We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected after several poor ratings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Falls Inn by Riversage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Great Falls Inn by Riversage to your Saves list
Great Falls Inn by Riversage
1400 28th Street South, Great Falls, MT 59405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% Off Room Rates!
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Great Falls
Ellijay, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Much better than expected after several poor ratings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Great Falls Inn has had a great reputation in the past but the last few posters were not happy and said so. We were very happy. The hotel is buried within a rather large medical center and you would never find it without TripAdvisor. I would consider it on a par with many of the upscale national chains for $40+ less. Very convenient to all the restaurants and shopping of US 87/89 without all the traffic noise. We found it clean, quite and a great value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    30
    8
    9
    4
See reviews for
30
31
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

On Monday I made a reservation for Friday night over the phone, guaranteed with my credit card. When I arrived, no record of my reservation and no rooms. The clerk's explanation was that there was a glich in the Internet reservation system. But I CALLED the hotel, and did not make my reservation on-line. The clerk phoned around Great Falls, and finally found me a room for $35 more than I should have paid at the Great Falls Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgfimanager, General Manager at Great Falls Inn by Riversage, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Hello Travelers to Great Falls. As General Manager of The Great Falls Inn by Riversage, I would like to take a few moments and comment about the most recent post, “Lost Reservation,” left on Tripadvisor.

After much research, we were not able to find any record of this guest. When speaking with the desk clerk, we were given a confirmation number not equivalent to the numbers the hotel gives out.

We determined, the guest must have made their reservation elsewhere, but we were more than happy to call around and help them find a room.

We were able to find the guest a room, unfortunately at a more expensive price, but this was during fair week in Great Falls, so most hotels have a very high rate. Unlike us, we keep our rates low throughout the year and do not raise rates during large events happening in the city.

We strive to make every guest pleased with their stay at our hotel. We are sorry there was a miscommunication and this guest was not able to experience our wonderful service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We made our reservation a week before we left. We were very specific that we would be arriving in the early Saturday morning. We weere assured there would be a room for us. Well when we arrived there was Nothing. The front desk clerk on duty was great and tried to find us another place to sleep but for $40 more per night was the best she could do.

Went back the next day to talk to the Manager and got nothing but excuses and NO apology. Found a small but clean person down town.

Stay here but be prepared for the unsual to happen and get no help from management. Sad thing is these people are right next to the hospital and so I imagine have lots of families staying with relatives in the hospital. Cant imagine what it would be like for them to face our situation.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgfimanager, General Manager at Great Falls Inn by Riversage, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Hello Potential Travelers to The Great Falls Inn. I am writing in response to the latest TripAdvisor review, “What Could Have Been.”

Unfortunately, this guest failed to inform the readers of Trip Advisor they showed up at 2:00 A.M., but did not want to be charged for that night. When we informed them their room was for the “next day” and check-in time was not until 2:00 PM. The guest did not understand the policy.

Also, the guest did not come and speak to me, she phoned the hotel and she was retold our policies and procedures. If we had a room that night we would have given it to her, but this was during fair week and we had a full house the night before her reservation.

We again helped this guest find a room, and what she failed to inform in the Trip Advisor comment, is we did pay for the difference for the rooms because of the miscommunication between her and the desk staff.

As a hotel manager, we never like to leave a potential guest disappointed, and we were very sorry she was unhappy. We did try to fix the problem, but again with a full house and a reservation for the next day, we were unable to give her a room at our hotel for the night before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

They thought of every amenity here. Big room. Clean, quiet, comfortable. In-room coffee, frig, microwave, coin laundry, free WiFi, lots of TV channels. Nice to have popcorn in the lobby in the evening. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napavine, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel property is nothing fancy, but you can't beat the price of $77.40 a night. It is right next door to a medical facility, as is its sister property (The Madison Inn) in Spokane, but this hotel is not as well kept up as the Spokane property.

The room was clean, but the decor and furnishing are a bit dated. It had a microwave, small refrigerator, ironing board and iron. The sheets and pillow cases on the bed were a bit concerning as they looked as if they had been slept in and the bed just remade without changing them (I can't swear that was the case, but it sure looked suspicious). Maybe it was just a case of the sheets being old and washed many, many times. The towels and wash clothes were getting a bit on the thin side and really should be replaced.

The continental breakfast was spare and very, very basic. But for the price of the room you can't expect top-of-the-line. This is a decent place to stay, especially if you are on a budget; just don't expect much beyond an average room and amenities. I wouldn't have any qualms about staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgfimanager, General Manager at Great Falls Inn by Riversage, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Hello Travelers to Great Falls. As General Manager of The Great Falls Inn by Riversage, I would like to take a few moments and respond to “Average Hotel but Can’t Beat the Price.”

First, let me thank this guest for letting everyone know they would stay with us again. We do not like to think of our self as “average.” Instead, we prefer to think of our hotel as having a targeted amenity mix based on the needs of our clientele. By design, we do not offer many of the “frills” that the chains do. The lobby is tastefully decorated with comfortable furniture and original paintings by Montana artists. We provide a clean, quiet, and secure guest room – at a rate considerably below the citywide average and a great value!

Our continental breakfast offers a good balance of specialty breads, pastries, fruit, juice, teas, and premium coffees -- but is not intended to be a hot breakfast and we serve fresh popcorn every night.

The Great Falls Inn was designed to provide value. We do our best to provide a good night's rest, hospitable service, and a great rate -- by far the best hotel value in Great Falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Co
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We have stayed at the Great Falls Inn since the late 1990's since at the time it was convient to my father's assisted living facilities and it was low cost. The hotel is near a major medical area in Great Falls. It is a plain and simple hotel without a lot of frills but we did not care because we were in Great Falls visiting family. I use to live in Great Falls and had other things to do and see so any extras a hotel had were not important. The breakfast is very basic and hasn't really been upgraded in the years we have been staying there. The rooms and beds are adequate but nothing that will knock your socks off. It usually was fairly quiet here except when the helicopter at the hospital took off. Unfortunately quiet was not the case this time as we had a quite bad experience on our last night of a 3-night stay. The first night was also a little noisy as it turned out there was a soccer tournament that weekend so the hotel had quite a few school-age kids there. They were a little noisy at times but fortunately they quieted down by 10pm. The last night was awful. From what we were told the moron in the room next to us decided to go to a bar and bring some people back to his room and have a loud,obnoxious party which started around midnight. It involved people yelling at each other in the hall for starters. After several complaints from us and others in the hotel the night clerk finally got them thrown out of the hotel, but is was well after 3am by then. With little sleep we just decided to get up and get out of there so we checked out around 4am. We had a long drive that day anyway. I hope this is not the type of clientele that is now coming to the G.F.Inn because I will need to reconsider staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgfimanager, General Manager at Great Falls Inn by Riversage, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Hello Travelers to Great Falls. As General Manager of The Great Falls Inn by Riversage, I would like to take a few moments and comment about the most recent post, “Historically Has Been a Decent Place to Stay, but Not this Time,” left on Tripadvisor.

This particular guest has stayed with us numerous times throughout the last decade, and we were very upset to know he was unhappy.

We completely understand why he was not happy with his last night here, but as a hotel, and a place of business I would like to inform Trip Advisor readers that the events that took place on his third night were not quite accurate.

We did indeed have a noisy room, and as he stated we did have a soccer tournament in town for the weekend. With that being said, we give guests ONE chance to quiet down, not three hours. If we have one complaint, and they do not follow the rules, we have every right to ask them to leave the property, and we did so.

As a hotel we love our potential guests to know, with our many years of service for Great Falls and the NUMEROUS compliments we have about the quietness of the hotel, we would love for them to give us a try and see we are not a “Party Hotel.”

Also, as a Manager I was upset to hear this guest thought we are “average.” Like I stated before, they have stayed with us over 40 times, with an average night stay of five nights. We have upgraded our continental breakfast with hot cereal and a few more items, but unfortunately we are not able to provide a complete hot breakfast without raising our rates. As this guest stated, we have always had a low cost, which he appreciated. He also brought up the noise of the helicopter, which is out of our control. We are located next to a major medical facility and the helicopter is a life saving tool for Montana.

Fortunately for us, this guest did return to stay. We are very happy he gave us another chance to show him that we are the same hotel he started staying with years ago.

The traveler comments that The Great Falls Inn is “bland.” We prefer to think of our hotel as having a targeted amenity mix based on the needs of our clientele. By design, we do not offer many of the “frills” that the chains do. The lobby is tastefully decorated with comfortable furniture and original paintings by Montana artists. We provide a clean, quiet, and secure guest room – at a rate considerably below the citywide average and a great value!

So please, if you are in Great Falls, let us show you that The Great Falls Inn has been very successful in providing a clean hotel, with tremendous service, and lovely surroundings. By far, the best value in Great Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is an average hotel with a Super 8 kind of quality. The nicest thing about this hotel is it's very close to the medical complex. Actually, its location can be mistakenly considered as part of the medical campus. Other than that, it is truly average in any other aspects. The service is adequate but not outstanding. The breakfast is very basic, and I had better food and choices in most of the Super 8's. Overall, I feel this hotel would be a good fit if you has some business at the nearby hospital, or if you simply look for a one night quick stay on your way to somewhere else. I would go crazy if I have to stay here longer than one night, just because the hotel is so bland.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Falls Inn by Riversage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Falls Inn by Riversage

Address: 1400 28th Street South, Great Falls, MT 59405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Great Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Great Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, Quiet, FriendlySituated Next to Benefis Healthcare and Great Falls ClinicClose to Shopping, Restaurants and EntertainmentComplimentary Continental BreakfastFree WiFiFitness Center24-Hour StaffingGuest Laundromat Valet Laundry ServiceEnjoy Our Cravens CoffeeOperable Windows, Individual HVACIn-Room Coffee, Hair Dryer, Iron & BoardReclinersConference Room ElevatorMicrowaves, Fridges AvailablePet Friendly AAA Approved ADA - Compliant Rooms AvailableFree Fresh Popcorn Every Evening ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Great Falls Inn by Riversage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Falls Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Falls Inn by Riversage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;