We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW - great place, rooms, pool, outdoor BBQ and firepit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Helena

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Helena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Helena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 East Custer Avenue, Helena, MT 59602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 22 hotels in Helena
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“WOW - great place, rooms, pool, outdoor BBQ and firepit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Had a business meeting in Helena and Kids were out on spring break so they came with. Hotel was nice, had all we needed and the kitchen area was a great add. However, was a bit small for 2 adults and three children. They do not have rollaway beds so we were all a bit cramped. The most energetic person we met was the great lady providing the breakfast - Wow, friendly, energetic and wonderful person. Night desk staff seemed more interested in watching TV in the main area or hiding in the office. Really seemed put off that I asked questions, needed a towel, etc. The location is a bit far from town, but easy to get where you wanted. Would definately recommend and may come back again someday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    20
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
26
6
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at this hotel for a second time. Because of tripadvisor policy I had to wait 90 days to leave review (from my December Visit). Which I disagree with as I travel often and places I really like (Like this Hotel) I go back to on my 2nd and 3rd iterations with business. Anyway, back to the hotel. Just like my other review there was no change in personal, expectations and quality of stay. I enjoyed the exercise room more and the pool and jacuzzi this trip compared to the last. The internet is good, the meals at night are and added bonus along with the free breakfast. I highly recommend this place in Helena and will always come back! Special shout out to Ashely who was very observant and prompt with my wake up calls! Thanks for reading and a video on youtube channel.

RetiredArmyRANGER

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butte, Montana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Though our stray was brief, I cannot say enough about this gorgeous hotel. Thoughtful touches abound, from locally-sourced artwork in the hallways and guest rooms, to one of the most welcoming lobbies I've seen in Montana. The hotel was clearly designed for the long-term-stay business traveler, but was equally appreciated by our party, staying just 1 night. The room is cozy, warm, tastefully designed, and feels much more like an apartment than a hotel room. The Paul Mitchell hair care products were a nice touch in the bath. Our only disappointment - noisy neighbors (not the hotels' fault!) and no ear plugs available from the front desk (we forgot ours!).
This is my new favorite Helena hotel, and I would recommend it to anyone! Great value at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It is a cookie cutter residence Inn, but it is clean, new and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. The two downsides are 1) location. there is nothing within walking distance so you will either need to use the shuttle or have a car to do/eat anything. On the bright side it is very close to the airport! 2) It can be noisy. there appear to be a number of 'early morning' contractors staying at this property so as early as 3/4 AM the water is running and doors are opening/closing.
The staff is great. they make you feel at home. coffee is available 24/7 and there are light snacks/dinner as well as breakfast each day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent 10 days at this Residence Inn. It was the first time we had visited the area and also the first time we had reserved a family suite. It was great! Friendly staff and beautiful location. Only nice things to say about this hotel.

Room Tip: This type of hotel attracts families with small children. To avoid the pitter patter of little feet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent the night at the Helena Residence Inn just before Christmas this year. We brought our 23 month old and 7 week old daughters. The room was wonderful! The television swung around to face tv or bed and having a full small kitchen was very helpful (we had milk with us etc). Very comfortable for all of us. Pool is excellent, the toddler area was perfect for our daughter to splash around and play. Lobby has a nice assortment of building blocks/crayons/games so that kids can be entertained. Breakfast was excellent as well - good variety of food and they brought crayons and paper out for our daughter - which meant we got to drink our coffee in peace. I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: It is a fairly new hotel - all the rooms are probably nice. We had a king suite -- perfect for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed 5 nights at this hotel and the stay was flawless. From the first evening of check in with Ashley at the front desk. To the nightly wake up call requests, christie, during my entire trip, night shift. The staff executed flawlessly and I wanted to recognize the few names I came across. This hotel staff is the best I have seen all year. I travel over 40% a year, so I have some experience here. Stephanie, the day manager?, settled an issue for two of our team employees. The issue was availability and room rate for a return trip in February. Stephanie was able to make changes and keep our team together for our return trip. Other great employees of this hotel were the housekeeping and breakfast staff, didn't get their names. Lastly, THe owner of the establishment walked the dining area one evening during the Social and explained her mission to us was simple in our conversation. "Clean and friendliest Hotel" in Helena. After hearing that, and my recent stay, I will say "Mission Accomplished". The hotel and grounds are newer, hotel built around 2 years ago, and everything worked well. It was quiet and I got great sleep. Can't say enough good things, and wouldn't even try to stay somewhere else. NO Contest. Thanks for reading and a video on the YouTube channel.


Pros:

- Staff, Staff, Staff

- Location, Location, Location
- Everything!



Cons:

- I couldn't find any!


RetiredArmyRANGER

Marriott Platinum Rewards Member

Room Tip: Stay near the stairs and top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Helena

Address: 2500 East Custer Avenue, Helena, MT 59602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Helena
#2 Family Hotel in Helena
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Helena 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of the Helena Regional Airport, the Residence Inn by Marriott is the place in Helena where out of town guests will feel at home. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. Our lobby is "comfortably upscale" and is the place to sit around the fireplace, play games with the family, or watch an event on the big screen television. This is where we also serve our complimentary hot breakfast buffet daily and the evening social Monday-Thursday nights which is a light meal with beer and wine. Guests can stretch out and unwind in the 4,300 sq. ft. Indoor Aquatic Center, at the Fitness Facility, or the Outdoor Deck which has a BBQ grill for guest use. Spacious suites with stunning mountain views offer a fully equipped kitchen, living room, master bedroom, and bath. We'll make sure you thrive during your stay at the Helena Residence Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Regatta Hotels, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Helena Hotel Helena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Helena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.