We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet, fairly clean, and service was hit or miss” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Helena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Helena to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Helena
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3170 N Sanders Street, Helena, MT 59602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Helena
Billings, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“quiet, fairly clean, and service was hit or miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

I had an extended stay at this hotel, and the front desk staff was either extremely helpful or extremely incompetent, depending on the shift. One day I tried entering my room only to find that the previous front desk shift had placed someone else in it. Upon realizing the mistake, the next shift was apologetic and upgraded me to a better room.
Aside from that, my stay at this hotel was mostly comfortable... the rooms are large and very quiet. However, during my 10-day visit, housekeeping did not vacuum my floor, wipe down my bathroom counter, clean my bathroom floor, or wipe off the desk in the room even once. I am a fairly clean person, so this was not a huge deal. But it was obvious to me that these areas were in need of attention and one would expect housekeeping to do a quick clean of the room each day on an extended stay such as mine. However, I have found in recent travels that cleanliness seems to be an issue more and more at any hotel.
Finally, the fitness room at the Holiday Inn Express was great - and exactly as shown in the picture on their website.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    29
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
40
27
8
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pampa, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Bottom line is the hotel is brand new and the service was top notch. I am planning a return trip to Helena and will be staying here again! The breakfast is really good, I have seen better hotel breakfast bars, but it is very rare.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon,SK Canada
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
579 helpful votes 579 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

This place was BRAND SPANKING NEW. In fact we were the 1st ones to have ever stayed in our room. You could still smell the new in the air.

I paid $129 AAA rate for a room with 2 queens and a hide a bed. There was also a mini bar with fridge microwave. The bathroom was a good size too. The beds were very comfy and linnes were good, even though we wound up having to make up the sofa bed ourselves.

This is not your average holliday inn express. It was stunning in the lobby. There was a huge breakfast room, but we never ate breakfast. They said there were plenty of hot items on it.

The indoor pool was a bit on the cool side but the kids still went in. The hot tub was fabulous.

This place is very close to costco and the air port. There were a few places near by to eat, Hardees fast food an Applebys pretty much right behind it. It was also close to some shopping places. Whole Sale Sports (like Cabelas) was right across the street.

This would be my 1st and only choice in Helena. Check out the photos. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
589 reviews 589 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 219 cities Reviews in 219 cities
535 helpful votes 535 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

The new Holiday Inn Express in Helena is a great place to stay. Everything is new, fresh, clean, and attractive! Our room felt spacious with its kingsize bed, upholstered chair and ottoman, flat panel TV, desk and chair. The bathroom also had plenty of space. Even the hallways were wide with attractive carpeting and great lighting. Of course, the hotel has all of the amenities that are standard to HIE.

The business center has two PCs and printers in a room off the lobby on the front of the hotel with a nice window to let in lots of light. Entrance is admitted with a room key, and it felt very safe. Of course, the PCs are new and function well.

The same can be said of the fitness center -- new, functional, and safe.

The complimentary breakfast has plenty of choices -- both hot and cold items. The warm cinnamon rolls are irrestible! The breakfast area is clean, light, and well-attended.

We definitely recommend this Holiday Inn Express for a visit to Montana's capitol city!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, CO
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I was pleased to discover this new HIE when I stayed in Helena. It is a brand new property and it has many features one would expect to find in full service hotels. The lobby is huge, with a large business center adjacent to the front desk. There is a touch screen wide screen computer monitor near the front desk with interactive options like news headlines and airport flight info available instantly. The rooms are large and well appointed. There are many restaurants nearby, and Buffalo Wild WIngs is literally located next to the parking lot. The only drawback was the price. Rack rates run around $139 a night. But if you don't mind spending a bit more, this may be the finest hotel in town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I was interested to see what such a new hotel would be like, and it was a very nice experience. Check-in was quick and reservation made on-line was there. The rate I had requested was not available because of some fine print, so we did pay quite a bit more than we had been expecting. We had a room at the end of the hall, so no guest room on one side of us, and never heard the neighbors on the other side (if there were any). Actually we did see lots of vehicles and people, but never heard anybody else from inside our room - no doors closing, hallway conversations, or anything.
The adjacent big box stores were handy, and a couple of restaurants right on the doorstep meant that after a long day of driving, we didn't have to drive some more for dinner.
The breakfast offerings were plentiful and the staff even offered take-out containers if we wanted some more for later. We did n't try the pool, etc. so can't offer any comment.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Brand new hotel. Very clean. Friendly and very helpful front desk attendant. Excellent hot breakfast with omelets, sausage, pancakes, cinnamon rolls, bagels, etc. Pool and hot tub area great as well.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Helena

Address: 3170 N Sanders Street, Helena, MT 59602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Helena
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helena
#7 Business Hotel in Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Helena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Helena Hotel Helena
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Helena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Helena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.