We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop from Glacier National Park to Yellowstone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   835 Great Northern Blvd, Helena, MT 59601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Helena
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Nice stop from Glacier National Park to Yellowstone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed overnight here to break our trip from GNP to YNP. The location is very quiet and there are restaurants around. The service at the hotel is great and their breakfast which came with our room was very substantial. They have great bacon, the best bacon I've had in the US. Lean and tasty. We wish we could bring home some.

My nieces used the indoor pool and they provided plenty of towels. The room was good sized too even with four people.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana406, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Excellent! So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - Helena is a PERFECT stop between the two parks! We are proud of our breakfast and we use Montana meats as well as fresh cut fruit from the local grocery store. Enjoy your Montana experience! Thank you, Marti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    84
    15
    2
    5
See reviews for
123
86
17
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Welcome by the front desk staff was refreshing, room was clean and comfortable, restaurant was a delight (great food, decor and service). We discovered the Best Western Premier on line and, looking for an upscale hotel, decided to give it a try. First time at this hotel but, it will not be the last.

Room Tip: Considering the quality of the hotel and the extras, this is by far the best value at this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana406, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments! Just the stay we want every guest to experience. We celebrated our 10th anniversary this week and could not be more proud of the staff and the property - our success is owed to great guests like you. We hope to see you again soon. Marti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Montana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We recently completed a second stay at the Great Northern. Our first stay was in February when a family member was inducted into the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame. We were so impressed with the hotel and staff during our first stay, we knew a trip to Helena would include a stay here.
The front desk clerk recommended a great, nearby place for dinner. We strolled on the plaza outside the restaurant, enjoying ice cream at the Carousel, and soaking up a little sunshine before going back to our room. Our room was spacious and comfortable. We will definitely stay at the Great Northern anytime we're in Helena.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana406, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
A night in downtown Helena is relaxing, refreshing....we will spoil you for anything else! Colors are in full bloom and you can't help smiling in the Great Northern Town Center! We welcome you to our hotel and hope you will find yet another reason to return! Thank you for your kind words and hurry back! Marti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
565 reviews 565 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 203 cities Reviews in 203 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This Best Western is the most upscale and comfortable of all the Best Westerns we have stayed in. An upscale suite combined with nice amenities made this a great stay and a great value. Steve at the front desk printed off movie times and gave us restaurant recommendations as well. The hotel is in walking distance from shops, dining, and a movie theater. If you go to Helena you must stay here.

Room Tip: Choose the more upscale room choice. We had a beautiful suite that was clean and comfortable. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana406, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind remarks! We are proud to be celebrating our 10th anniversary this week! We continue to reinvest in the property and credit our staff and great customers! Hope you enjoyed our Big Sky state!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed two nights. Used on time and convenient airport shuttle. Rooms and beds were excellent. Easy walk to nearby college and downtown area. Good choices at free breakfast bar and very nice lobby sitting for visiting friends and family. Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana406, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Good morning and thank you for your wonderful comments! Our downtown location offers the amenities that todays travelers are seeking - Helena is a wonderful, friendly community and we hope you see you on a return visit!

Marti, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel was comfortable, convenient to both state offices, and an easy (3/4 mile perhaps) walk to the Gulch. Free wifi and a breakfast bar were pluses, with other options nearby. The airport shuttle was convenient, and drivers were great, even coming in on the late side on a Sunday.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana406, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your great comments - our staff is delighted you enjoyed your stay - and we hope to see you again in the future! Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments - your business is greatly appreciated!

Marti Bara, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This Best Western in very nice looking and is located in a decent location for walking to a few restaurants. They have a decent work out room with a few work out machines. The breakfast is quite nice as well, with options from scrambled eggs to yogurt to waffles and cereal.
The rooms have huge bathrooms with more counter space than you could ever use. Beds are comfortable, rooms are spacious and include a mini fridge and microwave.
My only issue was the whining noise produced by the mini fridge, and there was no way to unplug it or turn it off. The room was also set at a specific temperature and I needed to have maintenance come in order to turn off the heat and allow the room to be cooled using the A/C settings on the wall (initially the front desk staff informed me I could adjust the temp via the wall unit, but having already waited a few hours with no change the maintenance person confirmed the cool water pipes were not turned on).
I would definitely stay here again in hopes I was in a room with a quiet fridge and A/C that worked properly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana406, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate that you gave us an opportunity to resolve your air issue. Our goal is to address any unexpected issue immediately. We look forward to your return visit and providing you with excellent customer service! Marti Bara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel

Address: 835 Great Northern Blvd, Helena, MT 59601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Helena
#1 Romantic Hotel in Helena
#1 Business Hotel in Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Great Northern Town Center area of the historic downtown Helena. Near restaurants, retail shops, Great Northern Carousel & Ice Cream Company, movie theater Exploration Works Museum. Full service convention center for your important business and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helena
Helena Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.