We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucca's

Lucca's
56 N Last Chance Gulch, Helena, MT 59601-4122
406-457-8311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 138 Restaurants in Helena
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Sherwood Park, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a high end restaurant, with quality food and service. We stopped in Helena on our drive home to Canada, checked for restaurants on Trip Advisor, and decided on Lucca's. Judging by the full restaurant, this was a good choice. For those complaining about the prices, you get what you pay for. Our server (Becca) was polite, informative, and on top of our requests. Food was very tasty, including the fresh breads and salad. Excellent wine selection. We will now make this a stopping point on our yearly trips down south!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    24
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the finest Italian Restaurant I have seen ..!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Most of the people who visit Helena are tourists if they are not on official business. I happened to come across this place by sheer recommendations from friends in the office while I was traveling on business to Helena, Montana. This is a upper class sit-in restaurant that needs prior reservation and open only from Wednesdays thru Saturdays. If you are lucky, you might still get a seat or two after 9 PM, but not more. The owner himself invites you and offers seating that is pretty comfortable.

On Wednesdays, they have the weekly half-rate specials on wine. Select wines are half-price the bottle and that is a superb starting deal. The food items are specialized items and the menu is only a page with a few appetizers and less than a dozen entres and daily special dessert. Each of their dishes is prepared with caution to ultimate perfection and the presentation as well as the taste are just fantastic. My favorite appetizer with wine always has been the artichoke dip with crackers. What I like best in this place is the unique salad that the chef creates that you do not find anywhere else and their awesome bread/spread combination that accompanies every meal. They prepare two home-made dips/spreads that comes with Italian bread and that is a good company for the wine.

If you happen to visit Helena one of the days to come and you plan on doing hiking up the Mount Helena, once you come down the mountain tired and exhausted, this would be the best place to eat a big dinner, but wait I forgot to tell you, they expect you to be formal at this place even if they do not say it. You will see almost everyone who walks in to this place has dressed formally, so my advise is to go dressed formal and not alone ..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I love dining out. We save our dining dollars for independent restaurants, not the "chain" places. Our meal at Lucca's a couple weeks ago was absolutely wonderful from beginning to end. We had made reservations and were warmly greeted at the door, seated quickly and served well! The salad, the fresh bread from Park Ave. bakery, the suggested wine "on special" and our entrees were all so good. Anyone who complains about the prices at Lucca's is not thinking about the effort that has gone into preparing the meals or perhaps is expecting a "chain" style experience. Come to Lucca's when you want a fantastic and well prepared meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The food here was amazing. The waitress was very friendly and the atmosphere was very nice. We found this restaurant on Trip Adviser and this was a great choice. Thanks again Trip Adviser.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We aren't necessarily Italian food clients, but we're referred here by our innkeepers. Wow, we're they right. The wine suggestion was perfect, the mussels were delicious, the bread crusty and good, the salad fresh, the dressing just light and tasty, the steak done to perfection. Friendly and knowledgeable staff, what more can be said? Not just for pasta lovers, this is simply a great restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucca's also viewed

 

Been to Lucca's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucca's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.