We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Ponderosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Ponderosa to your Saves list
Quality Inn Ponderosa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Central Avenue, Great Falls, MT 59401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Great Falls
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We had to stay at this hotel since every other hotel within over 100 miles was fully booked. It was smelly and loud but the bed was clean and they offered free breakfast. The breakfast (in the restaurant attached) was not great. Terrible service and the food was too greasy. Overall it was a decent place to rest our heads but I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    21
    22
    16
    12
See reviews for
22
27
8
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Very nice motel in a great location. Staff at the desk could not have been nicer or more helpful. Room was spacious and clean. The location is wonderful - you can walk to shops and restaurants in downtown Great Falls - and the best of them is Bert and Ernie's which is catty-corner from the motel.
Laundry room was clean and accessible. The bed was great - providing a good night's sleep.
The only complaint was the somewhat noisy air conditioner.
Those who reviewed it and complained about the parking garage probably don't live in a big city where parking garages are standard for work and shopping, The parking garage for the Quality Inn was only a short stairway from the front office and also accessible by elevator. The spaces were large and it was not "spooky." We found it very convenient to be able to park our car so near to the motel in a downtown location.
The complimentary breakfast next door was also a bonus. We were able to choose from a menu of a variety of juices, and a full breakfast of egg, toast and bacon/sausage. Much better than the complimentary breakfasts we have had where they set out Little Debbie donuts and juice!
Overall, we thought this was a good value and a great place to stay when in Great Falls.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fork, Utah
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Bad. The room was frumpy feeling. A big disappointment...no towels for the pool so we couldn't use it. I asked at the front desk, but the girl said that "housekeeping was gone and I don't know where they keep the towels." Thanks for nothing. The continental breakfast was in a restaurant next door. When we entered the restaurant, the host had large menus in his hand, but then he asked if we were staying at the Quality Inn. We responded "yes" and he put them down and grabbed a small, one-page menu of a few items. What I got after I ordered was not enough food to feed a bird. What a joke. I should have brought my box of crackers from the car. The underground parking garage was convenient, but spooky. The "down" lane from above is actually the "up" lane from below. Whoops...an accident just waiting to happen. Overall, this was a bad experience at a very run-down, overpriced, dated motel in the center of downtown Great Falls. If I ever happen to be in Great Falls again, I will not stay here.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I normally like staying downtown where I can walk to things, rather than a suburban strip mall. So this hotel is downtown, and it's adequate, but it is tired. For that matter, the downtown is tired, too, but probably safe. The underground garage is a little spooky, but it does avoid having to go out in the weather. Rooms are clean and have the usual amenities. Free breakfast is a downsized version of the menu in an adjacent restaurant. Mini clock radio was pathetic, but worked as a buzzer alarm.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I booked this hotel because of the Quality Inn name. What an embarrassment to even be considered a Quality Inn!!! I understand that the place is old, BUT would it hurt to make a few updates????
Service was terrible--at check-in, the girl acted like she didn't even want to be there, and at check-out, the guy seemed not to know what he was doing or how the check-out process works (I didn't even get a receipt!) and the manager just stood there looking "out of place".
We were in a double queen room and it was NASTY. The bathroom was clean looking, but no tub rails like in "modern" hotels. The ugly green carpet looked clean enough, though we did not take our shoes off at all except when we got into bed. The beds did look clean and we pulled everything back and searched them entirely! They are kind of lumpy, though the pillows are comfy and plenty of those. Walls were filthy (don't know if it was blood or ketchup, but it looked gross). Same thing on the popcorn-textured ceiling--not sure it someone sprayed pop, or if it was rust or reddish/brownish mold, but the ceiling was really gross. The smoke detector didn't seem to be working properly (the light was not on, nor blinking). No sprinkler system in the hallways, and the small elevator stunk really bad and felt like it might fall or break down (though it never did while we were in it!) We had pool access right from our room, but the actual area is NOTHING like the photos show--it was pretty disgusting looking around the pool area, with paper stuck to the ground everywhere (I understand it won't be perfectly clean because it's outside, but I don't expect to see litter STUCK to the ground....)
There is an underground parking garage......FORGET it! It has a VERY low ceiling, posts (pillars) everywhere, limited space, low lighting, and it felt very creepy/unsafe. Don't take a pickup down there--you fear you might hit the top of the cab on something!!!
Definitely a place to stay away from IMHO! If you've never been there, stay at a place ON 10th as that seems to be the "main street" of town!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coaldale, Canada
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were disappointed with the stay in this hotel. I think this was a beautiful building in it's day, sometime in the 50's or 60's, but it is getting tired looking. The clerk at the check in obviously did not want to be there, although the process went smoothly, she was not friendly or welcoming.
The room was very basic with a king size bed, but few extras. There was a coffee maker in the room, but no coffee, cups or condiments. There were no drinking glasses near the sink.
The maintenance and housekeeping staff were friendly and a bit surprised about the lack of coffee and supplies, and were very quick to want to correct this.
Won't return to this location in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Everyone @ the quality inn ponderosa was very accommodating, we really enjoyed having our dog with us and Clara even offered to babysit him. The breakfast next door was very good- make sure you try the wheat toast. I felt very comfortable here-nothing fancy-but genuinely nice people that were always willing to help you with directions or whatever. For the money, you can't beat this deal. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Ponderosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Ponderosa

Address: 220 Central Avenue, Great Falls, MT 59401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Great Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Great Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Ponderosa 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Ponderosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Ponderosa Hotel Great Falls
Quality Inn Great Falls
Great Falls Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Ponderosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;