better than any Chain Breakfast joints and many Mom and Pop or Good Buddy restaurants. Always fresh, always prepared by cooks that care about what you eat. That's what you get at the No Sweat.
Oh and the service - Everyone is treated pretty much the same. The staff, young but ripening old souls are personable, cordial, and like the rest of the local clientele, don't suffer the rudeness of cellphone use while dining well at all. And God forbid you come in with your firearm. As for the sensitive types, well, you just can't please everyone.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great local joint.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Wonderful place with fresh food you just can't get elsewhere in town. Sure you have to wait, so read your paper or book, drink coffee and relax. When the food comes you will enjoy it more.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No Sweat Cafe also viewed

 

Been to No Sweat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No Sweat Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.