We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   835 Great Northern Blvd, Helena, MT 59601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Helena
Joliet, Montana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice, but could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

This is a nice hotel, but I was disappointed with the fitness room (more like a closet) and the breakfast. I've had much better breakfast selection at other (less expensive) hotels, although the Best Western is nice because it's newer. The fitness room was hardly even a room with 1 treadmill that was out of order, 1 elliptical, and 1 weight machine. The best part about the hotel was how clean it was and the extra large bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    84
    15
    2
    5
See reviews for
123
86
17
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for just one night but I would gladly go back again. The room was clean and decorated in beautiful dark wood furnishings with old train paintings etc. Our room was in the round part of the hotel facing the front. The room was really spacious and comfy. The desk clerk was polite and helpful and upon request told us about the restaurant. We ate there and had a great meal. A very nice hotel. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

This hotel experience was the worst experience I have had in years!
1. The hotel staff erroneously accused my room of having a dog barking and threatened our room availability on multiple nights. The dog was not even in the room!
2. All key cards were deactivated on the second night.
3. The pool was filthy!
4. Continental Breakfast was not stocked.
5. Promise for manager to contact on specific day and they did not until the following day.
6. Staff blamed us (as patrons) for each of these issues... no apology was received.
This hotel seems convenient to downtown, but the town is small enough to find a cheaper, better hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls Montana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

This was my second stay at the Great Northern and again I was not disappointed. The hotel sits in the center of downtown. You can enjoy what I hear is a Wonderful meal nextdoor at a steak house, have a beer and an awesome burger (now this I do know first hand) at the Brew house, or even take in a ride on the merry-go-round :) The Hotel is clean, and I have no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Montana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

I visited the Best Western for a business conference. I would highly recommend this hotel and would visit again. It is fairly new with modern decor so you feel like you're in someplace special. The location is great...downtown Helena close to eating and entertainment. I didn't have too much interation with the staff, but what I did they were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vannes
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
398 helpful votes 398 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

2 nights during our vacation, between Yellowstone and glacier. We allow us 2 days out of hiking...
I reserve a suite but in fact it was a very large room and so we have to take another room for our daughter...I don't understand this new "mode" to give the name of suite to an extralarge room...For me a suite is 2 rooms and stop...
The rooms are clean, large and the bathroom to.Swimming pool is of good size. WiFi is in all the hotel and there is a business room. Breakfast is correct. The adjacent restaurant is over reputed...(bad service, meal correct, pretentious dessert...).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

Nice new hotel, but its kind in the middle of a mall or complex of some sort. Parking is a walk away and not right in front of the hotel. Felt a little concerned about the security of the vehicle. Its a new hotel, which is nice. Rooms were roomy and nice, beds were comfy. They charge a premium price though.

The hotel is located in the middle of town, with no direct route from the highway; you kind of have to pick your way around some side streets to find the place.

I'd go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel

Address: 835 Great Northern Blvd, Helena, MT 59601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Helena
#1 Family Hotel in Helena
#1 Business Hotel in Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Great Northern Town Center area of the historic downtown Helena. Near restaurants, retail shops, Great Northern Carousel & Ice Cream Company, movie theater Exploration Works Museum. Full service convention center for your important business and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helena
Helena Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.