We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucca's

Lucca's
56 N Last Chance Gulch, Helena, MT 59601-4122
406-457-8311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 121 Restaurants in Helena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We aren't necessarily Italian food clients, but we're referred here by our innkeepers. Wow, we're they right. The wine suggestion was perfect, the mussels were delicious, the bread crusty and good, the salad fresh, the dressing just light and tasty, the steak done to perfection. Friendly and knowledgeable staff, what more can be said? Not just for pasta lovers, this is simply a great restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    24
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Overrated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This place is bad. Our server didn't even crumb our table; one of the other reviewers mentioned that their server did so but with her hand which would have been unacceptable at any restaurant I ever worked at. That's the kind of thing you see in a diner. I also agree that no table cloth doesn't make sense when you charge these types of prices. I expected white linens. The couple who commented that all they got was a "happy anniversary" as they exited are not alone; same thing happened to a friend on her birthday. The food is not good. And is certainly NOT Italian. The gnocchi is bad. They can't even cook polenta properly and I doubt they are using real Polenta which is from the Po River valley in Italy. And the host was a jerk---real attitude on that one. Even if the food is good...why are people okay with spending hundreds of dollars on a meal in Helena? I lived in Manhattan while in high school and college and can go to a two star restaurant there and spend less money and get amazing food. Don't waste your time or hard earned money. Italian food is so simple you'd be better off attempting to make a dish at home.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fstout, Owner at Lucca's, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Jan F,
Thanks for taking time to review the restaurant. I must, however, question the intentions of such a review, and its tone. Since you're local and obviously understand the local market, you understand that we are near the top of the fine-dining price point, but not the top. With that in mind, can you think of any restaurants that crumb their tables? Our staff are trained to use a napkin, but based on an earlier review, that policy has been reviewed. I purposely have not used table linens other than on holidays. This was done to intentionally remove some of the stuffiness and formality that comes along with it, and to better fit the Helena market.
As for our food, all of our dishes are made from scratch and if not directly interpreted from a traditional dish, are based on one. Our gnocchi has had great reviews, and no our polenta is not imported from the Po Valley, just like the majority of Italians and Italian restaurants, but is made from ground corn meal. In full disclosure, our New York Steak is not from New York.
Again, our price point is in line with Helena restaurants. Should fine dining be cheaper in Helena in larger markets? I would be interested in hearing more about these Manhattan restaurants as I visit there often and have not experienced a great meal at a cheaper price.
Our guest are important to us, and a simple comment of displeasure to any one of our staff would have resulted in the entire staff striving to rectify any complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“An Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Perhaps we weren't expecting much, but we were very pleasantly surprised, and our party of three each enjoyed an excellent meal, with very professional and friendly service.
An outstanding wine suggestion by the manager (or owner?) of a superb Italian Super-Tuscan at a remarkably low price ($39) put us in a good frame of mind early on.
Nice atmosphere on a Friday night, and we all thought it was good value for the money.
It's interesting to read the reviews of others who didn't care for the place. We would certainly go back if we were in Helena again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Waste of money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Went there to celebrate our 1 year anniversary... My husband got the lamb that was 75% fat with just a small amount of meat. I got a pasta dish with very inexpensive chopped up ham which also had huge chunks of fat attached to the pieces of meat. The server, knowing it was our anniversary, merely said "Happy Anniversary" as we left... Otherwise, the special date was ignored. Our water glasses were empty at times.... which is very annoying, especially when there was only 1 other group in the entire establishment. Will never go back. $100+ wasted.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The menu choices were unique and the food tasty. The service was friendly as most places in the city.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lucca's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucca's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.