We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One special, great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort at Paws Up

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Resort at Paws Up to your Saves list
The Resort at Paws Up
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   40060 Paws Up Rd, Greenough, MT 59823   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenough
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“One special, great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This place is over the top great. We just returned from a family Christmas there. 14 of us ranging from 4 to 91 years old. There is something for everybody. We love Montana and winter sports except for downhill skiing, so it is perfect for our family. The quality of the activities and the guides was excellent. Some of the best snowmobiling, cross country, horseback riding and sledding we have ever done.
Food, facilities and service could not have been better. I was expecting a lot based on my research, their reputation and the cost; but it exceeded everyone's expectations.
Yes, it is expensive, but I actually think it is a good value based on all that you get and all that is included in the total price.
I read one review that complained about the place being run by college students. There may be a lot of young college age people on the staff, but they are extremely well trained with good attitudes and qualifications. No complaints on that point from our group.
If you are looking for a family vacation or getaway, you won't beat this experience.
Everyone there kept telling us to be sure to come back in the summer, but we liked the Christmas/winter trip just fine, and will definitely return.

Room Tip: The big homes come with a small Kia, which comes in very handy for getting around quickly and easily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen B, CEO at The Resort at Paws Up, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you so much for writing this review of your recent stay at Paws Up. It was a real pleasure to have your family with us over the holidays and we are delighted that you had such a wonderful time.

I really appreciate your comments about the staff and the professionalism that they exhibit; it is evident that they enjoy their work and genuinely provide great service regardless of their age. Although we can take no credit for it, the snow fall on Christmas Eve during dinner and again first thing on Christmas morning certainly added to the magic of the season.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again next year and wish you a joyous and peaceful 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    27
    14
    14
    9
See reviews for
128
82
4
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We just came back from a vacation at Paws Up and it was amazing! This place is truly a luxury resort getaway that has the fullest knowledge of what hospitality is. Everything about being at Paws Up is custom starting from the airport pick up to the custom itinerary that they created for us based on what we wanted to do. We had awesome first experiences at fly fishing and clay shooting and had a great morning horseback ride. The food and beverage team was amazing as well. The menu was different every night and the food is equivalent to a Michelin star rated restaurant in the city. The chef was even so kind to do a complimentary tasting menu for us one night and served it to us at the bar (upon our request so that we could watch our SF Giants win the World Series!) Everything about Paws Up is perfect. There is no question that the accommodations and grounds are perfectly designed and the activities are enough to fit whatever your fancy is. The best thing about Paws Up though, is the personal level of service and attention that each staff member gives to you. My list could go on and on about how great it was and every little detail that they took care of for us, but I think it's best for everyone to experience on their own. If you are thinking or entertaining of going to Paws Up, question no further and just book. It will be one of the top 10 vacations that you will ever be on!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen B, CEO at The Resort at Paws Up, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review following your recent vacation at Paws Up. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

It is such a joy to be able to introduce our guests to activities that they have never done before and it seems that the fly fishing and sporting clays were a hit with you as they are with so many. Of course it is the wondeful people working at the ranch who really add the "wow" to the guest experience and our team is indeed amazing. I hope that your comments will help to encourage others to experience this "last best place" as that is the only way to fully appreciate the uniqueness of the resort.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back soon - congratulations to the SF Giants on their win too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great place to go to try a lot of different outdoor activities. The activity staff is what makes this place great. They never make you feel like you cannot do something.The lodging accomodations are beautiful. You are truly in the middle of a large ranch. A great place to go and relax. Expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: Expect to have a cabin or a home. Every accommodation is great as they give you a golf cart to get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen B, CEO at The Resort at Paws Up, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you so much for this review! We are all delighted that you enjoyed the activities and the vastness of our spectacular ranch resort. Although guests frequently tell us that they have trouble fitting in all of the activities available, it sounds as if you managed to do many of them and still have time to relax!

We look forward to welcoming you back again so you can participate in more Western fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

For my first trip to Montana, I couldn't have picked a better way to experience all that it has to offer. The Resort at Paws Up is ideally located for the avid outdoors man/woman who likes a bit of luxury after a day of adventuring. And once more, I was thoroughly impressed with the wonderful staff who went out of their way to accommodate us. Being a vegetarian in the land of bison and trout, I thought I would be relegated to a week of drab salads. Much to my delight, however, the resident chef prepared a diverse array of delicious vegetarian entrees (lentils, wild mushroom risotto, etc.) and sides (the brocolini was amazing!!), and the salads were anything but drab! My favorite activity of the week was the private riding lesson I took with Max, Paws Up's resident horse whisperer. It was a treat to learn from him and to be able to drive cattle with him and some other Paws Up guests. In addition to that, Paws Up also had a number of trails to hike or go for an evening run - the vistas were picturesque, particularly with the occasional hot air balloon floating above the rolling hills. At night, it was a treat to share a glass of wine in the hot tub or over a plate of fresh s'mores. All in all, it was a wonderful holiday. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to get a taste of Montana. Many thanks to all of the wonderful staff of Paws Up! Thanks to making our stay so fun and relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen B, CEO at The Resort at Paws Up, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to send this review of Paws Up. I hope that your first trip to Montana won't be your last as we love to welcome back guests who have discovered the charm of this unique property!

I am so pleased that our team helped you enjoy your time here and especially that the chef was able to create imaginative vegetarian dishes for you. He takes equal pride in preparing Montana beef as a mushroom risotto and is an amazing talent.

I hope you will choose to return for another fun and relaxing holiday in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just got back from our second family vacation to Paws Up. It was even better than the first, which was a tough act to follow. The thing I love most about Paws Up is their execution of hospitality. It is perfectly detail oriented, thoughtful, and appropriate in each setting throughout your vacation (dining, room service/house calls, outfitting/guiding, air port shuttle service, etc). They have an uncanny ability to treat you like distinguished guests and old time friends all at the same time. I think this speaks to their unique philosophy about luxury destination travel, their training and experience, and definitely their staff, who are kind, professional, and FUN across the board. Every member of the family will remember every detail about the trip - isn't that what it's all about?! Can't wait to get back to the last best place....

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen B, CEO at The Resort at Paws Up, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks for writing this review; we can't wait to welcome you back too!

Thank you for highlighting the hospitality that our team exhibits. That is our core business and despite the gorgeous surroundings and the beautiful facilities here, the guest experience would be much less were we not to provide world class hospitality. We work hard on that aspect and it is gratifying to have it noticed and acknowledged. We also like to have fun creating memories for our guests and I'm so glad that your family enjoyed the stay. Please come back soon....maybe for Christmas?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My family visited The Resort at Paws Up in October and had an INCREDIBLE time! We went as a party of six (my parents, my brother/his girlfriend and me and my husband). The time spent together in one of their Wilderness Estate homes was fun and special just to have the quality time around the huge fireplace, playing "old school" games, and lounging around with cocktails just talking on the deck. We're all very active so the activities were perfect - the fly-fishing trip down the river was everyone's highlight of the trip, tied with the Cattle Drive (Max and Val are the REAL DEAL.) We also did the Sporting Clays activity which was cool and different for us! The fall colors were spectacular and we had great weather - crisp/cold in the morning and evening but sunny and very pleasant during the day -- the staff said that they get a lot of families with small kids during the summer, so if you're a couple or family with adult kids, I highly recommend this place in the Fall. The staff treats you like friends and were so fun and helpful to be around. And, we all love great food and are healthy eaters, so hat's off to the Chef for sure! The menu was excellent, and we appreciated the portion sizes (not super huge for once!) and we also had vegetarians in our group and they were very accommodating but also thoughtful about those specialty dishes. Bottom line: we loved it!

Room Tip: The homes are great value for families or groups of couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen B, CEO at The Resort at Paws Up, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We so appreciate you taking the time to write this review. Thank you!

I am delighted that you and your family had such a great experience here; it is truly a wonderful place for family reunions and reconnecting with each other in a unique setting. It's interesting that you note that two of our employees are "the real deal" as we try hard to be authentic in all of our activity offerings, while adding a touch of "wow" to everything we do. Chef will always accommodate special requests and like everyone on the team, is committed to creating wonderful memories for our guests.

I hope you will return again in the future for more fun and relaxation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We've had the pleasure to experience 2 different seasons at Paws Up and find it to be the most exhilerating and relaxing vacations we've ever had. The activities are so unique, the guides so personable, knowledgeable and fun to be with that you just can't Not do things everyday! The houses are perfectly done in 'rustic elegance' decor with every amenity thought of. The staff can't do enough for you, the food is fantastic and the chef very accomodating. It really is "the last best place".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen B, CEO at The Resort at Paws Up, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Family fun and unique experiences are exactly what Paws Up is all about (although it is also a great place for couples). We try to provide a wide range of activities that can either exhilerate or relax depending on your mood and I am pleased that you enjoyed both. Our staff take great pride in their jobs and we all look forward to welcoming you back for more adventures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Resort at Paws Up? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Paws Up

Address: 40060 Paws Up Rd, Greenough, MT 59823
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Greenough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Paws Up 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort at Paws Up is Montana's premier luxury ranch resort situated on a sprawling 37,000-acre working cattle ranch in central, western Montana. What differentiates us from other Montana resorts is our commitment to give you the most intimate, unfiltered connection with the natural beauty of Montana, while providing the most luxurious comfort possible. We are a Montana ranch resort offering first-class, personalized service, luxury accommodations (28 private vacation homes and 24 luxury camping tents), wilderness adventures and a myriad of amenities. The Resort at Paws Up is where families and couples make lasting memories. We call it The Last Best Place. You'll just call it unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Resort at Paws Up reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Paws Up Hotel Greenough
Hotel At Paws Up
At Paws Up Hotel
The Resort At Paws Up Montana/Greenough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resort at Paws Up, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.