We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Christmas stay 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1345 First Street, Havre, MT 59501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Havre
Havre Montana, United States
1 review
“Great Christmas stay 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Awsome neat clean hotel. Great staff. Good location eats across the street, fuel next door., close to downtown and supermarket. We have used the RV park there which is good also . I was amazed that this location has been upgraded so well. We have stayed there several time dating back to when it was first built.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you Stephen M for spending your Christmas with us! It is so wonderful to hear your heartfelt comments. We are 15 years old and have been implementing many updates over the past couple of years and it is pleasing to hear your wonderful thoughts. I would also like to thank you for your continued patronage as it is our hopes that you will be back to visit us soon. Becky Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    64
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
34
57
9
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Great Western Plus in Havre Montana. We stayed there from Monday through Thursday inclusive on a business trip. We had a very pleasant experience. Our room was large and comfortable. There were several amenities, Including a micro-wave, refrigerator, cable TV and a fast internet connection. Staff were friendly and helpful. There's a small casino in the hotel, and an indoor pool and hot tub. Our only criticism is that some of the equipment in the exercise room need small repairs. Overall, we had a pleasant stay and plan to stay there again on our next trip to Havre.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
TedS~ We would like to thank you for your business. Your comments are heartwarming and we appreciate your feedback. We hope your travels will bring you back our way soon. Happy New Year to you and your family! Becky Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I had business in Havre and this hotel was very close. Got a room on the upper floor. The room was a double queen, was good size. Beds were big and comfortable. Had big pillows, four for each bed. There is a small casino on one end of the bulding if you are into gambling. The warm breakfast was nice to. Only negative was they did not have an express check out. I had to go to the front desk to get a receipt. If you have a appointment in the morning, having to take extra time to check out at the front desk is wasted time.

Room Tip: Add time to check out in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
242TonyC. Thank you so very much for sharing your kind and helpful comments. We wish you the best in the New Year and hope to see you soon. Becky Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosetown, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My husband and I along with friends stayed at the Best Western in Havre at the beginning of October 2013 and were more than happy with the stay. The hotel itself as well as the room were clean as was the swimming area. The staff were all friendly. We enjoyed watching the train yard and were amazed that there was no train noise. We would recommend this to friends and family. We will stay here again if we are ever in Havre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

It’s not called the Great Northern Inn for nothing! Great Northern, a name of an old railroad that once pasted through Havre is located behind the hotel. It’s operated by BNSF Railway. The Havre locomotive terminal is behind the hotel. For those who have interest, ask for a high floor room on the back of the building. For those not as interested, don't worry; there is not any railroad noise to be heard, no horns, no shifting of freight cars around. The main tracks are in the distance. The closer tracks to the building are used to store locomotives while not in use. It made my stay in the area very enjoyable. The hotel is very nice, located in the center of town with ample parking. Elevators and a free hot breakfast buffet make this hotel a cut above others in the area. There are nearby restaurants such as the Duck Inn, but I had a pizza delivered, it came quick and was very good (the hotel recommended Pro-Pizza). There is also a convenient store next door where you can buy other food.

The rooms are very nice, clean and very up to date. Almost feels like a new hotel. Everything worked as designed. I would stay here again, and recommend the property to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear RailFan Motels~ I am so very glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Yes, our hotel was actually purchased from BNSF and guests can also view the Locomotive turn table. I love all the History you had posted, Havre has a lot of history here and I am glad you were able to enjoy a portion of it. It’s so very nice to hear from guests that have this passion. I hope you were able to visit our local Rail Road Museum while you were here in town. It is my hopes that you come and visit again so I may have an opportunity to visit with you next time. Becky Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting for college football game. The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. Manager Becky and staff were very helpful. We did not eat at the breakfast kitchen but it looked good. Coffee was good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear ValerieMK~ Thank you so very much for taking the time to post a review for us. Home games are some of my favorite weekends of guests. I lots of fun energy! I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. I hope to see you for their last home game. Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I expected a renovated hotel as told to me by their 1-800 #. painting the walls does not mean you renovated. Do not use the pool... it should be shut down for health reasons - foam in the hot tub suggests imbalance in chemicals and the pool itself has missing silicone and the chemcals were also out of whack. - they ran out of towels and never cleaned up the towels that were everywhere when my 6 year old had to run out into the lobby to ask for towels since there is no house phone in the pool area which is outrageous in case of emergency. If you have to stay in Havre, I doubt there is anywhere else to stay but buyer beware

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
gourmettravelmamma~ I am sorry we were not up to your expectations. We strive to be accommodating and try to make all of our guests comfortable. I am sorry we were not that for you. Please know that we are up to code and that we take to heart all of our guest’s comments. It is our priority to constantly implement improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn

Address: 1345 First Street, Havre, MT 59501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Havre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Havre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Havre
Havre Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.