We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Mexican food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Comedor

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Comedor
1120 25th Street South, Great Falls, MT 59405
1-406-761-5500
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 152 restaurants in Great Falls
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Great Falls, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

their salsa is hot ... and an old favorite! It's a local thing! I like the fluffy taco and enchiladas. It's not really authentic but its fun and local! Been going their for years.... pretty good for Great Falls

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    14
    7
    5
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Box Elder, MT
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Fluffy Taco's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

El Comedor has been visited by our family for years, I remember going in as a young child and over the years my children, one whom is now an adult and my teenager. It's amazingly good, and nothing has changed over the years. It has remained consistent, and delicious. The platters are big, but the star of the plate is the fluffy taco! You must try the fluffy taco! the super hot sauce is different, spicy, and delicious. I enjoy the wait staff, and the food. If your in the Great Falls area, you must try El Comedor!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Never Again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The service was the best thing about this place. It was crowded but we were seated and served promptly. However, the food was neither authentic or appetizing, and was definitely overpriced. The meat and beans tasted like they were from a can and I had to scrape off a mountain of shredded lettuce and cheese to even get to the Fluffy Taco. Will go to Taco Bell next time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just okay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

The service we had was great and very friendly. The food was just okay. I ordered their famous fluffy taco and a fat Alberto. The taco was standard issue, the tortilla was just puffed up. The fat Alberto tasted too fried. It was great trying something new and something the restaurant is known for, but I am not in a hurry to go back. I would still recommend this restaurant, just don't think it is going to blow you out of the water.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I will never again eat at this over rated, over priced, over cocky owner that don't give a darn what you think.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Comedor also viewed

 

Been to El Comedor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Comedor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.