We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grub Steak Cocktal Lounge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Grub Steak Cocktal Lounge
1450 W Lincoln Rd, Helena, Mt 59602, Helena, MT
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 132 restaurants in Helena
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Natick, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food, good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were on our way to Gates of the Mountains and needed a place for lunch that wasn't too far off of the interstate. We like to stay away from the chain restaurants if possible. This place was recommended to us by a retired Montana State Trooper, and we were not disappointed. We got a very friendly greeting when we entered and were served reasonably quickly considering they had a large gathering in back. The food was comfort food that was tasty. It is one of those places where you need to cut your hamburger in half because it is rather large. Our entire bill for a hamburger, a chicken sandwich, two soft drinks, and tip was $22.

As of this writing, the place has and is undergoing a renovation. However it is still open with only the entrance remaining to finish. The inside is nice with new furnishings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    7
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrific Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was Terrific anyway you can say it, food, service, clean, wonderful, loved it,very reasonable.
I would go back on every visit to Helena, Montana

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

the place was full but not packed. The staff was very pleasant but they were understaffed. It took a very long time between each stage of the process ordering, getting food, getting the check, paying, etc. The salad was dry. The vegetables tasted like they haad been thawed from frozen. The ribeye was small and over 1/3 of it was inedible. The vegetables were not warm. The bread was also not fresh or warm. The restaurant itself is poorly lit with a medium sized bar and a bunch of gambling machines. Definitely not worth the drive or the price.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Trying to find a reasonably priced good restaurant for dinner in Helena is not easy. We came across the reviews of Grub Steak and decided to give it a try rather than one of the local chain restaurants. This place is filled with "locals" but everyone is welcomed with a warm smile. Service is quick and friendly and the food is quite good. I had a steak that was better than a $50 steak I had in Las Vegas in a well known restaurant. The Broasted Chicken was a nice surprise as well. Give it a try and you will not be sorry.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad, Montana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Food was awsome. Service was great. Atmosphere was very nice for a family. Portions for food wad very generous.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grub Steak Cocktal Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Grub Steak Cocktal Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grub Steak Cocktal Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.