We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MPA tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1345 First Street, Havre, MT 59501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Havre
Great Falls, Montana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“MPA tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I book this stay on very short notice and the hotel was quite full. The staff was quite friendly and very accomodating. When I arrived they gave me the late room open, the bridal suite, for the price of a regular room. My stay was very nice, the room was clean and quiet. I will return on my next Havre trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dexter~ Thank you so much for your response. I am so glad to hear that our staff had taken care of you during your late travels. If we can be of service anytime you are in Havre please feel free to contact me directly at 406-265-4200. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    64
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
33
57
9
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stopped here twice - on way destination and on return. Did not use many of the facilities, arriving late both times, so slept, ate breakfast, left. Good sized rooms were clean, nicely decorated, clean bathroom. Wi-fi worked well. Continental breakfast. One room overlooked railway, but did not hear anything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
I would like to thank you for your comments. We always appreciate feedback from our guests and I am most pleased to hear your stay was enjoyable. We hope to have you come back and stay when you can enjoy our hotel and area more sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

From the reviews, this hotel sounded like the best place to stay in Havre and we were not disappointed. Comfortable beds. Everything was nice and clean. Kids enjoyed the pool. Friendly and accomodating front staff. Excellent breakfast. The back of the hotel faces the railroad but it was not the least bit noisy. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stary at our hotel. We most appreciate you taking the time to place a post on Trip Advisor for us! Please come and see as again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I booked this hotel based on other TripAdvisor reviews, but didn't see any mention of an annex of about 10 hotel rooms across the street from the standard hotel. While the room itself was fine -- it's a standard mid-grade hotel room, seems to have newer carpet, decorated in deep reds and green, appears very clean -- it's not actually connected to the hotel itself. That means using most of the amenities, like the gym and pool, or breakfast, required a trip across a five-lane road. It's also got a very isolated feel to it because there is no staffed desk at the annex. It's easy to tell there were definitely other guests here though, since the walls were thin and sound definitely carried from a neighboring room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post on Trip Advisor, we listen to all the feedback we get from guests and try to look for ways to better ourselves. We have many guests that request the Annex because of how quiet and spacious the rooms are across the street. This new perspective you have provided has guided me to look into how we can maybe list these rooms better in our PMS system so guests that book online may know exactly where they will be when they arrive. We do honor requests in the meantime and always enjoy talking one on one with guests about their preferences. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you are into railroading, this is where you want to go. The Great Northern Inn is situated adjacent to BNSF's maintenance yard, complete with a turntable. If you like trains, they will give you a room on the top floor overlooking the railyard.
The facility is clean, pleasant, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The staff were helpful and very pleasant. They say "Havre - it's the people!" and we thought the hotel staff personified the saying.

Room Tip: Streetside has less railway noise but railside is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We have many people request the north side of our property to watch the trains. This request is not just for the enjoyment to entertain kids but adults as well. Havre has one of less than a handfull of functioning Turn Tables in the US and myself included like to watch them move. We are more than happy to honor any requests that a guest may make if possible. Thank you again and I will pass along the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Did not know what to expect being the first time there. Pleasantly surprised. Very clean room. Hotel is right next to train tracks. Was not noisy the night I stayed. The breakfast is great - sausage gravy with biscuits, juices, coffee, fruit, and cereal. Check is was great. Very friendly clerk. Check out was quick. There is a good place to eat across from the hotel - The Duck Inn. Will stay again

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side of the hotel, away from tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel embodies the best part of the chain with some local touches in decor. Hot breakfast bar was welcome - including make your own waffles, an assortment of breads for toast, scrambled eggs and gravy on biscuits. Cookies and fresh fruit as well as a coffee tea setup were nice in the lobby. Workout room is small but rarely had anyone in it. To get all the way in to town, a car is mandatory as you go up and over the hill to the main street. The better restaurants are on the east end of town so you have to drive all the way through to get there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street side although there is not much traffic at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn

Address: 1345 First Street, Havre, MT 59501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Havre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Havre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Havre
Havre Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Great Northern Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.