We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Western Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Western Motel to your Saves list
Western Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   830 W. 3rd St, Hardin, MT 59034   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hardin
Hamilton, Montana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This motel was a great place to stay. We were there for three days and the staff and owners were very helpful. the beds were clean and very comfortable. When we asked for extra towels, the owner was quick to get them and very polite. The housekeeper that did our room each day was polite and did a great job on our room. I would recommend this place to anyone. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the triple room and it was great. The top floor room we had was quiet and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    7
    7
    6
See reviews for
10
10
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was the worst motel room we encountered in our two week road trip of WYO and MT. Room was expensive for what was provided. Bad odor of disinfectant and urine? and stains on the bedspreads. TV reception was fuzzy/hard to see.

Room Tip: Ask to see/smell room before committing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The Western Motel is a older, two story motor motel that is clean and being pretty well maintained. Kudo's for the manager and jeers to Booking.com. We had three confirmed rooms, only two of which were apparently transmitted to the motel from the booking agency. Fortunately for us the manager lassoed the last remaining room and found some extra chairs for us- the three couples were set. People were being turned away shortly thereafter- this is a popular place with tourists, rodeo types, road contractor crews and all manner of others staying the night.The contractors that parked their heavy equipment next door were very polite in the morning keeping noise to a minimum. No issues with fellow residents that others seem to have experienced. The rates are pretty reasonable, well in line with the offerings- no breakfast nor other amenities. The rooms are medium sized with small baths. Modest furnishings and decor, a large tube type TV with a more limited number of channels than standard and a complementary, but temperamental internet. Refer, microwave and in room coffee; good beds with average linens; better than average towels with no toiletries ( unusual). Good enough for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Working class meaning not a family motel. Desk person excellent, proficient, and helping in any way. I met the owner. Rooms have been worked on, but, worked on in a way to make it passable for a night. I think the owner is aiming high but taking it too slow, meaning that he has the rooms ok for a non- working class guy, but rents the rooms to working class guys who trash the rooms, smoke like fiends, and block parking. No coffee, no extras at all. It will be my third choice next time. Yet I recognize the potential that the owner is reaching for. I suggest to hurry the upgrade and avoid renting to working class guys who do not appreciate a decent room for the night and merely out from the wife for a night attitude. If one travels a lot we can see this stuff easily.

Room Tip: Coffee impossible to get, and the store near-by, avoid because they water it down and it is barely w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Decor is dated but very clean. Owner was so friendly & helpful-even gave us a cable for our GPS! All rooms were booked so we were glad we booked in advance. It was quiet & we heard no noise from other guest rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I was at the Western Motel for an extended stay and the service and hospitality of this family run motel was excellent. Niaz (owner) was very accommodating and pleasant. This place is really well managed. The rooms are clean and they have both refrigerator and microwave appliances. Rooms are spacious and air-conditioned. The motel is also right next to a laundry mat and convenience store in case you need something to eat or do some laundry. I never had any problems with noise and slept quite well. Overall very good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We are in the middle of a 3 week road trip. We had the best experience so far here at the Western Motel. Niaz was so welcoming and helpful with directions and food choices for the local area. We arrived late in the evening. We were the last guests to check into the motel but he spent all the time we needed to help us with our visit. He even followed up with us when he saw us outside this morning. Excellent visit from start to finish.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Western Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Motel

Address: 830 W. 3rd St, Hardin, MT 59034
Location: United States > Montana > Hardin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hardin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Crow Indian Reservation, our area is rich in cultural activities and special events throughout the summer. Custer's Last Stand Reenactment (June), the Crow Fair & Rodeo (August), fishing derbies and draft horse pulling. Our motel serves as an excellent location for big game hunters, waterfowlers, upland bird hunters, and fisherman alike. You will enjoy our quiet location and clean, comfortable rooms featuring: •Microwave •Refrigerator •Queen pillow top beds •EXTENDED BASIC CABLE •Air Conditioning/Heat We also offer: •Two room family units •Non-smoking and non-pet rooms •Fax services •Large parking area / Truck and RV Parking •Corporate rates •WI-FI PET FRIENDLY! Food, groceries, gas, car wash, beauty salon, lounge, and Laundromat within one block. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Western Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.