We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Across the street from a sewage plant” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Helena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Helena to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Helena
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3180 North Washington Street, Helena, MT 59602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Helena
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Across the street from a sewage plant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Let me start this off by saying.... I do not typically write poor reviews.
Yes, this is a beautiful hotel with friendly staff BUT it is across the street from a sewage treatment facility. It typically did not smell in the hotel itself, but the smell did wake my husband and myself in the wee hours. I really can't believe they would build such a nice hotel next to a sewage plant. Ugh.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula R, General Manager at Comfort Suites Helena, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
I apologize for the issue you had with the plant . The city had some issues with the plant in the first 2 weeks of August but that is not the norm and also has been rectified to the point that it is not even noticeable now. We appreciate the feedback
Thank you for your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    26
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
55
45
5
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We looked at Tripadvisor in order to find a okay rated hotel in Helena, Montana. Comfort Suites got good reviews so we wanted to try this hotel. We are so happy for that. Don't hesitate to book this hotel.

Location:
It is in the vicinity of the airport and therefore outside the city center. For us it looked like the best way to get there is by car. The hotel is located next to a modern gas station and across the road there are several eating places and a few shops.

Service:
The staff is extremely service minded and paid attention to our needs. Cleaning staff and others greeted us and we felt that there is a genuine interest for us as guests at the Comfort Suites. The service was great.

Rooms:
The rooms were fabulous. Very modern, spacious and clean. In this case we would be so bold to claim that the rooms are better live than the pictures. In most cases it is opposite, but not here. The room had fridge, microwave, in house safe and a big tv. The aircondition system was not noisy and the really marvelous thing was the bed. The bedding felt luxurious and the bed gave great sleep quality.

The breakfast was good and had a good selection of items. We also tested the fitness room. We found that great to. It had complimentary fruit and water. The training machines were modern and we could watch tv while training. There was good and well working air condition in the fitness room so we felt comfortable. We did not test the spa and pool area.

The Comfort Suites Helena has plenty of complimentary parking places.

We are very, very satisfied with our stay and this hotel felt like a five star hotel!

We truly recommend the Comfort Suites!!! Great hotel with great service and rooms! Book it!

Room Tip: Ask if you can get a room not facing the parking space because then you get a very nice view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula R, General Manager at Comfort Suites Helena, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
We want to be everybody's hotel , domestic and international. We are very happy that your stay went way beyond your expectations. We will continue to strive for the best.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel was so far beyond our expectations. My sister and I were travelling with 5 children and everyone was thrilled with our stay. The staff was helpful and friendly. The rooms are unbelievably clean. The swimming pool is not only extremely clean but the temperature of it was perfect - this is huge when dealing with a 2 year old. Lots of nice lounge chairs around the pool.The continental breakfast was also great - such a variety and soooo good. The kids loved it and so did the adults. The manager was very personable - greeting each guest at breakfast. Great Value for the price. Highly Recommend This Hotel - will definitely stay there again if we are in the area!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula R, General Manager at Comfort Suites Helena, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
We are extremely greatful that we could make your family and children happy and comfortable. Come back and stay with us again.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Thank you!!!, after a long drive we arrived to a very friendly check in, the room was clean and very comfortable! In the morning the Manager came over and asked us how our stay was going, and was super friendly, but what impressed me the most was when he noticed a couple of ladies entering the breakfast area in PJ's and bare feet and quietly asked them to return to the breakfast room with something on their feet! It just made me so comfortable to know the he must pay close attention to the cleaniness of his hotel and the health of his guests! I would highly recommend this hotel over all other in the area!!! Top marks from me on this one!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula R, General Manager at Comfort Suites Helena, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
your stay is first and foremost on the top of our mind. That is why we ARE the COMFORT Suites of helena. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

A beautiful property. Quite new. Superbly modern rooms. Super clean everywhere in the hotel (lobby, halls, pool, rooms, breakfast area). Two computers with free internet access in the lobby area plus wifi with good signal. Professional staff. Excellent rates for what you get.

Very minor cons: breakfast ends a little earlier than most hotels (9am instead of 9:30 or 10). Also, the elevator is very slow. Finally, the interior hot tub is much too hot to enjoy (but the pool at least is at a very comfortable temperature).

Albertsons supermarket nearby, Costco practically across the street. Restaurants within a short driving distance. Hotel is very close to Helena regional airport.

I would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Nicer view and arguably a bit quieter if facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula R, General Manager at Comfort Suites Helena, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for such a fine review. We have taken care of the elevator based on federal and state standards and jacuzzi temps have been decreased several degrees . Thank you for the imput
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Top Contributor
553 reviews 553 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Across the road from a Costco & a 10 minute drive to Helena CBD & state capitol. Jeff & his team are helpful, cheerful & this newish property is one of the best we have ever experienced sub usd100 per nt double occupancy. Clean! all areas CLEAN! Well appointed rooms, comfortable King bed, flatscreen 40" TV. swimming pool for those 90 f degree days. WiFi is quick & powerful. Self serve breakfast bar is a bonus: high sugar salty low fibre fare unless one sticks to the banana, apple, plain oatmeal sachet. Told they put out fresh cookies at 5pm on the 24-7 tea / coffee station, but we never 'connected'. #1 in Helena Hotel/Motels for a reason. It IS that good. our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula R, General Manager at Comfort Suites Helena, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review .All of the staff have worked very hard to reach number 1 in Helena, and we are working even harder to to stay #1. Our staff is sincerely concerned about you having the best stay possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is a relatively new hotel, with all of the amenities that one would expect, and it doesn't disappoint. Considering the quality and what we've paid at other hotels for much less, the price was very reasonable. We enjoyed it so much that we extended an additional day. The pool was very clean and refreshing, and the little convenience store a short walk across the parking lot was great for a snack.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula R, General Manager at Comfort Suites Helena, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We pride ourselves on offering great value for a great product. Please come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Helena

Address: 3180 North Washington Street, Helena, MT 59602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Helena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than two miles from the Helena Regional Airport, the Comfort Suites hotel of Helena, MT is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping and retail stores. Helena’s newest hotel, Comfort Suites is also 3.5 miles from downtown Helena and the Montana Historical Society Museum. Other attractions close to this Montana hotel include: •Gates of the Mountains •Great Northern Carousel •Grandstreet Theatre •Holter Museum •Original Governor’s Mansion •Spokane Bar Sapphire Mine. You’ll enjoy the indoor heated pool, hot tub and exercise room at this Helena hotel. Other amenities include: •Free hot breakfast •Free high-speed wireless Internet •Free Airport shuttle service •Free local calls All rooms are nicely appointed with a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, 42-inch flat screen TVs, iron, ironing board, sofa sleeper, and pillow-top mattresses. Business travelers will appreciate the business center with access to copy and fax services as well as 900 square feet of meeting space. This is a non-smoking hotel. Free ample truck and bus parking is available. Designed for business and leisure travelers, the Comfort Suites hotel of Helena will exceed your expectation when visiting this area of Montana. Make a reservation today and enjoy all we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Suites Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Helena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.